We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #24 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ridgecrest, North Carolina
1 review
“Comfortable, but issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived at the Hyatt for the World Open Chess Tournament. Our King size room was spacious and quiet, which I liked for morning devotions. The large walk-in shower was nice.
However, with no shower door or curtain, water does get onto the bathroom floor. Bottles of water were on the bed side table, but they are three dollars each if opened. It would be very easy for someone to miss the price tag, so we feel that they should be offered complementary or not at all. Parking anywhere around the hotel costs.
The valet parking is reasonably priced and is charged to the room. The staff was friendly and professional. With the ease of check-in, valet parking, assistance with luggage and maid service, which made for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    278
    124
    66
    26
See reviews for
111
98
80
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our recent stay at this Hyatt Regency was excellent. I booked through Hotels.com at a very reasonable rate for the type of room we stayed in - two double beds and spacious living area. Very comfortable beds and pillows, (although bottom sheet was not a fitted sheet and I found myself pulling at the sheet in the middle of the night, to recover the mattress.) The towels were generous and not thin. Our view was overlooking the airport and the Potomac. (the room was on the 14th floor). One negative was the size and functionality of the bathroom. Although it did offer some privacy away from the room itself by way of a little alcove, it needed a vent for air circulation and towel hooks on the outside of the shower/bath area.
We valet parked our car for the two nights we stayed at the hotel and didn't have to use it at all.
A free shuttle to the Metro was a great convenience. And the concierge and front desk people were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, if we come back to this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Potomac on a higher level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal City, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It's the middle of the night. My family and I are sitting in our hotel room, so upset that we can't fall asleep. After waiting HOURs for a crib to be delivered to our room and over 1 hour for in room dining (even though they quoted less than half an hour), we headed out for a concert At Nationals Park. We asked the Concierge if we should take a cab and how long it would take. The Concierge told us a time frame that didn't take into account stadium traffic. Is that not he point of a Concierge?... Back to before I even arrived.. I called the hotel directly to find out if the shuttle ran as late as the Metro did because I knew the concert would get out late.. The person at the desk told me it did (later I was informed that I should have gotten this person's name.. I guess they just let anyone Answer questions when you call and YOU, the guest, are in the Wrong if they give mi-information. We got to the Metro station, called the hotel after waiting for the shuttle and were told WE were wrong about the shuttle times.. No apology or even empathy for being stranded. The agent at the desk told us we could walk or get a cab. I asked if it was a safe, easy walk and was told that it was. I agree, it was a safe walk. However, the directions she gave were incorrect. When we called back, she told me we went the wrong way. I spoke the directions out the first time and my family heard them as we'll.. W followed them correctly.. Again, no apology.. Not even empathy! We hailed a cab, got back to the hotel. In tears I went to the front desk agent and said who I was. She literally said 'yeah' and. Then looked at me as. If to say 'now what do you want?' I kindly said that I know that the overnight staff resources were limited in the middle of the night and we could figure things out with the morning manager but was there a place to get something to eat. We were given a half hearted explanation about a sAlad or a sandwich to which we agreed. I asked if we could have it brought to the lobby instead of the room because the sitter was in the room with my sleeping baby. As we waited my mother kindly asked for a bottle of water. The front office agent looked for some at the bell stand and. Said she would look for some 'in the back'. She went to the back then didn't come out until someone else came to the desk. At the same time she said that security was on the way up to 'help' us. Rodney from security went to the desk and the agent started whispering about us right in front of us. I walked over and introduced myself and. Ws immediately treated coldly. I began to explain the situation. The security manager began to inform me that since I didn't have. The name of the person who gave me misinformation about the shuttle than he couldn't do anything... AGAIN no apology or empathy.. Even just human to human 'I'm sorry you had a rough evening'. I realized that this wasn't going anywhere when he was literally telling me what I did wrong to have made the hotel mess up. I said that it was the middle of the night, we were so tired and I'd be happy to just get it figured out with the manager on duty in the morning. Then I asked if we could just have a sandwich and a bottle of water (which they had said they would bring to us already) the security officer told me that we hadn't even asked for a bottle of water! What?!? He wasn't even there to know that or not! Mind you, we weren't asking for this all to be free.. Just water and a sandwich, I became frustrated and. He said 'I'm done' and 'dismissed' us to our room... Like naughty children, we did not get our supper! All of this is just so unbelievable... I literally was making excuses FOR these employees all day, they were not only providing poor service but they were aggressively unkind. I'm not an unkind person, I actually go out of my way to make others feel l
Geat. When mistakes are made, I WANT to let someone make it right.. The fact that I was. In this hotel's lobby in tears being told what I did wrong was a horrible experience. I gave the staff the opportunity to make it right.. Even just until morning.. Instead I was not even treated with the dignity on the most basic level!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a recent trip to this hotel I was given a handicap room with plumbing issues. When you run water in the sink it backs up to the shower drain. Gross stuff comes out of the drain. Beware if room 636! And it's extremely loud as people are exiting the elevator. I called front desk manager. He had me come down to front desk to get another key for a different room and he wasn't there when I came down. Waited a few minutes for assistance. A little annoying being I only had 5 hours to sleep at this point. Why give me a handicap room in the first place?

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. Our apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced in regards plumbing issues. We are a large hotel and sometimes we have little mechanical hiccups, we are sorry you had to experience one. Should your travels bring you back to the Crystal City area, we hope that you give us another chance to show you the true level of Hyatt service.

Again, thank you for staying with us and please feel free to reach out to me if I can be of any further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a meeting and it was very nice. We got a king room suite on the 8th floor. The room was very spacious and it had a view of the pool. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were plush. The only complaint was the bottom sheet closest to the mattress keep coming off, leaving us to sleep on a naked mattress in the middle of the night. The bathroom was nice and the shower was NICE. The water pressure was heavy like I like it and stayed a constant temperature making it hard to leave the shower. Overall the bed was comfortable and room was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We love to hear comments like this! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the room, especially the comfy bed and shower. Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwakuni, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I always look to Hyatt first. We decided to book this location after reading many reviews. Even though it was cheaper on all the travel websites we decided to book using the military rate and pay the higher price of $224 plus taxes and fees. We arrived late at night to find valet (for $27 a night) only otherwise we had to park on the street or at the garage behind the hotel that is not associated with Hyatt at all. That garage was closed so we parked far away on the street somewhere. The woman working during that late night shift had no clue about her job, couldn't answer any of our questions, and was absolutely incompetent. On top of all this, internet was not free, there was no fridge in the room, and the room was dirty.

I decided to get an upgrade the next day by logging onto TripAdvisor. Even at the last minute, a business package, with a bigger room, breakfast for two, and free internet was going for $164 plus tax. For a difference of $60 I was able to get all of that as opposed to paying the military rate and getting ABSOLUTELY NOTHING more than a bed. I was blown away. Way to go Hyatt.

We checked out at 11 and checked right back in to this same hotel. The room was dirty and the sheets were filthy. We left our luggage and went down to complain at the front desk. We were given another room that was dirty with dirty sheets, but no where close to the previous room. Although the package said a bigger room, this room was the exact same layout and square footage, but with a smaller closet.

In addition to the aforementioned, Hyatt was hosting a convention of some sort and there were kids running around the entire hotel day and night. On more than three occasions there were a couple of few students playing with the elevators and therefore, slowing it down and making us stop by multiple floors. The hallways were loud, and even late at night there was no peace.

We asked for a quiet room originally, and mind you we booked this room two months prior to our arrival. Still, we were placed right next to the elevators with all three rooms.

The difference between the night shift and day shift was literally a difference of day and night. The day shift was friendly and seemed to know what they were doing. The night shift just couldn't get it together.

The two stars that helped lighten this horrible experience were Mr. Solomon in the bellhop area and a kind male waiter during breakfast. Oh by the way, breakfast has good hash browns, omelettes, and orange juice.

This has been by far the worst Hyatt that we have ever stayed at, just an absolute disgrace to the kindness, professionalism, and hospitality that we have come to find at every Hyatt we have ever chosen.

Since then we have turned to the Marriott for all of our Arlington weekend getaways--we pay a little more than this Hyatt but compared to Hyatt Regency Crystal City, Marriott is far superior.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. We welcome any and all feedback as this gives us an opportunity to evaluate our current operation. Our sincerest apologies for the issues regarding your guestroom, if you would like to discuss the issue further, please feel free to reach out to us at 703-418-1234. Again, thank you for staying with us and providing feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the first time we've driven to DC, and I didn't want to deal with driving into DC on a holiday weekend. So I decided to stay in Arlington. I will definitely stay here again if I drive. The hotel is very nice. Everyone working there was very helpful and friendly. We arrived early, but they had our room cleaning expedited so we didn't have to wait as long as we might have. We got an upgrade to the ambassador suite and it was a great deal. There was a sitting area with a large "L" shaped couch that was big enough for both kids to sleep on, and a king bed in the bedroom. There as also a small balcony off of the bedroom that was nice for drinking coffee in the morning. The hotel has a shuttle van to the metro station, but if the weather is nice, you can get there on foot in about 15 minutes. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, and the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant was really good (kids ate half price).

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade to an ambassador suite. It was only about $30 extra a night, and it was well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sending a review of your experience to TripAdvisor. We are glad you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service and you found our location in the DC metro area to be convenient as well. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.