We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a traveler wanting to explorer DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Crystal City to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a traveler wanting to explorer DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The staff were very helpful. Using their shuttle service was very convenient to get back and forth from the DC area plus the hotel is in walking distance to many eating places and shopping. One must be able to walk tho in order find this so. My biggest complaint about the hotel room itself was there are no towel bars in the bathroom to hang anything on once you've used it and want to either reuse it or to dry anything one might want to wash.

Room Tip: Don't get a room to close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Arlene,
I am so glad you chose our hotel for your trip to DC. I hope you were able to achieve everything you set out to do while you were here, but if not, you know where to come the next time you're in town. It would be wonderful to have you back with us! Thanks to tips and recommendations from travelers like you, we will be able to understand what guests would like to see in our hotel rooms and we will take that into consideration during our next renovation. Thanks again for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    332
    160
    74
    30
See reviews for
128
115
92
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel and location are good, most of the staff is friendly but I am not sure how well they are trained. Lots of trouble at check in and check out. I think this is a common problem with Hyatt Hotels, I had not stayed in one in over 5 years because of previous issues with check in/out at a different Hyatt.
The shuttle drivers were good and friendly, they provide rides to and from the airport and metro stations at no cost which was nice.
The restaurant in the hotel is crazy expensive, even for a hotel restaurant.
The toilet in my room didn't flush, but others in my group bragged about how nice everything is, which it was. Basically if it wasn't for the check in/out process my stay would have been great.

Green Features: I didn't see information in the room about the environmentally-friendly practice, I would hang towels up which at other hotels means that there is not need to change, but they were changed out daily and there were no recycling cans in the rooms, there were in the halls.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We appreciate you sharing these details about our experience at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. We are sorry that some aspects of your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your feedback regarding your Front Desk service has been relayed to the staff and is something we will continue to work on. Like many businesses these days, we strive to be as green as possible. We are currently partner with Clean the World and hope to be always improving our recycling efforts. We hope the next time you come to visit Crystal City that you give us another chance to 'wow' you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowellville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel staff was excellent. Room very nice. Location was very good. Shuttle to metro could have later hours 10pm is too early to stop. Amazingly loud toilet flush. I think it was a water saver commode. Probably have to thank govt for that. Overall great place and atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Greetings Burton! Thank you for sending a review of your experience to TripAdvisor. I am glad you found our hotel to be convenient and our staff to be so excellent. If you are ever back in the area, please know that our airport shuttle runs until 12 midnight and there is a metro station within the airport. Again, thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Had a 4 night stay while visiting DC. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the DC metro station. Most of the way you are walking past the Crystal City Mall, which has several dining choices for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The hotel also offer shuttles to nearby Reagan International as well as the metro station. Location wise would rate the hotel at a 4 as there were a few hotels even closer to the metro and the mall.

Service was average, if you ask, they will come over to help, but don't expect Bellhop or attendants to come over offering their services.

As for the room, I expected better from Hyatt, truth be told. The hotel didn't seem that old, maybe couple of decades old perhaps? But it didn't seem like they did a very good job with upkeep and keeping furnishings updated. the lobby still look quite good, but the rooms definitely ate showing their age.

Under better management there's no question this can be a solid 4 star property, but it is in danger of heading toward the 3 star realm instead.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for choosing to share your review. I am glad you found our location and shuttles to be convenient. I am very sorry for the disappointing aspects of your stay. Your feedback about the service you experienced has been relayed to the staff and is something we will continue to work on. We hope the next time you come to visit Crystal City that you will give Hyatt Regency Crystal City a second chance to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for a vacation to D.C. over spring break and my only gripe was related to the Close Up student groups everywhere. Now, let me clarify that as the students were great but as a high school teacher I was looking forward to not seeing any students around. The room was very clean and I think there was plenty of room to store all of our luggage and space to put our toiletries that we had in the bathroom as well. We loved the shuttle service to the Metro and airport were god-sends to help us get around as we didn't want to rent a car.

I'm not sure if we would stay here again in the future, not because of anything bad that happened, but because we like to see what other places are like when we travel. I would recommend this hotel for any adults that are traveling, I'm not sure if it would be family friendly especially with the lack of a pool/hot tub area that is easily accessible.

On a side note the breakfast buffet was very tasty, but it was crazy expensive so we only did it once and called it a learning lesson and then spent some time searching Trip Advisor for other breakfast options in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Greetings Jenny!
It is so good to hear that you had a great vacation in the DC area. We do have a heavy tour group volume in the spring, so we are sorry you had to experience students on your vacation away from students. Please come back and visit us another time and enjoy our pool/hot tub that is open during the summer and to try Perks as an alternative to our breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is very modern and the rooms were clean, comfortable and had great views...
My only criticism is that they're not soundproof. I heard music from next door and toilets flushing at random times.
Parking is expensive unless you can find one of the few street spaces, and you can get Starbucks coffee on the 3rd floor, or walk around the back to another Starbucks for more variety, or across the street to a McDonald's....

Room Tip: Higher floors......away from the elevator.....but noisy neighbors are hard to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Joanne,
Thanks for sharing the comments from your stay with us. We appreciate you mentioning the positive aspects of your stay and that you enjoyed your view! We are fortunate to have a fantastic location as it relates to Washington DC, the Metro, Mall, Pentagon, and Reagan National Airport. Next time you are in town, be sure to ask our concierge about all of the restaurants within walking distance for some great variety here in Crystal City. Again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I never really had a bad experience at this hotel. Every single one of the employees here are amazing and a pleasure to do business with. Megan and Brooks were my favorite front desk agents for the past month that I was staying at this hotel. The rooms are nice and modern. The service is timely and efficient. If you stay in the rooms a lot you will notice some rooms have more/less furniture than others (in their Ambassador Suites) I always thought that was comical. If you are staying at this hotel, paying for the upgrade to the Ambassador Suites is totally worth it!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $$$ bucks for an Ambassador Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for such an 'excellent' review and thank you for your loyalty to the Hyatt Regency Crystal City! I am so happy to hear that Brooks and Megan are able to help with anything you need.

We can't wait to have you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#26 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.