We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, among the best in Crystal City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Crystal City to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, among the best in Crystal City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've stayed here on multiple occasions and it is a very nice hotel with little to complain about.

The fitness center is quite nice, unlike most hotels with a couple pieces of broken equipment.

Kiosk check in works wonderfully and is the best around.

Hot tub on pool deck is great for a relaxing soak at the end of your day.

Staff overall seems friendly and helpful.

Room quality is good, possibly with some updates needed in the near future (e.g. carpet.)

Overall this is my favorite hotel in Crystal City and especially ideal if you're working at this end of the city. If you need instant access to the Metro for your stay you might consider a hotel directly above the metro line- but otherwise it is hard to go wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your stay! I am glad you found our amenities to be so convenient and enjoyable. On your next visit, make sure to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle to the Crystal City Metro Station. Our staff looks forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    374
    192
    82
    34
See reviews for
167
133
99
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 nights during the Surface Navy Association Symposium. The hotel consistently goes above and beyond to make my stay (and the Symposium) excellent. Service was top-notch. Food served was excellent as well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
We always love to welcome Surface Navy members back to the Hyatt Regency Crystal City! I am glad you had a great experience with us and that you found our service to be top-notch. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I recently stayed here under the Business Plan rate. The hotel itself is reasonably nice for a business stay. It’s very close to the airport and many nearby offices are easily walkable from the hotel. The room was comfortable and I had no complaints with cleanliness. The in-room safe was not working, and after bringing this to the attention of the front desk (see below) it was repaired. The bathroom is small, but it was sufficiently equipped for a single traveler. The wireless internet service was okay, no issues there. I had the breakfast buffet in the 2nd floor restaurant on two mornings. The food was good, there was a nice selection of both hot and cold foods, and the service was friendly and efficient. I had drinks and a chicken quesadilla in the lobby bar one evening. The drinks were ample, no complaints. The quesadilla was okay, but not really great. I used the shuttle service for a quick ride (and return) to the nearest metro stop. I also used the hotel’s airport shuttle for my return trip to the airport. I did not use the airport pickup shuttle - I waited for 15-20 minutes and never saw the shuttle, and finally another hotel shuttle driver asked where I was going and offered me a ride which I accepted.

I did have a few issues which are related to staff and management. First, check-in was not smooth. I asked the check in agent about the free breakfast and free internet that was included in my rate. She told me that was wrong, neither was included. Only after calling a manager over did they confirm that my rate actually did include these. Second - tooth paste. Aquafresh toothpaste is a common amenity offered by most, but not all, Hyatt hotels. It is a nice amenity that distinguishes Hyatt from most of the other chain hotels, and one that I appreciate when I’m flying to a destination. I checked the room descriptions when I booked this hotel, and noted that toothpaste was an “amenity”. So I was surprised and disappointed when, upon arriving in my room (shortly after 11pm) that there was no toothpaste. I assumed it had been overlooked by housekeeping, but upon returning to the room the next evening I noted there was still no toothpaste. I mentioned this to the front desk the following morning and they apologized and delivered a tube to my room. I also questioned the front desk about the “complimentary bottle of water” that was supposed to be included in my Business Plan rate. I was told that complimentary water was not included, but they would comp a bottle due to the tooth paste issue and the safe issue. I consumed one of the $5 Aquafina bottles of water that evening.

Upon return home, I received a Hyatt survey which I filled out. I was later contacted by email by someone at the hotel. They informed me that the toothpaste amenity was only provided on request. I believe that when a hotel advertises toothpaste as an amenity (along with hair dryer, free local calls, etc.) that it should be present in the room without me having to ask for it (as is the case in every other Hyatt I’ve stayed at, which is a lot of Hyatts). During the email exchange, I rechecked my rate description, and noticed that I WAS supposed to get a free bottle of water each day. I also noticed I was suppose to receive a daily newspaper delivered to my room each morning (M-F). The hotel responded that I was correct about the water, and told me they would remove the charge for the water…..Unbeknownst to me, after I checked out, they billed me for the bottle of water I was supposed to be comped for due to the toothpaste and safe issue….and even though I was suppose to receive a free bottle each day.

Hotel management made no other effort to respond to my complaints other than to tell me toothpaste was only provided on request and removing the bottled water charge.

I would sum this up by saying unfortunately you as the guest will have to understand what is included in your rate, and then verify and insist that the hotel provide it to you. The hotel staff made several mistakes, and I was very disappointed my the management's half-hearted attempt to reach out after my survey responses were received and then failing to acknowledge a number of my concerns, and made no there efforts to address or compensate for the obvious short comings.

For the record, my rate also included "1 free shirt or blouse pressing daily". This was not mentioned or offered, and I did not request it, but this again demonstrates the hotel's failure to both understand their own rate plans and to be forthcoming in delivering the included services.

Again, the hotel generally was a nice place to stay while on a business trip, but the overall service as reflected by management and the front desk were disappointing at best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Greetings Tanq,
We appreciate you sharing these details about our experience at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. We are very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your feedback regarding your Front Desk service has been relayed to the staff and is something we will continue to work on. We apologize for the confusion with your specific rate plan and for the fact that the response you received from management wasn't up to par. We hope the next time you come to visit Crystal City that you will give Hyatt Regency Crystal City a second chance to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for a conference and was very impressed with the service. The staff at the front desk, in the restaurant, and manning the buffet were all extremely friendly and accommodating, helping with directions, recommendations, mailing items, and even snagging me my favorite kind of soda! The room was nice - nothing spectacular - but it was clean. The buffet breakfasts and lunches for the conference were surprisingly good. I usually don't expect very good food at these kind of events but they were hearty, tasty, and filling. There is a free shuttle that provides transportation to the subway stop as it's quite a walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattCrystalCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hello VoyageHopper42,
Thank you for your great review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be so kind and service oriented. I will pass your kudos on the conference meals along to our Culinary Staff; they love to hear that the guests enjoy the food. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I just got back from a conference held at the Hyatt and wish i could have said i was impressed. The hotel overall is beautiful with great amenities, but the rooms weren't so great. The beds were horrible. We had a double room and both beds were caved in. The sheets and towels had stains and were not very soft. The showerhead is fantastic! Conference food was cold and unappealing.
I guess for a conference of college kids its ok, but next time I'll stay elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I find it exellent for the price clean very polite girl think was Lucia in the desk bad just the internet fails a lot and one don't do international calls they are way crazy expensive
We enjoy our stay

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here on a visit to DC between Christmas and New Years. Great accommodations with sleek, modern rooms. Use of space is city style where every square in of your quarters is purposed. Amenities offered are nice and give the hotel an upscale feel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#14 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the heart of it all at Hyatt Regency Crystal City. Our hotel is perfectly positioned for easy access to Virginia and the entire DC-metro area. Enjoy a complimentary shuttle to the airport and easy access to Metro transportation. Within minutes, you can be exploring the nation’s best monuments and museums, taking in a show at the Kennedy Center, enjoying a Washington Nationals game or even touring the White House! Prefer to stay local? Arlington, Virginia has plenty of attractions, including luxury shopping and dining in Clarendon, the historic Arlington Cemetery or hiking in nearby Great Falls Park. Within our spectacularly updated Crystal City hotel, you’ll discover the services and amenities only Hyatt can provide – award-winning dining and inviting spacious guestrooms with luxury amenities like Hyatt Grand BedTM, and iHome stereos with iPod® docking stations. Enjoy the perfect combination of luxury and convenience at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.