We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, good with teens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Crystal City to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
699 reviews 699 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“great hotel, good with teens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had our annual, national event at this hotel for a week in June. At one point, we had 1500 students for our youth day program. Our group of 40 was assigned to the 15th floor. The rooms and lobby were renovated a few years back, and the place has held up well. Staff is very good. We had a pizza party for our kids, and the staff was very accommodating. Only negative was learning that the 18th floor restaurant had been closed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    309
    144
    71
    29
See reviews for
124
107
88
398
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stay here frequently whenever we are in town for work. Expect to encounter throngs of tour groups from every walk of life - the last time we were here they had the Vietnam veterans motorcycle group, an Asian teen pageant, and a AARP convention all at once. Made for interesting conversation in the lounge. Despite that, the service here is always very accommodating. The free and ample breakfast buffet (if you are a diamond member) is a nice perk and again, the staff is consistently attentive. We also extended our week stay into Memorial weekend and the rates were super low (~$100/night) which is a great deal. The metro is a half mile walk to get anywhere and the hotel offers a free and convenient shuttle service as well. Tons of restaurants, and crystal city mall is nearby.

Tip: If the elevators are crowded due to the high school tour groups, head over the service elevators right past the the guest elevator area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floors are better - especially when the Vietnam motorcycle groups are in town fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Pleased to note they had modernized/renovated this hotel. I had attended many conferences and it was getting tired, but they have breathed new life into this wonderful hotel. Nice rooms, great shade that gives you total darkness. The electronic room keys are great too. I was pleasantly surprised at how well this hotel runs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here one weekend because the rate was about $100 less than other Hyatt's in DC. I actually enjoyed my stay out in Arlington. The hotel is just about a 15 minute walk from the metro and in you're in the city in just a few minutes. The ride on the Yellow Line into DC is nice as you have a nice view of the capital as you cross the Potomac River. There are several places to eat just north of the hotel near the Metro Station.

PROS:

Rates much lower than hotels located in the district,
Short walk to the metro, short trip via the metro into the city
Public areas of the hotel are nicely renovated
Great Breakfast Buffet
Nice gym
You're more than welcomed Hyatt type of service

CONS:
Rooms are a bit worn, new carpet and perhaps a fresh coat of painted needed
No views - hotel is surrounded in a sea of dull buildings... but most hotels in DC do not have views.
If you have the munchies in the middle of the night, you have to cross some busy express way, additionally the area is a bit confusing, you can get lost.
Pool was closed... looked like it has been out of service for sometime

For the cost and easy access to DC, I would stay here again. Loved the omelet at the breakfast buffet!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The parking there for $27 is absurd. I've stayed at the Hyatt here but I also work right down the street from it and park in the garage that I'm sure they valet your car to. You can park your car there for I believe $5 a day on the weekends and I think $10 during the weekdays.

The weekend rates are great at around $99 a night but seem high for $200+ during the week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. First, let me say Daniel wasn't nice to us on the phone and front desk was snooty when we came in this morning at 1am. Other than the customer service that was lacking, the hotel itself is beautiful. Nice rooms, shades that make the room very dark, comfy beds, single serve coffee maker ( needs upgraded coffee and real half and half instead of power packs) very good rest. Van on time to take us to the airport which was about 3 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Hyatt Regency Crystal City is actually located in Arlington Virginia, but it is a stones throw away from all the major attractions you want to explore while in Washington DC. Actually,
it's location is a tremendous benefit. You can spend the day seeing the sites in Downtown and then retreat from the tourist Hustle and Bustle of DC and escape back to this beautiful full service luxury hotel. It is situated in a more slow paced area where you can enjoy the local flavor, shops etc.... The Metro subway system is a clean, easy, affordable and safe way to get around and there is a stop a few blocks from this Hyatt. They even have a complemantary shuttle every 15 minutes to get there in five. Oh, and if your flying into Reagan Airport there is no more convient place to stay. Also five minute complimentary shuttle. The staff there are wonderful, always personal and professional at the same time. Very accomadating to any of your needs The rooms are very spacious with all the best amenities and depending on your budget, very nice suites are available and they are "Sweet". The breakfast buffet is excellent and the Bar/Restaurant is very appealing. It also includes outside sidewalk seating that is a very pleasant way to spend the evening hours. having dinner or a drink and people watching. If you looking for lighter fair the Clark Street Grille across the street is also excellent, offerring such things as freshly made pizza and a Rueben to die for. This property is at the top of my list of places I like to stay while in the DC area, if it's available, that's where I'm booking. James Platto

Room Tip: They do have a limited number of Balcony suites which are two rooms with an open air view, very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Arlington
#14 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.