We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a conference -- would go back with the kids....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a conference -- would go back with the kids....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed three nights for a conference, had excellent personalized service, great food and a very nice selection of wines in the hotel. While the room was very comfortable, more a business suite, it was inviting and home like. The prices on the menus throughout the hotel were slightly high, but that's just how DC is for food in my experience. Since there's a metro shuttle and the airport shuttle too, it's very easy to get around. It's literally across the highway and down a bit from DCA, so the ride to and from is minutes. The metro will get you everywhere so this is a lovely place to take the family. While the pool was not open during my April stay, it looks nice, and the amenities are excellent. Because it's walking distance to and from the Crystal City shops and restaurants its definately a place I'd return to as a family vacation spot.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty sound proof, so asking for rooms by the elevators to keep it simple is okay, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    285
    129
    67
    28
See reviews for
119
99
84
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, IA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hyatt is decently located in Crystal City and maybe 3/4 mile from the Metro. There is a shuttle that operates throughout the day to take people to and from which is a huge plus. There's also a regular shuttle to/from DCA. You can tell the hotel is older, but there are updates throughout. I had a standard room on the 4th floor which was fine for our family of four. Two double beds didn't leave a lot of room, but we managed. Modern style and a nice view. The room is a bit small, though.

Crystal City is a good base of operations and a place I would recommend for families and people wanting something low stress near DC. Most people understand the Metro system after a few minutes, so no issues there.. you're on the Blue Line and connected to everything. The trip from the airport is maybe two minutes at worst. There are a few places to eat nearby (walking distance: Legal Seafood, Chili's, McDonald's, Clark Street Grill, Subway, Starbucks. There are even more options just beyond the walking threshold. I had pizza from Paisano's delivered one night which was delicious.

I found the noise level to be moderate. Some hotels seem to cater to noisier clientele. There were a few drunkards roaming the halls here and there letting everyone know they were properly inebriated, but it wasn't too terrible. We definitely took the glass elevator with a male stripper on one occasion. Not by choice, mind you.

For the price, this worked great for a long weekend. The shuttle service couldn't have been smoother, and the staff was very accommodating. My only gripe was the inability of any of the soda machines to take bills. Such an odd thing. The desk said the "higher number floors usually do." I tried 15th. Nope. Curious, that.

Anyway, I give it a hearty 4/5 and endorse with little hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great venue! Food, Service and facility were excellent and conducive to the Conference. All of the employees that I interacted with were friendly, cordial and professional. A great location to experience Washington, DC and the rich history of Mt. Vernon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I would just like to thank Solomon from guest services who made my stay so special by going the extra mile. He's friendly and caring and such an amazing ambassador for this hotel, truly a great person.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in a room with a King sized bed. There was a comfortable couch in the room. I found the bed comfortable and the room was quiet. The bathroom was the only negative about the room. It was aesthetically pleasing but not very functional. There was only a shower and the bathroom was poorly lit. Oddly there was no where to hang your towel and no hook to hang your clothes. The counter also was cluttered with random stuff. There is a gym with top of the line exercise equipment.It is really nice and they keep it nicely cooled. The pool and whirlpool were outdoors and were not open during our visit. There is shuttle service to the airport and the metro. You can walk to the metro from the hotel but the nearest stop is quite a walk. There are plenty of restaurant choices nearby so finding something to eat is not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel greatly added to our enjoyment of a recent visit to Washington, D.C. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. There were many extras available for guests to borrow including spa robes, slippers, flat irons, etc. Booking through Hotwire allowed us to get a good rate for this higher end hotel. Very convenient to Metro, shops and decent restaurants. Agree with others that Wifi should be free in room, but it was available in the cozy lounge-like setting of the lobby, so not a huge issue.

Room Tip: We were given the option of higher floor room and chose that. Water view in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here with a Conference in late April 2013. The room was clean, bathroom good sized. Everything worked with the exceptions noted below. The staff was friendly. My criticisms would be the bed, the shower spray the advice from the concierge and the temperature of the food at the breakfasts. Normally, nowadays, I stay in hotels where the shower spray is way too weak, to conserve water. This was not a problem during my stay where the water blasted my wife and I. The room had two double beds because the hotel was sold out of Kings. The double I had was slanted sideways as the mattress was obviously old. The concierge recommended a restaurant that the taxi cab driver could not find, it was confusing as to how to get there. The directions were poor and had I walked, I would never have found the place. Even with mapping app on phone the place was difficult to find. I cannot believe there was not a better and closer burger place than the Hamburger Hamlet. Dont bother with this place. Red Robin outshines this place and is less expensive. Finally, at the breakfasts 2 mornings in a row, the sausage was cool, and the eggs were barely warm. They ran out of coffee one morning. By the same token, I had room service while I was there and could not have been happier with that service for dinner. I just dont expect these kind of annoyances at a hotel chain that styles itself as a cut above. We stayed at the Renaissance next door for one night because in spite of the fact I made my reservation in January 2013 they could not accomodate one more night (which they told me when I made the reservation) Overall I would have been much happier at the Renaissance for the entire 6 nite stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Arlington
#15 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#26 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.