We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Arlington

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Arlington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Arlington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Columbus, OH
1 review
“Great location, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

This was our third trip to DC in five years but the first time we didn't stay with friends. We chose this hotel for several reasons: location, price (got an amazing AAA rate- less than $100/night over the 4th of July!) and trusting the Hyatt brand.

We were very happy with the hotel. We were happily surprised upon arriving at 10 a.m. that a room was ready for us. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our 5-night stay. The room was not huge but was certainly decent-sized, the bathroom was much larger than typical hotel bathrooms and it was all kept very clean.

Two minor negatives- we never recieved the extra towels or robes we requested both through the e-concierge and the front desk. Our refrigerator didn't work at first but when we advised the front desk of this, they sent up someone from maintenance who got it fixed for us right away.

As everyone has stated, the Rosslyn Metro stop is very convenient to the hotel. Be advised that you do have to walk around the hotel (the main entrance faces away from the Metro stop) and cross two small streets to get there. We felt very safe walking from the Metro to the hotel, even after dark. The area is well-lit and busy.

We did not dine at the hotel but did check out several nearby restaurants, all of which were very good.

A couple tips- keep in mind that this is a slightly less fancy hotel, even for a Hyatt. It's not all gleaming brass and wood with employees fawning over you (but considering the prices here compared to downtown hotels, we didn't care!) And, if you can, be flexible with your travel dates (this applies to almost any hotel, anywhere). We found that by arriving on July 1st instead of June 30th, the price dropped by almost $100/night for our entire stay.

In all, this was a great experience. The prices are much lower than hotels inside DC but it takes almost no time to get into downtown on the Metro. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    384
    121
    62
    36
See reviews for
206
271
100
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed in this hotel with friends while we went to a political conference at the Mayflower hotel in DC. The hotel is a few blocks from the metro station, just 15 minutes or so from the center of DC on the metro. We picked up one of my friends from Reagan airport, and it's only one or two stops down the blue line and so easy to get to this hotel from the airport.

The room was great, the stay was great, the location is great- the one thing I didn't like about the hotel was the lobby. Once you walk in, you're greeted by a huge wall you have to walk around to get to the elevators, and I just found the hotel's layout one of the oddest I've seen after staying in hotels around the world. For the last night of our stay, we switched over to the DC Hilton by the Mayflower, and the Hyatt's room was so much larger and comfier than the Hilton's. I was disappointed that we had to switch hotels for that night.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I had a nice stay at this hotel last week. The rooms were nice, the renovation was good. The shower had lots of hot water, the front desk staff was nice the few times we needed something, and we enjoyed having the little fridge. I loved how close it was to the Metro.

I wish this hotel had a pool- that would have felt pretty good after a long hot day of tramping about the city. Like some of the other reviewers, one of the elevators was out of service for the whole six days we were there. There were two other elevators, so the wait wasn't too bad. The rooms were a bit on the small side, but the beds were comfy.

When I checked in I was advised that the hotel had just made a change to start charging $9.95 for internet service. We had made the reservation based on that fact, so they agreed to take the charges off our bill.

Overall, this was a pretty good deal. It was a long ways from the convention center- I didn't mind because it was a short trip on the Metro, but for those in my group driving back and forth, they had a long drive in traffic coming and going. They had a large SUV and I understand parking was tight in the parking garage.

We ate at several of the local restaurants- Ray's Hell Burgers, Guajillo's, Red Hot and Blue and the Sante Fe Cafe. The Mexican food was OK, nothing memorable (but we're from Texas so our standards are pretty high!), but Ray's Hell Burgers were pretty good. The walk up the hill to all these restaurants was tough at the end of a long day, but at least it was downhill coming back after dinner!

I'd recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

As with previous reviews this year, one of the lifts is still out of service at the end of June and a second of three failed on one of the nights we were there. Our room was comfortable but room servicing left a little to be desired - we found hair and dirt on the floor of the bathroom and the room was not serviced until after 5pm on our first day. Also self check in/ check out was not working, neither was the on-TV summary of our bill, even though we were sent an email inviting us to use it.

We didn't use the restaurant for dinner but used it once for breakfast - not much choice, and what there was was running out at 09:30 am and our coffee cups were dirty when placed on our table. Bar was ok, albeit limited as far as food was concerned but what there was was cooked and presented well. Bar staff were friendly.

Negative point - there are very few places to eat near the hotel and what there is is closed on Saturday and Sunday nights.

Positive point - very close to Rosslyn subway station with access to DC in about 10 minutes.

In summary - a good base for visiting DC but no more than average as far as accomodation is concerned. Certainly not up to the standards we are used to for a Hyatt and we would probably look to stay elsewhere if visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Hotel has been completely redone and it is plush and beautiful. Staff was courteous. Convenient location, walk across the bridge to Georgetown; easy access to highways. Note parking is $16 a night, but free street parking Sat after 6 thru Sun.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharris1106
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is obviouly older and has been renovated but it is still a great place to stay. Especially on the weekends, we paid less than $100 for our room at a HYATT!!!! Breakfast was good, great location...I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

My wife & I came into town for 2 nights mainly to see the Yellowjackets at Blues Alley. Booked this hotel through American Express Travel & paid for 2 nights with membership miles, rate was $109 per night.
We arrived at about noon on Friday - our room was ready, check in was smooth. Self parking was fine ($16 per night, a veritable bargain for DC.). I had requested robes in the room through the Hyatt on line concierge, they weren't there, phone call brought a pleasant gentleman with the robes and boatload of extra coffee in about 20 minutes, so no biggie.
As to the room, it was a brand new king on the 9th floor, floor to ceiling windo view was of Wilson Blvd, could just see the tip of the Iwo JIma memorial. Room was super clean and nice, not huge but plenty of room for 2. Bathroom had large counter, big walk in shower. Water pressure nothing to write home about, but perfectly ok. We had a small refrigerator in the room, which was useful.
Right up the street is a Safeway and a CVS. Down the street in the small Metro Mall is a Rite Aid, so plenty of places to buy supplies.
We did not eat in the hotel, there are a number of places right around it to eat - Ruby Tuesday has a nice patio right across the street. We had dinner Sat night at the Santa Fe Cafe, serviceable Mexican with good margarita's. Wanted a cheap dinner as we were heading to the ball game.
As mentioned elsewhere, the hotel is a block away from the Rosslyn metro, which services the Blue & Orange lines. We took the metro to Arlington Cemetery, then back to Dupont Circle for lunch. Also to the ball game. So the location is excellent in being able to get to most of DC. About a mile from Wisconsin & M, we cabbed it but it could have been a fairly easy walk and they have some kind of shuttle busses running from the metro station to Georgetown.
As mentioned, we didn't try the restaurant nor the bar on the lobby level, but the bar had an outdoor terrace that looked nice, wasn't open on Friday but was on Saturday.
We didn't require a lot of service, but everyone we came in contact with was very pleasant, greeted us, and were helpful.
Couple of little oddities, signs say vending & ice on every floor, but only 7 & 13 have vending machines. Big plus - free wireless internet, but on the second day it told me the price was $9.95 for 24 hours, I accepted but they didn't charge me. They have hd flat screens in all the rooms, we couldn't get CBS HD, but didn't care, didn't want to watch anything anyway. Also, it's in the flight path for National Airport, we could hear the plains starting around 6:30 AM, but it really wasn't that loud and wasn't intrusive.
All in all, we would certainly come back to this hotel, the renovation have apparently really helped,

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Arlington

Address: 1325 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#22 Family Hotel in Arlington
#23 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Arlington 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale, full service, Washington DC area hotel, steps from the Rosslyn Metro Station and local businesses. Less than 1 mile to Arlington Cemetary and the Museums and monuments in DC. Five minutes to shopping in Georgetown, and only 10 minutes by car from Reagan National Airport. Featuring cityhouse, a contemporary urban steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Arlington Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.