We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly Inconvenient” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Rucksack
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtakingly Inconvenient”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This particular Holiday Inn is desperately in need of an overhaul. Our party stayed in three different rooms and disappointment waited for us in all three. My first rule of hotel stays is: Always look at the bathrooms. The ceilings here are poorly patched and stained. The caulk is cracked and discolored. Vent fans hung dirty and loose like the gapping mouths of the mentally unbalanced. Rooms are just generally shabby and worn with sway-backed mattresses that require mountaineering gear to survive the night. Toilets in two of the rooms managed to defy our third floor gravity and plugged themselves with regularity.
The hotel is convenient to nothing. The shuttle never runs on time. Our four day stay proved this true every single day. The nearest Metro station is probably a half mile distant and a miserable walk in the rain. The restaurant staff was surly and slow during every over-priced breakfast we ate there. The reception staff were polite and helpful only after we passed a twenty over the counter.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    126
    72
    23
    11
See reviews for
60
58
40
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked through Hotwire, was guaranteed by both Hotwire and the hotel front desk personnel that they have shuttle service every 10 to 15 min. to ANYWHERE within a mile of the hotel, including Crystal City metro stop. I emphasized this was extremely important to me that they have reliable service to this metro stop and was told no problem. Sure enough, on my first day and every succeeding day I was told they could not/would not take me the 3 or 4 minute ride to the metro stop - they would only take me to the airport stop. On 2 occasions, the manager arranged a cab/limo to take me after I complained. The rest of the time, I was on my own and was lied to by the front desk staff about the availability of the shuttle - told it would take me there and then was told by the driver when he showed up that no, he would not - he would only take me to the airport. I went through this every morning of my stay and was frequently delayed and stressed by this constant arguing about the shuttle. The last morning after checking out, I waited 31 minutes for a shuttle to Crystal City Metro stop while another shuttle destined for the airport (also a 3 or 4 minute ride) sat in the driveway and refused to take me. Aside from that, the hotel was average - food choices were cheap and awful. Microwave in lobby was dirty and had to be cleaned before I would use it. Rooms were clean and nice. Mattress and bedding good.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We work hard to deliver a positive experience for all of our guests and appreciate your feedback. We do regret that you had difficulty with our shuttle service. We are disappointed to learn that your stay was not as you had hoped and apologize for any inconveniences or frustrations you may have experienced. Your feedback has been shared with our management team so that we may address and better handle situations like this going forward. Thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Joseph Mensah
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The entire staff at the Holiday Inn National Airport-Crystal City were so very nice & very helpful with anything we asked them. They help set up a night tour of the city for us. The rooms were very nice with a nice view of the city. The restrauant had great food & the staff were very friendly. The shuttle picked us up at the airport took us to the hotel, we also used the shuttle service to get to & from the hotel to the Crystal City metro. Our experience was so wonderful that we will recommend it to anyone we hear is going to Washington DC. Thank you so much

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To my pleasant surprise to my getaway weekend was met by me leaving my phone charger at home. Krisda went out of her way to help me with my dilemma. It was clean. The beds were inviting. Kudos to Patricia for her extra help at checkout. Housekeeping was kind. The food in the restaurant was great. Definately recommend staying here.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Thought would be noisy, but west side overlooks a nice quiet neighbourhood. Mcdonalds right next door is 24 hours. Room clean. Staff nice. Very decent and efficient. Bathrooms are really small. But thats ok.


Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and it was a good experience. The room service was good. They have a gym, pool and a pub in the hotel. The staff was very nice as well. You can get picked up by a shuttle that takes you to Washington, D.C. right in front of the hotel. Then you can ride around and see all the sites. The hotel couldn't be placed more perfectly. It's just a few minutes from all the major attractions and monuments. There's a McDonald's on one side if you don't want to go far for food. There's also shuttles from the airport and crystal city. All in all we had a lovely time there and it was nice to go back to a clean, cool room after a long day of site seeing!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for three nights in late June.A very well situated Hotel with very efficient and friendly staff. The Hotel Shuttle was great. Apart from once when we got taken to Crystal City Metro station ,we got taken to and picked up from the Metro station at Regan National Airport.I found it a very good service.The room was up to the standard I expect at a Holiday Inn.
The Hotel is situated next to a Mc Donalds where we had breakfast but is within easy walking distance of many places to eat.I would certainly stay there again if I return to Washington DC

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.