We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quite and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
DC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, quite and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and 4 days while covering stories in downtown DC. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and very kind. They were quick to help with and concern. The shuttle to and from the Metro was extremely helpful as well as the shuttle to/from the airport. They ran constantly and there was no waiting for a driver. Room service was much faster than expected and the food was excellent. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    125
    71
    22
    11
See reviews for
59
58
39
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel was a disappointment. We arrived at the hotel and it took a half an hour to park. This was because the front desk clerk did not tell us that all hotel parking levels were full and that we had to park on the Metro level. Tired from our flight we tried to open our room door and the key did not work. We had to go back to desk to get another key. When we opened the door we were disheartened. The room was tiny and had no refridgerator or microwave, just a coffee maker with coffee which looked old. The only place to get food was McDonald because the restaurant was closed. The air conditioner was very noisy and temperature was not consistent.

In good conscience I could not recommend this hotel even though it is near airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are disappointed to learn that your stay was not as you had hoped and I do apologize for all the stated inconveniences you encountered. Your comments will be shared with the our management team so that we may better serve you next time. We hope that one day you will return so that we can provide you with a stay that will exceed all your expectations.

Joseph Mensah
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is not new or deluxe, but it's comfortable and convenient. You can't ask for a more helpful and friendly staff. The van will ferry you not only to the airport, but also to nearby restaurants and the Metro stop. The parking is convenient and a good value for long term. You get two weeks parking for a one night stay. This is my second stay and I'd use it again in a heartbeat. The airline staff use this hotel.

Green Features: Recycle bins in the rooms help with recycling. They use environmentally friendly light bulbs.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived at our room we found a toothpaste glob in the sink, a used soap bar and hair in the tub. At the end of one bed was a beer bottle cap and the tv remote was under the bed skirt of the other bed. These made us sincerely question the cleanliness of the room, but since we were here for just a quick overnight stay we didn't ask to change rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear BowlerHatGal:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay at our property. We are sorry to hear about the housekeeping issues you encountered in your guestroom.

We hold all our staff to a high level of service, and are disappointed to hear you felt we did not live up to that expectation. I will pass on your concerns to our housekeeping management so they can work to avoid such issues in the future.

We do hope you will give our property a second chance should your travels return you to the Washington, DC area. If you would like any assistance setting up a future reservation, please feel free to contact me directly at (703) 310-8979 or libby.vertz@bfsaul.com
Best regards,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn National Airport for 3 nights recently on a long weekend.

Shuttle pick up from the airport was excellent. I called them from the terminal and 10 mins later they were there. The hotel is located in Crystal city which is a corporate and residental area in Arlington VA just across the river from downtown DC. It's 15 mins away from the city by metro. The hotel is located 20 mins walk from the metro. Shuttles leave for the metro every 15 mins from the hotel.

Arrived at the hotel at 12.30pm and had requested an early check-in via email. This was not guaranteed but I was told all would be done to accomodate my request. At 12.30pm reception was very busy with people checking out late and some staff quite stressed. The room wasn't available and I was reminded that check-in was at 4pm (very late by international standards) but that all would be done to get me a room asap.

By 2pm I was in the room having waited on a sofa in the lobby. The lobby furniture is very comfortable and feels like a big living room. There is also a convenience store next to reception which sells snacks and drinks etc. The wifi is free and a good speed. The young gentleman Ruslan who assisted me at check-in was very polite, professional and did his best to get me the room asap and in the end 2pm.

The King room has a large king bed, a desk, a large armchair, plasma tv, nice modern lamps and a decent, functional and clean bathroom with good quality toiletries. The bathroom is not new but it didn't feel old and dirty. The room's furniture is typical american hotel style and quite homely. The linen is good quality and the bed had a liner which made it very comfortable. There is a large AC unit next to the window on the wall discreetly at floor level. It makes A LOT of noise when on cold mode but it cooled the room fast and effectively. Perhaps turn it off at night if you want peace and quiet. The TV has all the channels you could ever want and there was a guide next to the bed. The sheets were changed every 2 days and the towels daily.

The staff were largely excellent. Two standouts were Ruslan who checked me in and out and who was friendly and professional and Patricia who should be working at the Ritz Carlton given her fluency in more than 3 languages and very friendly and sweet manner. Both Ruslan and Patricia are a credit to this hotel and should be commended for how they did their job. They were also joined by another gentleman, whose name I didn't take, and who was the night Duty Manager. He was also very professional.

There was only one negative experience in my whole stay which involved a delay in the pick up shuttle at the metro in my first night. Both Patricia and the Duty Manager did all they could to apologize and even left me a note under my door overnight. This was a great touch and not very often seen at hotels like a Holiday Inn. Well done to them for turning a negative into a positive.

The hotel has a pub/bar which also offers food. I didn't try it out but it looked fine. There is also a McDonalds right next door which was good for breakfast. Other food options, including restaurants and bars, were in the Crystal City area and the shuttle drivers were happy to take you there. Another Shuttle driver was happy to come and just pick me up (solo) from Pentagon City mall which was a really kind gesture by the hotel given it was 10-15 mins away and not an advertised service.

I would highly recommend this place and happily stay again. I actually got this hotel on a mystery deal on Hotwire and didnt know what to expect. It was a great find. There are plenty of places at Crystal city that are closer to the metro but the shuttle here generally works well and it makes the HI a great value proposition.

Room Tip: You can either get a hill view room which over looks suburbia and is a little dull but with no light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We came to Arlington for the weekend from Virginia Beach for a nice weekend getaway. We booked thru Priceline Express and got a great rate, but it did not let us choose our bed (said we could when we got there). When we got there we were surprised and Priceline had put us in a double when we needed a single. The front desk had no problem changing it at all. Overall everything was pretty nice. The room was modern. The hotel overall was up to date.

The only issue I had was they put a $130 hold on your card for incidentals which is not said anywhere on their site or terms. If you park there, your parking comes out of this hold. We did park & it was $16 a night, which is very cheap for the area. The parking garage is tight, we have a big SUV, but was still manageable if you take your time. And if you can't fit into a spot in the garage, the top level is uncovered and plenty of room up there.

We did not use the shuttle. The metro is a 15 minute walk down the hill, so even if we went to the landmarks we would have just walked to the metro. We did take a 5 min walk down to the Crystal City restaurants which is a very happening and vibrant area and lots of eateries to choose from in case you are just in town for one night.

Oh, and I also liked that you had to use your room key in the elevator. The elevator went straight out to the parking garage, so this prevented anyone not staying there going above the lobby. Nice little safety feature.

And the outdoor pool wasn't open and it was the middle of July... we didn't ask why it wasn't open, so maybe just being renovated? Not sure.

Room Tip: For big cars/suvs/trucks, park on top level, barely anyone was parked there so plenty of room. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were on our honeymoon in DC and we picked this hotel because it ad said this hotel was close to the National Mall. The hotel is about a 30 - 45 minutes ride by train. I will not stay at this hotel again because of the following reasons...
1. The hotel shuttle took an hour to pick us up from the airport.
2. Front desk was rude. I was next in line and the clerk took the aircrew staff that arrived after me.
3. Fire alarm at 11pm Saturday night.
The hotel restaurant has a great All-U-Can Eat breakfast for $12.99 per person.

Room Tip: Choose a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Roncee12:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay at our property. It is through reviews like yours we can identify the best ways to improve our guest experience.

While we are glad you enjoyed our hotel’s on-site breakfast, we regret hear you were displeased with other aspects of the hotel. I will pass on your concerns regarding our hotel shuttle, front desk service, and fire alarm to our hotel management so such issues can be avoided in the future.

We do hope, however, that should your travels bring you back to the Washington, DC area, you will give our property a second chance to impress you. If you would like any assistance with a reservation please feel free to contact me. I can be reached at (703) 310-8979 or libby.vertz@bfsaul.com.

Warm regards,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.