We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The picky would say it needs work!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The picky would say it needs work!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Driving into the garage that I was charged $16 for gave me the clue that this hotel was kind of run down. It looked shabby & wasn't enclosed-just covered. The lobby was nice, but my drink spilled & the front desk person called to have it cleaned up-no one came immediately & he ended up putting caution yellow triangular things out , the elevator was small & shook on its trip to & from the 5th floor-when I stepped into the hallway, I saw something at the end of the other hallway-but I couldn't make it out in the dark...when I went to my room, 521, it looked fine @ first. The bed was comfortable, it had a nice desk with plenty of outlets & the bath was nice as well-it would do for the regular visitor***but the picky visitor would have had probs with the messed up lampshades, dirty bath counter & toilet (my husband would say it was microscopic), bLack MOLD on the ceiling of the bathroom & on the bedroom-total area 12"x12", another light was needed near the full length mirror! There will be pix where I can enter them & know, regardless if where I stay, I'm rather picky!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    121
    70
    22
    11
See reviews for
56
57
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, Ohio
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The room: The bed was comfy, there was just not a ton of room between it and the desk. There were plenty of outlets, however the outlets in the lamp base by the bed were too low to the base of the lamp to be usable without pulling the lamp to the edge of the nightstand. There was an armchair and a desk chair, but the positioning of the armchair prevented watching TV from it. The bathroom could also have used some updates from the peeling wall paper seams to the scuffed up shower mat.

Cleanliness: There were no gross oversights, but small things that can add up to nothing other than lacklustre performance by house keeping. There was about a 4' area on the front of the desk that was covered in some black sticky substance. There was a piece of candy on the floor throughout my entire stay that the staff never saw apparently.

Location: This is the one thing the hotel has going for it. It's in a great location to both DCA (via a shuttle) and the metro (via a shuttle). From the metro you can get to both Alexandria, VA, and DC destinations very easily. The shuttle runs from 5a to midnight. The hotel shuttle reliably leaves the hotel every 15 minutes if someone needs to be taken somewhere. It does pick you back up upon request as well, however in a less reliable fashion. I would definitely choose to stay in the Crystal City area in the future, just not at the Holiday Inn.

Food: There are two places to get food in the hotel: National Diner and O'Malley's Pub. The latter is nicely done up in terms of decor and the service is efficient. The portion of my chef's salad was large and it tasted fresh and was chilled. The diner wasn't very appealing in decor - bright walls made brighter with fluorescent lights. Most guests chose the pub to go to and most were not eating. I'd spend as little time as necessary in each and instead take the shuttle to the metro and go eat in Alexandria or DC - even somewhere close like Pentagon Row. In fact, skip the shuttle all together - I got an Uber ride from Pentagon Row to the hotel for just $4.

Staff: Aside from my disappointment in house keeping staff and the shuttle driver who picked me up my interaction with the bartender in O'Malley's was fine. Also, the lady who checked me in to the hotel was very friendly and every time I came off the lifts she gave me a big smile and a hello.

Green Features: They have the typical signs around about saving towels on the hooks replacing those on the floor, but the housekeeping staff replaced them all anyways - even the ones I had on the hook.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here for a week for a business trip during October 2013.
The rooms were on the smaller side and were a little bit tired but they were clean and comfortable.
The property is in easy walking distance to numerous dining and shopping options as well as to the Crystal city metro (subway) station that will get you to the airport as well as across the river to DC.
Dont hesitate to book if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTREVILLE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

very close to DCA. Mcdonalds and CVS next door. Good selection of restaurants within a few blocks. Shuttle to DCA and Metro(nearby).
Hotel has some age to it, but the rooms are big and clean. the hotel staff have always been friendly and helpful. They do have an onsite restaurant which has a buffet breakfast(not included with the stay). Food is good. Also has a small onsite bar. going to be honest, have never been in but looks like a nice little sports bar.
Pool seems to be permanently closed. have to swim a few blocks away. pretty big workout room. Not sure if they have micro/fridge. never had one, but seems like I saw one in the hall once. Ask
2 things. somebody else wrote. DCA is not an international airport. and he had a Wi-Fi chip in his card and thinks it got read at the hotel. could have been read anywhere, mickey d's, airport. All somebody has to do is stand next to you. EITHER WRAP THISE CARDS IN ALUMINUM FOIL OR GET THE CREDIT PEOPLE SEND YOU A NON CHIP CARD.

Room Tip: no one side or room is better. all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitty hawk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

within minutes of checking into this hotel my credit information was used in an attempt to purchase 600+ Euros worth of merchandise. When I returned home I had collect phone messages from prisoners in AL. It could not have been a coincidence it was the only place my card was exposed. It does have the RFID chip from which identities can be cloned with the right equipment. Management at the hotel was informed as soon as I was made aware of the potential fraud. I am experienced traveler and usually very careful but I let my guard down in this event.

I recommend you guard your credit information carefully if you plan to stay at this hotel. The hotel is a bit dated and the rooms are relatively small but clean. There is a lot of traffic because of its proximity to Ronald Reagan International Airport. .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Canela4U,

I would like to thank you for taking time to complete a survey on Trip Advisor about your stay at Holiday Inn. Your comment about "Identity theft" relating to your credit card was reviewed and discuss in deals with both front desk staff and security. Safety is a priority and we take all measure to ensure the hotel guest feels safe while staying in our hotel. There haven't been any other complaints from hotel guest staying in our hotel related to identity theft or credit card fraud. Team members and managers have been instructed monitor the lobby of the hotel for individual watching guest checking into our hotel. I appreciate you sharing this information with the manager duty. If you would like to contact the hotel manager to share additional information please call 703-684-7200.

Respectfully, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was the most satisfied that I have been with a hotel in quite some time. The focus on customer service was excellent. The rooms appeared to have been recently renovated. They were tastefully decotated and spacious.The bathrooms were good size as well. The rate was very reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

On a recent business trip to DC, several co-workers and I were the recipients of the finest customer service offered at any hotel. Ali and his staff obviously work around the clock to ensure that guests' experiences at the property exceed expectations which is a pleasant surprise as a traveler. The food and beverages were of the highest quality and served by professional and friendly staff. Without hesitation, I would recommend this property to any person traveling to the DC area for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.