We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Adams, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nicest staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

For business my husband loves this hotel. Great , friendly staff including in the restaurant. It provides him with everything he needs to conduct his business. This was the first time I accompanied him to this hotel. Found it very comfortable & located better for getting to 23rd street where all the restaurants are. The shuttle , was the first shuttle I have taken where I did not feel like I was putting them out of their way. They were very pleasant & helpful. The metro is about 8 blocks away but it is walkable either on the street or through the underground. Of course you will have to know where to get to the underground ; which took me a couple of times to find.
My only contrary opinions are as follows. There is no place to sit outside to relax & read. The lobby is not really that large & is not where I would feel comfortable sitting for an hour or so.
The pillows on the beds are square shaped which I did not find that comfortable. The room is pleasant but the bathtub area is showing wear. The sink & toilet area are updated even though they are in the same room as the tub. This hotel is worth the money. No major complaints.

Room Tip: I always need a refrigerator for water & drinks etc. Ask.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent. First one I've been to that provides separate trash container in your room for recycling.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Girlyouk,

It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn National, and that you both recieved execellent guest service from our staff. The location of the Holiday Inn National is very convenient to both the Ronald Reagan National Airport and Crystal City metro station for our hotel guests. The hotel is in the process of getting brand new pillows in all the guest rooms, as well. Our owners have drawn up renovation plans for the hotel lobby area in the up coming months, we are very excited to see it's completion! Myself and the entire team at Holiday Inn National appreciate you and your husband being loyal guests and we look forward to your return real soon.

Yours in hospitality,
Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    120
    67
    22
    11
See reviews for
55
56
38
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed here just before a flight for one night. The room was reasonably comfortable, clean and the internet worked well. When we arrived we needed a place to temporarily park along with some friends who were meeting us for dinner at the diner. The sign said the parking wasn't free but we asked at the desk and we found that was actually free if just for 2-3 hours during dinner time. That was a relief. The airport shuttle arrived very early too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nothing's wrong with this property that 20 years on Doc Brown's time machine wouldn't cure. It's fine - there are PLENTY worse in northern Virginia. But the rooms (especially the baths) have that slightly cramped late 70s/early 80s feel that just can't be fixed with fresh furnishings. Location is similarly OK, not great- close to DCA/Reagan National, reasonable walking distance to the Crystal City office blob ... but many other properties are more convenient and newer.

Because of all of that, this hotel is often $30 to $50 per night cheaper than its major-chain brethren. Which is why I frequently stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear tgdavidson,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us! We do love our proximity to DCA and to the Crystal City shops, we are walking distance but we also have our complimentary shuttle to take you over as well.

Over the next several months the Holiday Inn National will be undergoing renovations that will include guest rooms and the public area. We will also be updating the appearance of the O'Malley's restaurant and size!

We are very excited about the renovations that will be happening at the Holiday Inn National and we hope you come back and check us out!

Respectfully,
Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The Holiday Inn National Airport is located just minutes from DCA and the Crystal City Metro which will take you to all the DC attractions. The hotel shuttle will take you to and from both locations at a snap of the fingers with plenty of restaurant choices in between. The hotel is clean and comfortable with a friendly, eager to help staff. If you can get this hotel at a cheap price, take it and run because you won't find a better deal so close to all the action.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

5 minute drive to all the major attractions... Great location, great service, great price, super clean rooms with mini fridge and coffee maker. No balcony but still had a great view. The pool was closed but we didn't mind since all we needed was sleep after all the walking we did. The diner was decent and kids eat free as long as your a guest and there's a McDonald's right next door for those picky eaters..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a day to spend in Washington DC & booked at this hotel, not knowing much about it. It was a convenient place to stay & hop the metro into DC. The shuttle service was 4 star-provided timely service to & from the airport & the metro. The drivers, especially John, were polite & willing to help with luggage. The desk people were ready with metro information, places to eat within walking distance from the hotel, & just being cordial. My room was quiet & clean. If needed I would definiely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Lilvt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay with us! It's great to know that we exceeded your expectations during your stay and that the cleanliness of the guest room was superb.
If you are planning a travel in the near future back to the Washington, DC the Holiday Inn National welcomes you back with open arms!

Yours in hospitality,
Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night because my regular Washington National Airport park and fly option was booked. I got an incredible rate for a single night stay and fourteen nights covered parking through BuyReservations.com. The room was nothing special, but clean and quiet, and the lobby had computers for printing out boarding passes and a nice little shop. The hotel itself somewhat worn, but it was an easy walk to Crystal City for dinner, and I have to say the staff were incredibly nice and helpful. Getting the shuttle back to the hotel after our trip was very easy. Overall this was a good place to stay, particularly for the price, but not remotely as "nice" as the Marriotts in the area. There is no pool, if that's important to you, although the fitness center was surprisingly well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear PSU_travel_mom,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn National, we appreciate your business. The Park & Go package is a great value for the guests who need to catch an early morning flight out of Reagan National Airport. We love our location, being about 7 minutes from the airport. As a Holiday Inn, our goal is to give our guests a great product and excellent guest service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
#30 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.