We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overnight stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one day for a business trip. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location is close to airport and loved the free shuttle. Hotel rooms were a little dated but clean and comfy. Not as close to the metro as I would of liked. But it is really close to a lot of food and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    124
    71
    22
    11
See reviews for
58
58
38
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay. We were pleased with location and service, except perhaps the shuttle service. There is a hotel shuttle that takes you to/from the Reagan Int'l Airport and the Crystal City Metro station. The Metro station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The longest we waited was 35 minutes, which was frustrating after spending the day walking in the heat. We walked to the station one morning when there was only 1 shuttle running and it was going to the airport to drop some passengers off. The walk is about 15 minutes- not too bad and seemed safe. I think we ended up walking to the Metro twice and from the Metro twice. Most mornings we walked next door to McDonald's for breakfast or had bagels at the Crystal City Metro shops. We didn't care for the diner or pub at the hotel. It's ok in a pinch. There's a great restaurant at Crystal City, Good Stuff, with a Cold Stone Creamery nearby. I would stay again if a hotel closer to the Metro was unavailable or out of my price range.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

As the title says,stayed here following my friend's wedding reception in hotel and had a fab time.
Location:the hotel is greatly located with shops and restaurants nearby as well as a free shuttle to the metro stations(crystal city and reagan airport),giving you greater access to local and surrounding areas.Union station(DC) is about 20mins away on the metro.
Rooms:My room was clean and very spacious.
Service:I honnestly cannot fault the service received here,especially one of the girls at reception who helped dealing with a mix up regarding booking under wedding party.
Overall,had a great experience and would definitely come back again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friends and I were making a trip to the D.C. area for a soccer game and wanted a decent but affordable place where we could sleep for a few hours between tourism and the match.
Using the Entertainment card, we booked two rooms for about $75 apiece for our Saturday night stay. They did not disappoint.
We got into town around 12:30, but the staff at the hotel was very accommodating. They allowed us the early check-in and the woman at the front desk was very friendly. Because of the early check-in, they couldn't get us in the adjoining rooms that we had originally asked for but found us two others instead.
It cost us $16 for parking, which seemed reasonable enough, given parking rates in the D.C. area. We let the vehicle there and took the Metro, which was located two blocks away, to get around the city.
It seems like it would be convenient to the airport, although that didn't figure in our plans.
We did make a late-night run to the 24-hour McDonald's next door.
The hotel is near a highway, but noise wasn't a problem for our room, which faced the street.
The beds were comfortable and shower was nice.
The fan in my brother's room was a bit loud and he didn't seem to have an alarm clock as my room did, but that's the closest I'd come to a complaint.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting the DC area for the nation basketball tournament. We choose the holiday in because of its location, price, and amenities. The shuttle was extremely convenient. The hotel diner and pub menus had choices for everyone, and everything was delicious! The staff was very kind and helpful, bending over backwards when we needed anything. Mr. Nural, the hotel manager, was exceedingly accommodating,he gave suggestions for local restaurants,shopping choices and treated us like family. We now consider him a good friend. Mr. Phil the shuttle driver was consistently excited to see us in the morning and wished us luck for the days games. When picking us up he never failed to ask how we were doing. And Mr. Dwayne the maintainence man,was so friendly and always asked about our team and games. I've never stayed at a hotel where the employees were so helpful and interested in their guests. It surely made a hectic week a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Holiday Inn Crystal City. Close to the National Airport and just few steps from a 24 hour McDonald. The hotels looks old and far from Crystal City shops and town. The shuttle bus is efficient and the drivers are helpful and knowledgeable about where to go. The hotel elevators are very slow and the outdoor swimming pool was closed (not sure why). The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Not sure if going back to this hotel (the price is right) Recommended for an early morning flight from DC or for visiting Old Town (great place to visit).

Room Tip: No out side noise. My room view was the airport and the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Viajero736,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel. The swimming pool is closed due to structional damage that needs to be repaired, unfortunatel. I apologize for guest services not mentioing this to you during the check in process. We do have arrangements with our sister hotel, the Crowne Plaza National, that our guests can use their pool. I'll be sure to let our housekeeping staff know your comments regarding the room cleanliness as well! Thanks again!

If you are traveling back to the Washington, DC area in the near future, we do hope you'll give the Holiday Inn National another chance!

Respectfully yours,

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here 7/19-7/20 on a first trip to DC. Had no idea what to expect. We could not have been more pleased with the entire experience. Every contact with the staff, from the front desk, to the courtesy van drivers, was wonderful. They greeted us with a smile and were always helpful. The room was clean and well appointed. We were exhausted after a long day of touring, and O'Malleys Pub was just right. I don't know what else a guest could ask for. We will gladly recommend this place to friends and family in the future, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again ourselves! Thank for making our DC experience a pleasure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.