We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better and better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“better and better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times because we have a government conference there, and it is very close to the airport. My most recent stay was the best yet. The front desk staff were attentive and courteous, the AC worked well, and the shuttle transfers were efficient. One morning I asked for toast (it wasn't included in the buffet breakfast) and Dora, our waitress, had some made just for me. High five, Dora! I look forward to coming again.

Green Features: it's a good thought, but the way the towels are folded in the bathrrom, they fall easily to the floor, rather defeating the purpose.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    121
    70
    22
    11
See reviews for
56
57
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Our non-smoking room reeked of cigarettes, the air conditioning unit is incredibly loud (sleeping was difficult), the toilet seat was broken, one of the lamps was nearly broken and leaning heavily to one side...

On arrival, we were first refused check-in because the person who had booked the rooms hadn't yet arrived (she was a good two hours away). That's fair enough, but we had called in advance about this and was told everything would be fine. We had to get our friend on the phone until the receptionist reluctantly checked us in. No big deal, it wasn't a terribly bad exchange but the communication between staff could be worked on.

Won't be coming back any time soon, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

First, thank you so much for sharing your honest feedback with us, we are always striving to improve our product and our customer service every day and your comments help tremendously. We are very disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. The comments you made regarding the condition of your guest room will be reviewed and discussed with the operational department immediately. On behalf of the entire team at the Holiday Inn National Airport and as the hotel manager, I want to express my sincere apologies to you for not meeting your expectations.

We would love for you to give us another chance to prove to you that the Holiday Inn National cares about our hotel guests and their comfort and satisfaction!.

Respectfully,

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Party of 4 stayed for 5 nights while touring DC & surrounding area.
Pros:
•Adjacent to Reagan National
•Excellent shuttle service to/from nearest metro station, airport, & nearby restaurants (Malki is an excellent & prompt driver)
•Rooms were clean
•Very good front desk service by Candis
•Good in-house bar, restaurant
•McDonald's & Dollar car rental easily next

Cons:
•Some front desk personnel should be more aware/accurate about trolley tour & taxi service
•Room was not serviced one day but quickly corrected
•Had to request sufficient wash cloths & towels a couple of days

Overall, we will/would do this hotel again if in the area for same purpose.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I came for a conference for 4 days and three nights. The hotel staff was incredibly attentive, knew me by name by the second day, took care of my every need immediately and were delightful mix of personalities who obviously love their job and enjoy what they do!!! The room was clean and comfortably appointed. Endless and wonderful hot water and good pressure in the tub and and shower (a "MUST" in my world). I was at a professional conference and the room had everything I needed to show up at my best. The staff checking me in upgraded my room at no cost, and when my husband arrived two days later, they graciously gave him a parking pass for the garage. Carlos and Marco took care of EVERY detail for the conference and there was NOTHING to complain about. Food was excellent and everyone from the exhibitors, to the attendees, to the organizers, were taken care of in the best possible manner. The courtesy and service at this hotel exceeded some of the best I have stayed at.I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for travelers in the DC area.

Room Tip: Rooms with King Size beds are luxurious and worth looking into if you are traveling as a couple.
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmental friendly practices here were very green and very good. They had practices in place to cut down on excess laundering.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived at 10 a.m. and was allowed to check in early. The hotel is in a good neighborhood. The staff is fantastic, they were eager to help and very friendly. We ate at the hotel bar, the bartender was friendly and the food was very good. We used the shuttle service over and over to visit local restaurants,they were friendly and quick to pick us up at Ruth Chris and Portafino's. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We will stay here from now on we are in DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What more are your asking for? Free shuttle service from airport. Once you get to the hotel, the staff is MORE than willing to help you make your stay comfortable and pleasing. Free shuttle service to the metro, and anywhere within 5 miles of hotel. Clean rooms, good food, next door to a McDonald's and a CVS store for the snack things we all love. Could not say one bad thing about the place. Excellent stay, (1week). Hated to leave to go to a stuffy washington hotel for a convention. THIS PLACE IS THE BEST. Pool had not been serviced yet, but did not miss it at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Mizzy7877,

It's great to know you enjoyed your stay at our Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel! We loved hearing that you enjoyed the service and the great food, we pride oursevles on our Food and Beverage department and the great products it provides to our hotel guests.

Thank you for taking time to recongize the Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel for the execellent service you recieved while staying with us.

We really appericate your business and look forward to your return in the near future!

Ken Abom, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We landed in this hotel via Priceline, and I wasn't initially excited about it. The hotel itself is dated and lacks many amenities found in newer properties. However the staff more than makes up for it with friendly and attentive service.

We had planned to stay with family in DC and had to change plans at the last minute. When I explained our situation and budget concerns to the staff at the hotel, they went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable while still working within our tight finances. Parking is affordable, we have a fridge in our room (we pack lunch for our sightseeing trips), shuttle to the metro is convenient and the drivers are extremely friendly and helpful... And the front desk staff is beyond fantastic. They don't just greet me, they greet my two sons and engage them in conversation - making them feel important as well. Housekeeping does an excellent job on the room, leaving it clean and comfortable every time.

Green Features: You can choose to reuse sheets and towels each day. There are also recycle bins in the rooms.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.