We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service and close to the airport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great service and close to the airport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I wanted to visit DC, but I wanted to stay within my budget. This hotel was perfect for that, it has a plus side of being right by the airport and they also have shuttles from holiday inn that will come and pick you up! I did not even have to worry about getting a taxi! As I came into the hotel, I was greeted at the front desk by a employee, Jay. He was very friendly and he also made the metro more understandable for me since I was new to the area. He also gave me good places nearby to eat and to visit, and he made my stay an enjoyable one! I would def recommend this hotel to everyone that wants excellent service and wants to be close to the airport!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    112
    58
    18
    10
See reviews for
45
49
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

My RSVP was only for 1 night, 5/13/13, after staying at the Dbl Tree, Crystal City, VA. Boy how two hotels differ, First, HI rooms need to modernized, when the bathtub is a smokers nicotine color, you know it needs to updating. The room was big but very plane, I was very disappointed that there was no in-room safe. My room 830 had a broken a/c unit that wouldn't turn off and it only new 1 setting "Artic." I will say after notifying the front desk in person, they sent a repairman up and said it was fixed. Well it was fixed until I turned in on again.

I had to walk back to the lobby and I complained again. The front desk agent, Helina (if misspelled, I apologize) was GREAT, she immediately change my room and upgraded me. She apologized for any inconvience on my part and asked if there was anything else she could do.

I didn't care for the hotel rooms, but her service and thoughtfulness was top level!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear imnot1099,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am particularly appreciative about your comments on Helena. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. However, I would like to for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place is relatively clean and located right next to the airport. Room was a bit small, and there was a somewhat unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom. Other than that, this hotel was a great value as the bed was comfortable and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I checked in after midnight and it wasn't a pleasant experience. Very Dry and unwilling to help. Gave me a single bed (I requested a double when I made my reservation) The clerk insisted I called and requested a single (king) bed. The clerk fumbled on the computer for another 20 minutes and still said they dont have a double room. The next day I spoke to the young ladies at the counter and they were very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear alis L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am sorry to hear about the troubles that you have encountered with your reservation. I sincerely apologize if some of our staff was not able to provide you the customer service you were expecting.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. I do hope that you give us the chance of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is typical Holiday Inn, everything works fine for the price I paid. If you need to be in business in Crystal city, or need to be near the airport it works perfectly.
The walk to the Crystal City metro is about 10 minutes. However, if you use your phone to get directions, google maps will make you go on the other side of the road. So the best way to do it is going thru the back of the hotel (S. Eads St) and turn right on 18th St. S; it does take about 10 minutes. I did that walk several times, including a couple of times at night, and it felt pretty safe. Also there is a 7-Eleven, a CVS nearby, and a couple of Mediterranean restaurants that are open 24 hours, which is pretty nice to have access in case you are hungry at night.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are pretty good. I was near the elevator, which is not something I like, and my ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Needing to get to my destination on the west coast early afternoon, we opted for the first flight out of DCA. I had no idea that the airport opened so early!! I found this gem of a hotel online. Once you find the hotel, which I strongly recommend you map out its location carefully as Crystal City can be a challenge to drive, we were welcomed at the desk with smiles and room key. As I had booked through the Park, Sleep and Fly web site, we needed to stay one night either at the beginning of the flight or end. The lady that checked us in could not have been kinder. We asked for a room away from both ice machine and elevator and up we went. We walked into the room and I realized someone had smoked in the room, we trekked back downstairs and our room was changed immediately-we asked for no smoking as my sweetheart is a reformed smoker. The rooms are not large but comfortable, but we had a good mattress on the king size bed and were guaranteed a wake up call. We decided to eat in the restaurant adjacent to the hotel-furnishings there could be updated and it is or was an old bar. The food, however, to our relief was quite good and reasonable. The waitress a delight. We asked, when finished eating, at the front desk what time we should be in the lobby-4:30 AM. Their driver usually begins at 5:00 AM but they accommodated us without any question. Our room was quiet! We slept very well and fortunately turned in early as our 3:45 AM wake up call came all to soon. The driver of the hotel van was ready, helped us with luggage, got us to the airport within five minutes right to the correct door for our airline's terminal we needed to enter at DCA and off we went. When we landed/returned we called the hotel and the driver came for us. It was lightly sleeting and cold, but the van warm. Could not have been easier. We will do this anytime we need to leave early or arrive super late at DCA. Now you many be wondering about the car. It was February in Northern VA. Weather can be a day at the beach or a blizzard. The car stayed for free the twelve days we were gone in a secure covered garage-part of the package. Use common sense where you park. For cheaper than the price of airport parking we got a good night's sleep, put our last minute items in the car we didn't need for the trip, and had transportation to our correct airline terminal with pick up at the other end.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have stayed here several times without any problems. This time we had a problem. We woke up and the shower knob rotated; completely broken. We walked to the front desk and maintenance showed up. They replaced the knob, so now we had water but it would not shut off.
I visited the GM and asked how housekeeping could clean the bathroom without seeing there was no water coming out of the tub area? I explained maintenance fixed it but then the water continued to trickle after turning off. He was good about it ; wrote up a maintenance request and hopefully got it fixed.
I still like this property; rates are very reasonable and you're near many restaurants/bars. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn
Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
#27 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.