We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Almost perfect for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Usually you get what you pay for. We didn't pay much, but we got an awful lot for our money.
My husband and I stayed here for four days as tourists.
First, the positives:

The price. The price. The price. I think we stayed for less than $100 per night, which in D.C. is unheard of.

It was clean and comfortable. If you're looking for pampering, this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for a clean and comfortable bed with easy access to all D.C. has to offer at a reasonable price, you'll be hard pressed to find a better hotel.

There are two areas nearby with lots of shops and restaurants. It was very convenient. There's even a CVS next door.

Weekday service: The weekday staff allowed us to check in early, which we greatly appreciated. Our flight arrived shortly after 11 a.m. and check-in time was after 4 p.m. Being able to freshen up before hitting the town was a wonderful plus. They also allowed us to check out a few hours late, and the weekday shuttle driver was always available to answer questions and offering us rides to the metro station or the airport.


The negatives:
The service on the weekend left a lot to be desired. After check-out, the desk told us we could leave our bags in a closet until it was time for us to head to the airport. Unfortunately, whoever was taking bags disappeared. We sat in the lobby waiting assistance (after asking at the desk) for a half hour. When we finally inquired a second time, she sent the porter up to some other rooms to get bags before directing him to unlock the closet. Again, we'd been patiently waiting for more than a half hour.

They say the shuttle runs to the airport every 15 minutes, but the weekend driver seemed none too interested in taking people to National. Along with four other passengers, we waited in the van for a half hour before the shuttle driver returned to take us to the airport. I suspect we might still be sitting there had one of the other passengers not gotten out of the van and inquired a second time at the front desk.

It was super, extra bad service from the weekend staff.

This hotel is quite a walk to the metro station. I'm guessing it's a good eight blocks. Under normal conditions, that's not a bad walk, but as tourists, you'll be walking a ton and those extra 16 blocks a day were brutal after the second day!

We learned that the shuttle driver would drop us at the metro when they had time, and the last day we were there, we took advantage of the service.

Bottom line: I wasn't expecting a whole lot, because the price was so good. But the hotel far exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    112
    58
    18
    10
See reviews for
45
49
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lots of extras make this place a 4+ with reasonable rates for hotels in and close to DC. There is a free shuttle to and from Metro, to and from Washington National. Just call them.

Nice sized room. Not super fancy but very pleasant.

From desk extremely helpful. Shout out to Helina. I asked for a dinner suggestion - nearby, non chain, good food. She recommended several places - one of which I went to - Kabob Palace, just 2 blocks away. It was terrific (please see separate review). The front desk has a list of nearby restaurants and IS willing to provide suggestions.

McDonalds immediately next door for those seeking that form of food, and many, many restaurants nearby.

Several computers in lobby available for customer use, Free wifi in rooms.

This place was $40-60/night less than several other nearby hotels. I would not pay more unless you wanted 5* luxury (which many of us don't need and don't want to pay for).

Green Features: They ask if you want clean linens daily or are willing to re-use, which I think is fine.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Always a good choice for their "Park and Fly" Program. We have stayed here at least 3 times. The front desk is always pleasant. The parking is plentiful and the transfers to and from the airport have always been problem free. Stayed March 28th prior to our Family Florida Vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Thekeatings,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I recently booked two rooms for myself and family members. We stayed on the 9th floor. The hotel is located within walking distance to the Crystal City metro. They also offer a shuttle service. Save the hotel phone numer on your phone and call when you need to be picked up. Our longest wait was about ten minutes.
We had two double beds and both rooms had small refrigerators and coffee makes. Oddly, they provide shampoo but no conditioner. The tv is HD, but not all channels. The elevator was speedy.
The hotel is just off a major highway, with a McDonals's next door. There were several tour groups staying at our hotel, but once inside our rooms, we didn't hear from them.
We requested rooms that wer near to each other or eve connected, and were given rooms just two rooms apart.
There is a charge for parking. We drove up from N.C. on Monday, parked, rode the Metro for four days, then departed.
Speaking of the Metro, it's very clean, convenient, and relatively inexpensive. If you walk from the hotel to Crystal City metro, the walk is about half-a-mile. The walk is along and across heavy traffic and at me point we used the underground walkway at a bus stop to cross over. Take the shuttle.
The staff was good. We left each day at 8am, and arrived back near dark. Our rooms were cleaned and beds made, each day. I prefer a dark room, and was happy to see that the smoke detector was mounted on the side wall, and not overhead. This is a small thing, but made for better sleep.
Like most Holiday Inns, this one went with those weird, small, almost bubble-shaped pillows. They were comfortable enough, but I prefer a bigger pillow.
The bathroom was nice enough, standard hotel style, if a little out dated. The exhaust fan didn't work in ours.
All in all, for the price and location, this is a great place to stay for families looking to tour D.C. Metro ride to Smithsonian took less than 20 minutes, location was convenient, and the price was right.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was not pleasant. First, let me list the positives. Parking was plentiful and relatively inexpensive. The room itself was very large. That is about it.

Now, the negatives.

1. The staff was generally unhelpful. We were booked to arrive on a Friday, but could not arrive until Saturday. I called to inform the staff of this, and this information was not passed along to anyone. When we arrived, we had to wait for our room because of housekeeping issues.

2. The room was not well cleaned and maintained. We were not given enough towels on day 1 (Saturday) of our stay, and were not given more shampoo on day 2 (Sunday). Worst of all, we found a half-full quart of milk (which was not ours) on the Monday that we checked out. Ewww!

3. The bed was not terribly comfortable. I woke up feeling like I had been in a brawl.

All in all, I would NOT recommend this hotel, except for 1-night airport stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize for the inconvenience that the front desk staff caused by not communicating that you would be arriving on Saturday instead of Friday. We are in the hospitality industry and our job is to take care of our hotel guests. We strive to meet (better yet, exceed) your expectations that you have when staying at a Holiday Inn hotel and your comments will help us constantly improve. Your comments will be shared directly with both the guest services manager and the executive housekeeping manager regarding the level of service their departments provided to you as our hotel guest.

Thank you for sharing your comments, we do hope you will consider us again on your next trip to Washington DC.

Yours in hospitality,

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you have an early flight the next day from National Airport, then this is the perfect place to stay. Being only 3 to 5 minutes from the rental car return and only 6 or 7 minutes by way of the Hotel Shuttle, you need not worry about rushing.

The rooms are nice and the location is great. You are close to the capital, including everything you may want to see in DC.

The front desk staff was very heplful. Although, parking is not free. I plan to return to this hotel if I should need to fly out of the Ronald Regan National Airport.

Room Tip: Get you bearings on where the airport is located before the day you have to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff here is trying really hard. They do a lot of things right. In some ways, this is indistinguishable from a Courtyard, or a standard business hotel, but there are a few misses.

The Pros: Nice, responsive staff. Pleasant facility. Good wireless internet. Spotless room. Well appointed. Up to date decor. Granite in the bath, nice bed linens, etc.

The Cons: A lack of certain basic things I have grown to expect in a business hotel. No conditioner in the bathroom. No complimentary coffee in the morning. The service at the restaurant is slow and the food is very average. I should have been suspicious when the hotel was packed, but the restaurant was nearly empty. McDonalds is steps away, so it's probably a better place for breakfast. It is a long walk to the nearest metro. There is a complimentary shuttle, but it's weird to wait ten minutes for a ten minute ride to avoid a fifteen minute walk. A few additional amenities in this hotel would go a long way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Hotel Guest,

According to your comments it seems you had an average stay at the hotel. Both the guest services manager and the food and beverage director are reviewing your comments you made to improve the amenities we currently put in our guest rooms. Your comments were also shared to help constantly improve the operations and food quality of the National Diner. I hope you will come back and stay at the Holiday Inn National in the future, and give my team another opportunity to deliver the level of guest service you expect when staying at Holiday Inn hotel.

Thanks for sharing your guest experince with the team at the Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel.

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn
Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
#26 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.