We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff here is trying really hard. They do a lot of things right. In some ways, this is indistinguishable from a Courtyard, or a standard business hotel, but there are a few misses.

The Pros: Nice, responsive staff. Pleasant facility. Good wireless internet. Spotless room. Well appointed. Up to date decor. Granite in the bath, nice bed linens, etc.

The Cons: A lack of certain basic things I have grown to expect in a business hotel. No conditioner in the bathroom. No complimentary coffee in the morning. The service at the restaurant is slow and the food is very average. I should have been suspicious when the hotel was packed, but the restaurant was nearly empty. McDonalds is steps away, so it's probably a better place for breakfast. It is a long walk to the nearest metro. There is a complimentary shuttle, but it's weird to wait ten minutes for a ten minute ride to avoid a fifteen minute walk. A few additional amenities in this hotel would go a long way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Hotel Guest,

According to your comments it seems you had an average stay at the hotel. Both the guest services manager and the food and beverage director are reviewing your comments you made to improve the amenities we currently put in our guest rooms. Your comments were also shared to help constantly improve the operations and food quality of the National Diner. I hope you will come back and stay at the Holiday Inn National in the future, and give my team another opportunity to deliver the level of guest service you expect when staying at Holiday Inn hotel.

Thanks for sharing your guest experince with the team at the Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel.

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    124
    70
    22
    11
See reviews for
58
58
38
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Stone, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arrived Wednesday, March 6th Purpose: to spend the night before an early 6am flight from Reagan National, and a place to leave the car for the week we are gone. Cost: $169. The check in was uneventful. The hotel airport shuttle didn't start operation until 6am, but they said that we could take a taxi and they would reimburse the fare upon our return. There was some confusion over booking a cab to pick us up at 4am; our check-in agent had tried calling the cab company and was told that we would have to call in the morning to get a cab. Later I asked another desk clerk if he could book us a cab for 4am and he said “No problem, it's done.” Sure enough the cab was there for us at 3:55am.

The room we had, 4327, was located just off the elevator and was a bit noisy when late night people got off and were talking. The room itself was very small and unassuming. Our window looked out over an empty pool and an Arlington neighborhood. Bathroom was tiny, but clean. All in all I figured the price we were paying was mostly for the permission to park, as the room certainly was not worth $169. No refrigerator, no microwave. There was a coffee maker with coffee and teas and Styrofoam coffee cups. A 42” flat screen TV that kept jumping back to a station I didn't want to watch. Have no idea why, maybe it was something I was doing (??), but I was only trying to catch the morning weather so I didn't need or really want to watch TV so I just turned it off.

The worst part of the hotel experience was trying to print our boarding pass at the computer room downstairs. There were two screens and two printers. One printer was out of order. When you started the computer a clock came up saying you had x amount of time before your session ended. The first time we connected we only had 4 minutes in the session. The internet connection was so slow we ran out of time and were disconnected before we even got to the airline site. We reconnected and this time it started counting down from 20 minutes. Again it was so slow that we didn't have time to enter all of our information before we timed out. A third try took us all the way down to under 2 minutes before we managed to print two boarding passes. It ended up taking us about 45 minutes to get our passes and was a very frustrating experience. The free wifi in the rooms worked fine, but of course didn't access a printer.

O'Malleys Pub on the lobby level opened at 4pm and had a 2 for 1 appetizer special that night and we had a couple of cocktails and a bite to eat, nothing fancy but fine, and the service was pleasant.

The best part of the hotel experience was the shuttle driver, John, who when we asked directions to walk to Legal Seafood for dinner promptly offered to drive us in the van. It was a short ride, and after dinner only took him 5 minutes to get back to pick us up.

Upon our return the shuttle was available and took about 20 minutes to pick us up. The front desk reimbursed our $6 taxi ride. Our car was undisturbed and had been well protected from the weather.

Notes: The parking garage is limited to vehicles under 6 feet. Our friend with a large pick up truck was directed to park in the 20 minute zone in front of the hotel for the week. They seemed to be used to having to do that. All other parking was covered.

Room Tip: 4327 was right around the corner from the elevator late night guests sounded as if they were in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Hotel Guest,

After reading your comments, it's very disappointing to know that you left the Holiday Inn National Airport an unhappy guest.

My sincere apology to you and your family regarding your hotel stay. The comments you shared in the survey was addressed with each department manager regarding the issues you had during your stay.

As the hotel manager it's my responsiblity to ensure my team takes care of our guests and that they leave the hotel satisfied. If you decide to return back to the Washington, DC area in the near future and stay at Holiday Inn National Airport, please contact me directly at 703-684-7200.
Safe travels!

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel for work travel. Overall it was fine -- not great and not poor. The front desk clerk was very personable. Unfortunately my room key didn't code so I lugged my luggage to the 8th floor, back to the desk and back to the 8th floor. Then the lock malfunctioned several times before it stopped sticking. So not a good start. The room was small but nice. No issues there except for the tiny pillows all Holiday Inns have these days. I slept well. The lobby was lovely and bright but the hallway to the room was somewhat dark. The elevators are quite slow, the buttons confusing and signage between the parking lot and lobby not clear. The good news is that parking is super cheap for DC. I didn't eat there so can't speak for the restaurant. Overall it was fine for an overnight but there are better options close by if you're staying a few days or on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear JLB_miles_to_go,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A lot of good things to say about this place. Updated rooms, convenient location, quick airport shuttle, friendly staff, enough elevators to service all the guests... Overall a very good experience. The only constructive criticism I would add, is to add safes to each room - and - for the attached "diner" to offer some more classic diner dishes (meatloaf, mashed potatoes, gravy, etc). The diner is more of a burger joint. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa-shi, Okinawa, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel before our early morning flight out of Reagan. It was a little tricky to find the entrance when driving in, but a short drive to the airport. The location was convenient to nearby restaurants. We used the free shuttle to visit the museums. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I spent the night here before my early morning flight. There are frequent shuttles to the airport helping to save time. Everything was as expected with no complaints. There is a bar and restaurant, but I elected to walk to 23rd St. to sample one of the local restaurants.

The hotel has a parking garage where I parked my car, for a fee, for the duration of my trip. Upon my return I called the hotel and within a 20 minutes the shuttle arrived.

I enjoyed my stay and would do it again.

Room Tip: The 11th floor was great, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Upon my arrival, a wedding was taking place, Parking was just horrible. I was driving in my for about 20 min. People under the parking deck were going the wrong way, It wasn't the best experience. Once I arrived inside the staff was very friendly and I was in my room in less then 5 min. I was very pleased about the speedy check in. I was leary about going back out because I was afraid I would lose my parking spot and it cost $16 a day to park and mind you, its not valet parking, its self parking for $16 a day. So I wasn't too happy with that.

Other then that, the room was very nice and clean, the bed was really comfortable and I slept like a baby, but was happy to leave because of all the traffic and congestion in the area.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor, Street view. It was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

As the Hotel Manager, I apologize for the inconvenience we caused you regarding the parking situation at the hotel during a wedding we held at the property. We do try to accommodate as many people as possible, especially in the situations we have when hosting a wedding. Please don't hesitate to let us know the next time you are in the area, we'd love to have you again!

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.