We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty busy location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pretty busy location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Upon my arrival, a wedding was taking place, Parking was just horrible. I was driving in my for about 20 min. People under the parking deck were going the wrong way, It wasn't the best experience. Once I arrived inside the staff was very friendly and I was in my room in less then 5 min. I was very pleased about the speedy check in. I was leary about going back out because I was afraid I would lose my parking spot and it cost $16 a day to park and mind you, its not valet parking, its self parking for $16 a day. So I wasn't too happy with that.

Other then that, the room was very nice and clean, the bed was really comfortable and I slept like a baby, but was happy to leave because of all the traffic and congestion in the area.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor, Street view. It was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

As the Hotel Manager, I apologize for the inconvenience we caused you regarding the parking situation at the hotel during a wedding we held at the property. We do try to accommodate as many people as possible, especially in the situations we have when hosting a wedding. Please don't hesitate to let us know the next time you are in the area, we'd love to have you again!

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    120
    67
    22
    11
See reviews for
55
56
38
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Priceline deal put me at this location for a night to await flight from Reagan. I was in Washington for the day and used Metro for transportation. This property is a long walk from the Crystal City Station ... especially long if you have cold or wet weather to contend with. There is a small store and two restaurant locations attached to the building. There is a McDonalds next door.
For a person relying on Metro I think you might feel a bit stranded... I did. I also thought all Holiday Inns provided some sort of breakfast service and was disappointed no offering was made here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel. After reading your comments regarding the added value you received, I noticed that my front desk staff didn't do a great job letting you know about the complimentary shuttle service we offer hotel guests that brings them to the Crystal City Metro, which is located 7 blocks from the hotel. You are correct, the third party internet booking rates that you purchased online doesn't include breakfast, but we do offer rates that do include a full American breakfast. As the guest service manager I apologize for my front desk staff not informing you about the hotel shuttle service to and from the Crystal City Metro station.

Jennifer Reilard
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night to catch an early flight from Reagan. Left my car parked here and took the hotel shuttle to the airport in the morning. Good service, decent room, good enough for one night. Other hotels right across the street were twice as expensive and not worth it for just one night. Only negative is that you have to call the hotel to get the airport shuttle to pick you up at Reagan to take you back to your car. This would have been good to know, we wouldn't have waited at the airport for an hour before learning from Travelor's Aid that you have to call the hotel to trigger the shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a very good location at a very good price. Metro just a short walk away,,,you can get anywhere you want. They will shuttle you there; no charge, as well as to the airport. Restaurants are nearby,,,room is very nice.
Service with the front desk is very good/excellent. This is a good value for the money. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want; they are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

i had a meeting in Washington DC i was there for one night but i chose this hotel to stay because i stayed here couple months ago its close to airport there is alot of food places around the hotel on walking distance hotel provide free shuttle for shoping mall and airport hotel is very clean i love the lobby of this hotel as soon u enter in the lobby u feel fresh happy its big quite if u wana sit there and enjoy your cup of coffee after your boring meeting also one more good thing is they have three elevators you dont have to wait front desk staff is amazing specially guy name Adeel he is very professional with alot of knowledge he helped me last time when i stayed here last he knows his job housekeeping staff also doing good job im coming back in may again hopefully i highly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: any room every thing is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It's great to know you had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel. We pride ourselves in making our hotel guests happy with their stay. Also, I will let Adeel know that you appreciated his professionalism and guest service he delivered to you at the Holiday Inn National. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are doing business in the vicinity of the airport, this hotel is in an ideal location for access to main routes. Lobby is large, welcoming, and has plenty of comfortable seating. The staff was very helpful. Did not have any meals here. Room was average. Use a GPS is you are not familiar with the area, it is easy to get lost. Hungry?- McDonalds is just a few steps away and you don't have to cross the highway to get there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear cw413,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding the location of our Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel! You are correct the hotel is only 7 minutes from Regan National Airport, located in Arlington, VA. The hotel is only 10 minutes from the Pentagon, and 13 minutes from Washington, DC.; located off of U.S. 1 highway. As the Hotel Manager, I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and the team members were very helpful, I will share this with all of them! If you are back in the Washington, DC area in the near future please come back and stay at Holiday Inn National, we look forward to serving you again!

Ken Abrom, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanahan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It is a wannabe hotel. They have made upgrades, but on the cheap! First look, I was impessed, but that was short lived. Lobby is very large and pretty. Front desk staff were efficient but gave you short, incomplete answers and very poor directions. The room looked OK, but this is where cheap comes in. The floor lamp ws broken and leaning over - i didn't use it in that condition. The other 2 lamps had only one low watt bulbs in the 2 light fixtures. Overall the toom was just too dark. I noticed the toilet seat was up in the bathroom, I can only assume it wasn't cleaned. I travel with Clorox Wipes, and proceeded to wipe down the bathroom. That's when I noticed the hair in the tub and sink. OK, it wasn't cleaned - but the towels were fresh I think. While cleaning, I had closed the toilet lid and sat down on it to finish wiping down the counter.- it colapsed! I have never encountered a toilet seat so thin and cheap that someone could not sit on it at all! I weigh 135 lbs, so it wasn't my weight! I normally sit on the toilet seat in the AM to put on my make-up, but not here! The remote for the TV only woked in one direction, so you have to go through all channels to get bck to something you wanted to watch, I turned it off. I didn't get a good nights sleep because the bed was just too hard, and the pillows were soft and cheap. This may be the right combination for some people, not me. Next morning I went down for coffee. Yes there were coffee makers in the room, but seeing the room was not cleaned, I was not going to take the chance to use it. So where is the coffee?? You have to walk through the long lobby, take a right to a long corridor, walk through another corridor and arrive at the diner - where you are charged for just a cup of coffee! Not knowing that I would be taking such a trip for just a cup of coffee, I had left my bags in my room. So I had to shlep all the way up to the 8th floor to get my bags. Too much for first thing in the morning. Because the lobby is so large, I can't see why they can't have a coffee cart set up there like most other hotels. Oh yea, they would miss out on the buck!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear In2Lax,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel. We as a hotel are always looking for ways to improve our product and our services, your review helps us tremendously. We are very sorry that you did not experience the level of service and product that you come to expect when staying at the Holiday Inn National. The information you listed in your review will be shared with the department heads so that we can properly address the issues you encountered. Thanks again for sharing your comments and feedback about the Holiday Inn National Airport Hotel.

Ken Abrom
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
#30 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.