We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nic place, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nic place, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The airport shuttle was really convenient, driver helpful and friendly. the room was clean and fine, though small. Shuttle to to Metro trains really convenient. A great loose base for sightseeing in DC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    160
    95
    28
    13
See reviews for
77
75
45
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Breakfast was free as a platinum club member! Enjoyed our 3 night stay...you have to pay for parking but that's quite common in DC area. Close to airport and across street to Crystal City shopping. Convenient location for seeing the sites/sights of DC. We had a rental car which we got at the airport but if you take the Dollar Rental car shuttle it's right next to the hotel which might have been quicker. Hotel has been renovated and is nicely appointed but it is a bit older. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This has been a month of travelling for me, the first two weeks of which were spent at the Holiday Inn in Savannah. I wrote a review on that, giving it 4 stars because it really was exceptional for its cleanliness, location, etc. Because of early morning flights, I stayed at the Holiday Inn National hotel both last Sunday (August 18th), as well as last night (August 24th). The lobby is quite nice and its proximity to National is perfect...maybe a five minute shuttle. The rooms, however, are definitely older compared to the newer, more updated Holiday Inns. They're also abnormally dark, which bothers me. It seems that a lot of hotels are switching to the environmentally-friendly bulbs -- a good thing, of course -- but it also leaves the room darker. Holiday Inn needs to add a lamp or two to compensate.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, even at 10:00 at night. Also, another plus is that you are very close to old-town Alexandria, which has a cute street full of quaint restaurants and bars.

The summary: if you don't mind a bit dated rooms, this is a fine place to stay for a night (I wouldn't want a long-term stay here). Also, if you want to be close to restaurants, you're in luck. Just keep in mind that the hotel is on a highway, so you'll need to take a taxi, or perhaps the shuttle can drive you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear kpmcatee,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your experience. We are happy you liked our friendly and helpful hotel staff as well as the location. I apologize the lighting of the room and the room accommodations you received were not up to par. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed one night on business. The location is very convenient, rooms are large, clean, with all necessary amenities. Parking is extra (~15$). Breakfast was average. Nothing to complain or to praise too much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Perfect location for business in and around the Arlington, Crystal City & Airport. Lots of eateries and pubs a block walking distance. Parking on-site, big convienance. A Pub and Diner on the property.

Room Tip: Stayed on 10th floor, room was quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went to see the Glen Campbell Goodbye Tour at The Birchmere and decided to stay at this hotel due to the close proximity of the venue. We found it to be very close to the music hall, as well as an 8 -10 minute ride into DC. The hotel was very clean and well maintained and the staff members were very helpful and courteous. Although this is not one of the newly updated hotels, it was very nice, The room was small, but the beds were comfortable and the room itself was very clean. I was disappointed that there wasn't a small refrigerator in the room. I suppose one can expect the D.C.area hotels to be pricey, (along with 16.00 a day for parking), so that really isn't a huge gripe. I do think, however, that when we go back to D.C., I will look at other hotels in the area, perhaps even another Holiday inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The good: at $169 a night, it's definitely a value for the DC area. The staff is friendly and having a pub in the building is nice.

The bad: rooms are dated and obviously well-trafficked. The air conditioning unit in the room was so loud that getting a good night's sleep was out of the question.

If you like to use the metro while you're in DC, this is NOT the hotel for you. The nearest metro is approx 1 mile away along busy Route 1 traffic.

Would not stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Superflybriguy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am glad you appreciated our friendly staff as well as our pub. I'm very sorry about your disappointment with your room accommodation and the inconvenience the air conditioner caused you. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Arlington Crystal City/Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
0.5 mi away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
#33 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.