We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“1 night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Perfect location for business in and around the Arlington, Crystal City & Airport. Lots of eateries and pubs a block walking distance. Parking on-site, big convienance. A Pub and Diner on the property.

Room Tip: Stayed on 10th floor, room was quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    148
    85
    26
    11
See reviews for
73
67
42
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moneta, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went to see the Glen Campbell Goodbye Tour at The Birchmere and decided to stay at this hotel due to the close proximity of the venue. We found it to be very close to the music hall, as well as an 8 -10 minute ride into DC. The hotel was very clean and well maintained and the staff members were very helpful and courteous. Although this is not one of the newly updated hotels, it was very nice, The room was small, but the beds were comfortable and the room itself was very clean. I was disappointed that there wasn't a small refrigerator in the room. I suppose one can expect the D.C.area hotels to be pricey, (along with 16.00 a day for parking), so that really isn't a huge gripe. I do think, however, that when we go back to D.C., I will look at other hotels in the area, perhaps even another Holiday inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

The good: at $169 a night, it's definitely a value for the DC area. The staff is friendly and having a pub in the building is nice.

The bad: rooms are dated and obviously well-trafficked. The air conditioning unit in the room was so loud that getting a good night's sleep was out of the question.

If you like to use the metro while you're in DC, this is NOT the hotel for you. The nearest metro is approx 1 mile away along busy Route 1 traffic.

Would not stay again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Superflybriguy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am glad you appreciated our friendly staff as well as our pub. I'm very sorry about your disappointment with your room accommodation and the inconvenience the air conditioner caused you. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and her friend attended a conference at this hotel. Upon arrival they were pleased with the overall atmosphere at the hotel. It wasn't until they arrived back in their hotel after they went to visit a friend that they realized that their stuff had been gone through and my wife had some of her prescription medication stolen.

What made things even worse was that nothing was done to try to rectify the matter. The front desk manager simply stated "that her staff wouldn't do anything like that." When my wife then asked how her medication was stolen, and how her friends items had been riffled through, she had nothing to say.

Another couple of things make this entire scenario somewhat suspicious. When asked for a corporate or customer care number, neither the evening desk person or the morning desk manager "knew" the number and simply couldn't find it. I found it within one phone call...

(This portion happened before items were taken and after room had already been cleaned) Finally, my wife's friend (who was pregnant) went up to the room to get a little rest (this was the time that she WOULD HAVE been in the conference). One of the staff (without knocking) opened the door and proceeded to walk into the room until my wife's friend spoke up and asked her what she was doing. The woman then proceeded to state that she was there to change out the towels in the room (there were 3 dirty towels in the bathroom). After spending some time in the bathroom, the staff member left. However, there were still the same 3 dirty towels left in the room. Nothing had been done...

It was shortly after this that my wife and her friend went out to visit some of our local friends for dinner. When they got back that evening, that is when they noticed that their stuff had been gone through and had items stolen during the evening.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINationalAirport, General Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We were extremely disappointed to hear of your experience recently at the Holiday Inn National Airport. If you wouldn’t mind, I would like to discuss further with you the events surrounding your stay with us. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and your feedback I believe will be very valuable to share with our staff.

Respectfully,
Ken Abrom
General Manager
Kenneth.abrom@bfsaulco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a run-of-the-mill Holiday Inn in the middle of so many so much better hotels, but it is much more affordable than they are. so you do get what you pay for :)
Let's start with the positives: location (very close to the airport), free shuttle every 30 min, a Park and Fly option (you leave the car in the parking lot of the hotel, and someone else will return it to your rental car office, may cost extra), four floors of parking, availability of smoking rooms (if you smoke), a nearby gas station, very young staff.
The negatives: very young staff, smoking floors, extremely loud air-conditioners in the rooms, fans in the bathroom, ice machines in the corridors, the worn-out linen, cramped space in the room and the bathroom, the food from the pub (deliverable to your room) is, well, made in the pub, so it is salty and fatty.
The bottom line: if you can afford to stay elsewhere, do so! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear heyValera,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our location. Most importantly, I would like to apologize that you were not satisfied with the overall condition of our hotel. Rest assured that we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your comments about the air conditioner, fans in the bathroom and worn out linens have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, IA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I booked the hotel thru Priceline. I bid $69 per night for a 7 night stay. The hotel accepted the bid. This is a real value for the DC area. The hotel is convenient to Reagan National and has shuttle service every 30 minutes. Through the week they have shuttle service within the Crystal City area. The service at the hotel was top notch. Employees were friendly and helpful. This included the desk staff, shuttle drivers, restaurant, and housekeeping staffs. Crystal City Metro station is a 10 - 15 minute walk. The only negative I have is the bathroom is a little on the small size. The hotel has dining options including room service. Also there are several small restaurants on 23 rd street. This area is about a 3 block walk from the hotels. Options there include Italian, Mexican, Thai, Ethiopian, Diner, and a Sports Bar Grill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Well up to the standards expected of the Holiday Inn chain. Friendly staff, good food. Some of the decoration was looking a little tired, but nothing really bad. The usual dreadful shaped bath that one comes to expect in the US :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
#32 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.