We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel at the government rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Decent hotel at the government rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Holiday Inn National to attend a conference at a nearby hotel. My room was large and clean with nice furnishings. My stay included free Wi-Fi and a great free breakfast. Unfortunately the pool was closed but they have a fitness center. They also have a gift shop and a bar with good food and really lousy service. Overall the hotel met my needs and my stay was comfortable. It was also cheaper than the other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    124
    70
    22
    11
See reviews for
58
58
38
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here because of the price. It was a lot cheaper than the Hyatt up the road, but not as nice. I had a meeting at the Hyatt, but they were sold out, so I stayed at the Holiday Inn. It wasn't a bad stay. The only thing that I did was sleep and do work. I left early each morning and returned late. The shuttle drivers drove me to the Hyatt each morning. They were very friendly. The only thing that sort of rubbed me the wrong way was when I arrived. It was approximately 10:30PM. There were 4 guests at the desk. Two were being checked in. I was tired, but patiently waited my turn. When I was being checked in, I asked the clerk if my Priority Club number was included, because he didnt acknowledge that I was a platinum member. He said it wasn't, so I asked him if he could look it up. He obviously didnt want to do it and said that I could call Priority Club after my stay and they would give me the points. I asked if it was too much trouble to look it up and he said that he could try but it would take about 10 minutes. I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Madison, WI the night before. The clerk looked up my number in less than a minute. I told the Holiday Inn clerk this and he again said that he would try. I told him to forget it and just check me in without the number. From reading the reviews of the hotel, I knew that Platinum members got a free breakfast during their stays. Because I didnt have my number, I did not get this perk. That night, I found my number and took it back to the same clerk. He added my number the reservation, but did not offer the breakfast. Normally, this wouldn't have bothered me, but it did. Maybe I was tired and irritable and expected more. I would have not even mentioned this if the clerk would have just said that he didn't feel like looking up the number instead of telling me that it would take 10 minutes. Anyway, I received my free breakfast coupons the next morning. I asked another clerk for them the next morning. Not that I cared about the breakfast. It was just the lack of service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This seems to be an older Holiday Inn property that has had some updating. It is located near the airport, but not particularly convenient to the Metro or much of anything (there is a McDonalds next door and a few restaurants about a block or 2 down). My room was updated, but still basically a Holiday Inn--nothing fancy, but decent enough. Internet is free, and my room was quiet (north facing, away from the flight paths). The airport shuttle is reliable, every 15 minutes, and they also will take you to the Metro. Staff are friendly and accomodating. Overall, not the best place to stay in DC, but solid, and I would recommend for a night or if you get a good rate.

Room Tip: I think north facing (odd numbered) rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was close the the airport and they had reasonably priced airport parking through Global Airport Parking (globalairportparking.com) and because we could use our Priority Club points. The rooms were large and good. The desk arranged for our shuttle to the airport even though it was a half hour earlier than the time the shuttle was advertised to begin running.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
638 helpful votes 638 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I have stayed here at least 10 times now on business. I like this hotel. It is a good value with a convenient location. There is free shuttle bus service between the DCA Reagan airport and Crystal City metro. I usually walk from the hotel to the Crystal City Metro especially if the weather is nice. Other than that there are other alternative hotels which are more convenient than this hotel. It is about 15 minute walk from the hotel to the Crystal city metro. Rooms are clean and comfortable. As a gold member I always enjoy complimentary breakfast at their restaurant, which is a value of about $12.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Location and value reasons I chose Holiday Inn/Crystal City I stayed four nights. King size bed with small pillows a negative. I always pull linen back to check mattresses uncomfortable with basketball size dark stain on the mattress right side of headboard, asked desk clerk about it was told someone will contact me never got a reply. So exhausted I slept in chair first night next day purchased extra padding to cover mattress didn't make a fuss about it I was there to have a great time and I did. Restaurant closed at 11pm seemed a bit too early for me. Other than that staff was pleasant, parking convenient and community quiet.

Room Tip: choose room closest to elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hello cdedorce,
Thanks for staying with the Holiday Inn National! We brought your review to the attention of guest services and management to further inspect. Despite this, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Washington, D.C. and found our staff and location convenient to your needs!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Holiday Inn was very clean, quiet and well priced. The restaurants downstairs were fine and open nice and late. Breakfast in the morning was great, delicious omlettes! My only problem was the pillows... For some reason, they decided it was stylish to have a king bed with 4 half sized pillows. It looks cool, but I am a fan of the full pillow. The parking garage felt safe and it was very conveniently located. Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott and listened to their incredibly loud elevators for a few hours before discovering iphone sound machine app. The elevators were louder than the planes at the neighboring airport!

Room Tip: High floor away from elevators and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Hello sun_vs_snow2011,
We are pleased to hear that Holiday Inn National is “Much better than the Courtyard by Marriott”! Our hospitality and restaurant teams work very hard in making each guest feel welcomed and satisfied with their stay. We will be sure to extend kudos to our Chef! Hope to see you again!
Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.