We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, friendly shuttle drivers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel, friendly shuttle drivers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here because of the price. It was a lot cheaper than the Hyatt up the road, but not as nice. I had a meeting at the Hyatt, but they were sold out, so I stayed at the Holiday Inn. It wasn't a bad stay. The only thing that I did was sleep and do work. I left early each morning and returned late. The shuttle drivers drove me to the Hyatt each morning. They were very friendly. The only thing that sort of rubbed me the wrong way was when I arrived. It was approximately 10:30PM. There were 4 guests at the desk. Two were being checked in. I was tired, but patiently waited my turn. When I was being checked in, I asked the clerk if my Priority Club number was included, because he didnt acknowledge that I was a platinum member. He said it wasn't, so I asked him if he could look it up. He obviously didnt want to do it and said that I could call Priority Club after my stay and they would give me the points. I asked if it was too much trouble to look it up and he said that he could try but it would take about 10 minutes. I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Madison, WI the night before. The clerk looked up my number in less than a minute. I told the Holiday Inn clerk this and he again said that he would try. I told him to forget it and just check me in without the number. From reading the reviews of the hotel, I knew that Platinum members got a free breakfast during their stays. Because I didnt have my number, I did not get this perk. That night, I found my number and took it back to the same clerk. He added my number the reservation, but did not offer the breakfast. Normally, this wouldn't have bothered me, but it did. Maybe I was tired and irritable and expected more. I would have not even mentioned this if the clerk would have just said that he didn't feel like looking up the number instead of telling me that it would take 10 minutes. Anyway, I received my free breakfast coupons the next morning. I asked another clerk for them the next morning. Not that I cared about the breakfast. It was just the lack of service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    152
    87
    26
    12
See reviews for
73
70
42
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This seems to be an older Holiday Inn property that has had some updating. It is located near the airport, but not particularly convenient to the Metro or much of anything (there is a McDonalds next door and a few restaurants about a block or 2 down). My room was updated, but still basically a Holiday Inn--nothing fancy, but decent enough. Internet is free, and my room was quiet (north facing, away from the flight paths). The airport shuttle is reliable, every 15 minutes, and they also will take you to the Metro. Staff are friendly and accomodating. Overall, not the best place to stay in DC, but solid, and I would recommend for a night or if you get a good rate.

Room Tip: I think north facing (odd numbered) rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was close the the airport and they had reasonably priced airport parking through Global Airport Parking (globalairportparking.com) and because we could use our Priority Club points. The rooms were large and good. The desk arranged for our shuttle to the airport even though it was a half hour earlier than the time the shuttle was advertised to begin running.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
685 helpful votes 685 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I have stayed here at least 10 times now on business. I like this hotel. It is a good value with a convenient location. There is free shuttle bus service between the DCA Reagan airport and Crystal City metro. I usually walk from the hotel to the Crystal City Metro especially if the weather is nice. Other than that there are other alternative hotels which are more convenient than this hotel. It is about 15 minute walk from the hotel to the Crystal city metro. Rooms are clean and comfortable. As a gold member I always enjoy complimentary breakfast at their restaurant, which is a value of about $12.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Location and value reasons I chose Holiday Inn/Crystal City I stayed four nights. King size bed with small pillows a negative. I always pull linen back to check mattresses uncomfortable with basketball size dark stain on the mattress right side of headboard, asked desk clerk about it was told someone will contact me never got a reply. So exhausted I slept in chair first night next day purchased extra padding to cover mattress didn't make a fuss about it I was there to have a great time and I did. Restaurant closed at 11pm seemed a bit too early for me. Other than that staff was pleasant, parking convenient and community quiet.

Room Tip: choose room closest to elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hello cdedorce,
Thanks for staying with the Holiday Inn National! We brought your review to the attention of guest services and management to further inspect. Despite this, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Washington, D.C. and found our staff and location convenient to your needs!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Holiday Inn was very clean, quiet and well priced. The restaurants downstairs were fine and open nice and late. Breakfast in the morning was great, delicious omlettes! My only problem was the pillows... For some reason, they decided it was stylish to have a king bed with 4 half sized pillows. It looks cool, but I am a fan of the full pillow. The parking garage felt safe and it was very conveniently located. Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott and listened to their incredibly loud elevators for a few hours before discovering iphone sound machine app. The elevators were louder than the planes at the neighboring airport!

Room Tip: High floor away from elevators and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Hello sun_vs_snow2011,
We are pleased to hear that Holiday Inn National is “Much better than the Courtyard by Marriott”! Our hospitality and restaurant teams work very hard in making each guest feel welcomed and satisfied with their stay. We will be sure to extend kudos to our Chef! Hope to see you again!
Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very clean, nice and newly renovated. The neighborhood is among a whole bunch of other airport hotels. It is a short 5 minute (at most) shuttle ride to Reagan, but I did not hear any airplanes (which I thought was amazing). Room was clean, had a fridge. The bathroom was on the small side. Sheets were soft, bed firm, and there were pillow choices of soft and firm. Single cup coffee maker available and free water bottle was a nice touch. The TV was a new LCD, but some of the channels were fuzzy.

The parking structure was a bit hard to find initially and a bit tight.

Check in was the fastest I have EVER received. One guy was checking in on the computer, another was doing keys, and then the first guy had me sign in. A quick oiled machine, kudos, guys.

Very close to DC as well. Nice hotel. Restaurant is more like a 50s diner and is a short walk away. Had the breakfast buffet and it was good with fruit, eggs, french toast, cereal, bacon, breakfast potatoes and sliced melons/pineapple/grapes. A bit pricey at $12.99. I would have liked some nice oatmeal.

Was OK overall, standard hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Hello SunnyDTraveler,
You’re list of our breakfast buffet made us hungry! We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our hotel; from room amenities to our National Diner and close proximity to Reagan airport. Our team works very hard on accommodating each guest, making them feel at home while away from home. Thus, we’ll be sure to give kudos to our guest service team!
Hope to see you back soon!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
#32 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.