We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good DCA Reagan Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
596 helpful votes 596 helpful votes
“Good DCA Reagan Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I have stayed here at least 10 times now on business. I like this hotel. It is a good value with a convenient location. There is free shuttle bus service between the DCA Reagan airport and Crystal City metro. I usually walk from the hotel to the Crystal City Metro especially if the weather is nice. Other than that there are other alternative hotels which are more convenient than this hotel. It is about 15 minute walk from the hotel to the Crystal city metro. Rooms are clean and comfortable. As a gold member I always enjoy complimentary breakfast at their restaurant, which is a value of about $12.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    121
    70
    22
    11
See reviews for
56
57
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Location and value reasons I chose Holiday Inn/Crystal City I stayed four nights. King size bed with small pillows a negative. I always pull linen back to check mattresses uncomfortable with basketball size dark stain on the mattress right side of headboard, asked desk clerk about it was told someone will contact me never got a reply. So exhausted I slept in chair first night next day purchased extra padding to cover mattress didn't make a fuss about it I was there to have a great time and I did. Restaurant closed at 11pm seemed a bit too early for me. Other than that staff was pleasant, parking convenient and community quiet.

Room Tip: choose room closest to elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hello cdedorce,
Thanks for staying with the Holiday Inn National! We brought your review to the attention of guest services and management to further inspect. Despite this, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Washington, D.C. and found our staff and location convenient to your needs!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Holiday Inn was very clean, quiet and well priced. The restaurants downstairs were fine and open nice and late. Breakfast in the morning was great, delicious omlettes! My only problem was the pillows... For some reason, they decided it was stylish to have a king bed with 4 half sized pillows. It looks cool, but I am a fan of the full pillow. The parking garage felt safe and it was very conveniently located. Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott and listened to their incredibly loud elevators for a few hours before discovering iphone sound machine app. The elevators were louder than the planes at the neighboring airport!

Room Tip: High floor away from elevators and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Hello sun_vs_snow2011,
We are pleased to hear that Holiday Inn National is “Much better than the Courtyard by Marriott”! Our hospitality and restaurant teams work very hard in making each guest feel welcomed and satisfied with their stay. We will be sure to extend kudos to our Chef! Hope to see you again!
Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very clean, nice and newly renovated. The neighborhood is among a whole bunch of other airport hotels. It is a short 5 minute (at most) shuttle ride to Reagan, but I did not hear any airplanes (which I thought was amazing). Room was clean, had a fridge. The bathroom was on the small side. Sheets were soft, bed firm, and there were pillow choices of soft and firm. Single cup coffee maker available and free water bottle was a nice touch. The TV was a new LCD, but some of the channels were fuzzy.

The parking structure was a bit hard to find initially and a bit tight.

Check in was the fastest I have EVER received. One guy was checking in on the computer, another was doing keys, and then the first guy had me sign in. A quick oiled machine, kudos, guys.

Very close to DC as well. Nice hotel. Restaurant is more like a 50s diner and is a short walk away. Had the breakfast buffet and it was good with fruit, eggs, french toast, cereal, bacon, breakfast potatoes and sliced melons/pineapple/grapes. A bit pricey at $12.99. I would have liked some nice oatmeal.

Was OK overall, standard hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Hello SunnyDTraveler,
You’re list of our breakfast buffet made us hungry! We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our hotel; from room amenities to our National Diner and close proximity to Reagan airport. Our team works very hard on accommodating each guest, making them feel at home while away from home. Thus, we’ll be sure to give kudos to our guest service team!
Hope to see you back soon!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here one night. Booked on-line after reading reviews. Really, really nice hotel. Very clean. Breakfast was included for price and you could choose off the menu. Free shuttle to and from airport. Very convenient.

Room Tip: my room was on the 7th floor-non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Hello Pixy61,
We’re happy to hear that you like our hotel, Holiday Inn National. Next time you’re in town stay with us longer! We look forward to serving you again.

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hotwire came through on this one. For our quick weekend getaway to DC we stayed at the Holiday Inn in crystal city for 3 nights. The hotel was a true 3 star, in my humble opinion. Parking was easy in the hotel garage for an extra $16/day, however, I could have easily parked on the street because the area is residential around it. Scope it out for yourself.
The room itself was nicely appointed with a king sized bed, 32" flat screen TV, comfy chair and decent bathroom.
The FREE WIFI was greatly appreciated and they also had a wired Internet hookup as well on the desk.
The hotel itself has a diner for breakfast lunch and dinner and a sports bar open in the afternoon until...for drinks and a quick bite. There is a McDonald's next door and restaurants about a 10 minute walk or 5 minutes drive away.
The staff was really courteous and attentive when I needed something.
The location itself is good if you are visiting any attractions in DC. We got to the museums on Independence within about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Hi travelinsam78,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review about our property, Holiday Inn National, on TripAdvisor. Hope you enjoyed DC during your weekend getaway and all that is has to offer. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the conveniences of our hotel; from room to guest services, proximity to all the major attractions and restaurants.
We hope that next time you’re visiting Crystal City/ Washington, D.C. you choose to stay with us!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Its difficult to find high quality for a good price in Crystal City, or DC in general for that matter. This is a great location and probably one of the most reasonably priced in the area. The only drawback is that its not anywhere near a Metro stop, something I really like when I am in the DC area. However, they offer a shuttle that takes you to and from the Reagan airport where you can catch the Metro. The hotel is nice and if you are a Priority Club member they may waive the parking fee. I have stayed three times and two of the three times the parking fee was waved at check-in because of my priority club status.

The rooms are very clean. This, I think is an older property, and yet even the bathrooms are top-notch. Its not a 5 star hotel by any means, but it certainly is high quality and for a value price. I am in DC often and always consider this as an option when I visit on business.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Hello TLM2005,
We are pleased to hear that you found our property, Holiday Inn National, of great quality and convenience to your needs. We hope that during your next stay you can experience the fine pub fair at O’Malley’s Pub located next door.
Our Holiday Inn National team works very hard on making each guests stay enjoyable and memorable. We hope that next time you’re in the D.C. area you choose to stay with us!

Regards,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.