We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near DCA Reagan airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Near DCA Reagan airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Typical Holiday Inn property with clean, comfortable rooms and public spaces. Very close and convenient to DCA with regular shuttle service to the airport. The neighborhood, on the other hand, leaves a lot to be desired and I did not feel safe outside the property at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Hello erikallie,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about Holiday Inn National! We appreciate your feedback and hope that our guests take the time to research the Crystal City area to know that many great shops and restaurants surround our hotel. In the summer time outdoor movie screenings, festivals, and food tastings are held in Crystal city too! There’s never a dull moment in Crystal City! We hope that we have the pleasure of serving you again!
Kindly,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    147
    83
    26
    11
See reviews for
72
67
42
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
849 reviews 849 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 292 cities Reviews in 292 cities
1,288 helpful votes 1,288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Holiday Inn is very convenient to the airport, DC and within easy walking to many fine restaurants. It is the lowest cost hotel of any reasonable quality in an area where room prices are plain crazy. While not luxurious, I found the hotel to be quite reasonable and the staff very helpful in finding good restaurants, directions around the area and getting me to the airport even hours after I checked out. I feel the hotel is the best value in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Hello Steve1362,
Thank you for staying with us, Holiday Inn National! We are pleased to hear that you found our services helpful! Our team works very hard in providing our guests with exceptional care and helping, even first time visitors to the Washington, D.C. area, our guests get around.
We hope that next time you’re in the area we; you choose to stay with us!
Kindly,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Booked direct through Holiday Inn website as I have done numerous times in various cities. Room rate included breakfast for 2. Found the hotel to be tired and in need of refurbishment. Very basic and way out of date. Arrived very late after many hours in the air so ate in a very unappealing bar, maybe an outdated Irish theme pub. This hotel does not offer full breakfast for 2 persons as per the Holiday Inn site. What they offer is a voucher in the attached diner and this voucher value does not cover full breakfast for 2 persons, you need to pay the difference. After 2 discussions with the front desk personal, wasting my time and theirs, they agreed to drop the extra charge, although they treated me in a condescending manner I was not interested in a drawn out argument. I have reported this direct to Holiday Inn to ensure their website is in line with this hotels policy. After 25 hours of travel, arriving at this hotel was like stepping back in time. There are other major chains in this location, try them, they could not be any worse than Holiday Inn Crystal City

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear allanmc,
Thank you for addressing your encounter on TripAdvisor, as we use it as a tool in improving our services. We are extremely apologetic in the miscommunication you received and have addressed it with our front desk services. Despite your experience, we hope that you give us another opportunity in serving you again.
Kindly,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed for one night. I chose the hotel based on the reasonable price for the room, parking(DC hotels charge $40+) and proximity to the Metro.The hotel was only 5min ride from Reagan airport. The room (2 double beds) was very spacious for 2 adults 2 kids, and very clean. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows.The staff was pleasant and helpful. We ate at O'Malley's since the diner was closed. The Chili was a delicious large portion served in a bread bowl for $7! The sandwich platters were also suprisingly large portions for the price. We left our rental at the hotel and the hotel shuttle dropped us at the Metro and picked us up even though we had checked out. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Hello Persephone B,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National on Tripadvisor! Our team works very hard on providing the best service to our guests making them feel at home and making travels hassle free with our complimentary shuttle. Our onsite restaurant, O’Malley’s Pub, is very family and pocket friendly. Making fresh made to order fine fair that’s enjoyable by the entire family!
We hope that we have the pleasure of serving you again!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Overall Impression: Great place to stay awaiting a flight or sightseeing in DC.

PROs:
-Airport shuttle available. Also takes you to METRO station stop.
-Convenient location to Regan National (5 minutes away).
-No noise from the airplanes
-Breakfast Buffet was very good and affordable.
-Free refrigerator in room
-McDonalds next door
-Great food (B, L & D)

CONs:
- $16 Self parking
-King size rooms are small. Ask for a double.
-Beware. All rooms do not have a refrigerator.
-Need a taxi or rental car, or METRO if staying here. Nothing really within walking distance.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Hello USMC_Retired,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn National Airport! We are pleased to hear that you found our property amenities and location convenient to your traveling needs! We hope that during your stay you had the time to explore all the history of the Nation’s Capitol.
We hope that next time you are in the Washington, D.C. and Arlington, VA area you choose to stay with us, Holiday Inn National!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingville, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Very good value compared with other high priced hotels in the crystal city area. While it may be as nice and fancy as most other hotels in the area, it provided clean and comfortable rooms with an accomadating staff. Close to the airport but a little distant from the metro and "main" part of Crystal City. The hotel did offer a shuttle if you did not want to walk to area attractions. The resteraunt was very good, while not fancy did offer good food at good prices and is very convenient. Restaruant staff was also very accommodating.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Hello Hellfighter,

Thank you for staying with Holiday Inn National Airport! Our staff works very hard on making each guest feel at home and accommodate in the best way possible. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our amenities as the shuttle and on sight restaurant that serves fresh made to order fair.

We hope that next time you’re in the Crystal City area, you choose to stay with us!
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The rooms are clean. Plenty of room in the king bed room. The could use a update but seemed to be maintained well. Location is very good. I would not eat in the attached diner bu there are a lot of places to walk to. The only thing I did not like was the 30 min wait fo the shuttle to pick up at the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Hello Hart1092,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Holiday Inn National on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works very hard on keeping Holiday Inn National Airport guest friendly and making you feel at home while away from home. We hope that you took advantage of our location and had an opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capitol.

Hope to see you soon!
Holiday Inn National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
#32 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.