We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed mid Oct for 2 nights. Staff were very friendly and helpful to first time visitors like us. Restaurants, (American Diner and O Malley's) inside is very convenient for bfast and Mc Donalds next door. Kids eat free from kids menu, not bad for kids like ours wholike pancakes and oatmeal for bfast. . Shuttle service to Metro is superb with drivers very accomodating. We love the free wireless connection. Beds were very comfy and room clean. Oh that wonderful feeling of returning to a tidy and neatly tucked in bed after a long day! I just believe that housekeeper plays a major role in the overall appeal of an hotel. The location was near to groceries and restaurants. We stayed to 3 hotels on this trip and the family agreed Holiday inn was #1(FYI other hotels we stayed in was Sheraton and Hyatt-all in Crystal City)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Hello freewifi:

We are very pleased to hear that we are #1 in your hotel book of the Crystal City, VA area! The Holiday Inn National team works very hard to make traveling a breeze for our guests- from having two on site restaurants serving fresh, made to order fair and a area shuttle that makes getting around easy! Our location, indeed, is convenient to many local shops and restaurant but also near historical monuments and museums, as well as 1 mile from the Nation’s Capitol.

We hope that next time you come back to the Crystal City area, you choose to stay with us, Holiday Inn National!

Looking forward to serving you again,
Holiday Inn National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    148
    85
    26
    11
See reviews for
73
67
42
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent two nights here at the end of May 2011 so we could be close to Arlington National Cemetery. The shuttle arrived promptly from the airport and we were welcomed warmly when we got to the lobby. We were miserable, as it was very hot and humid in the area and we were in town for my parents' funeral, not the happiest of campers. The staff at the Holiday Inn was pleasant. Everything worked. The room had the things it was supposed to have, and they worked. The whole experience was exactly what I expected from a Holiday Inn.

I also found the on-site eateries were better than expected, although my wife was not as impressed. Simple fact -- I like burgers and she doesn't. The bar/restaurant had a special on burgers, I forgot what it was the price was certainly a bargain -- and I was quite pleased. I also enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear rapperSanFrancisco:

We are pleased to hear that Holiday Inn National was able to alleviate your travel concerns during your time of loss. Our team prides themselves on making guests feel at home while away from home.
The onsite restaurants; National Diner and O’Malley’s Pub are a great addition to the Holiday Inn as the fair is always fresh and made to order!

We hope that next time you’re in the area to choose to stay with us!
Holiday Inn National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed there over the weekends. Got a good price. $200.00 a night room for $89.00 a night.
Staff very helpful. Restaurant in walking distance.
Parking in the deck.
Don't eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Hi there, ncmotorman:

Thanks for staying at the Holiday Inn National Airport hotel! We pleased to hear that you were able to get the lowest price guaranteed for a weekend stay! Our team takes their job very seriously on being accommodating to our guests needs and requests. We are disappointed to hear that one of our restaurants was not to your satisfaction, please let us know how we can better improve!
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Holiday Inn National Airport hotel!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Wifi is decent speed for a hotel. Gym is very small with only two treadmills and no other cardio machines. Includes free breakfast which is nice to have option between buffet and menu items.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I had a hard time rating this hotel...it IS better than average (ok), but not VERY good...it's just good. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable with all basic amenities....coffee maker, shampoo, conditioner. Bathroom doesn't have a lot of counter space but plenty of soft towels. A/C worked well and ran quietly. Check in was quick, personnel very welcoming and professional. We were only there for an early morning flight and the Holiday Inn is maybe 5 minutes away so it is very convenient for that.

BUT, there's no wireless in the rooms...they provide ethernet and it's free but you have to turn the computer on and off to connect...it took us 3 times to get on the internet. In this day and age, I just feel any basic hotel should have wireless.

Another thing I didn't like was that when looking at prices for hotels, this Holiday Inn appears to be a bargain but it doesn't tell you that it is $16 to park there for the night, so that bumps up the price to comparable hotels. And the parking is not ample. When we got there, there were no spaces left...we squished into an area that was for pedestrians and hoped we wouldn't get towed.

Also they only offer double beds, no queens so if you have more than 2 people, it's going to be pretty cozy.

General advice for the area.....bring a map if you are driving to the airport. We just happened to see a sign to the airport when driving to the Holiday Inn. You can only exit right from the Holiday Inn and from there there is no signs. (You have to do a U-turn at the light, then take a left at, I believe, the second traffic light.) From there, you're pretty much already at the airport. Also we had started looking for gas stations when we were approaching the DC area and seriously couldn't find one! The ONLY one was a block away from the Holiday Inn...so that was convenient.

Since our only purpose for choosing this hotel was for airport convenience, I really couldn't comment if this would be a good hotel for visiting the area. I'm not sure what all is around it except the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hello wizofwoz,

Thank you for staying with us, Holiday Inn National, and taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel convenient to your travel needs and we hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next Washington, D.C. visit.
We apologize that there was a miscommunication during your stay but allow us to clarify so your next stay can exceed expectations. Holiday Inn National provides, both, Ethernet and wireless internet to all our guests at no charge. A code is required in order to be able to access the internet which can be obtained at guest services.
We have a total of 285 guestrooms which 83 of them are Queen/King rooms. Due to high traffic such rooms were already occupied. The hotel has an attached garage as well, consisting of 365 parking spaces throughout 4 floors.
Guest services works hard on pleasing all of our guests, next time please let us know how we can accommodate your stay! Looking forward to serving you and your family again!

Kind Regards,
Holiday Inn National team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. When I needed help, they were very quick to respond. Each time I came down on the elevator they greeted me.

I had a king bed room on the fourth floor. It was good size and very clean. The bathroom was also spacious and clean. In general, the room was in very good condition. There were no signs of disrepair.

Finally, while I enjoyed visiting the pub and the convenience of the location, the cost for a beer and a plate of chips & salsa was $15! It was a bit high, even for the area. If you are looking to hang out, walk a couple blocks to a local pub.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear TravelinKiki,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn National Airport! Guest services takes pride in making our guests feel at home and works hard to accommodate any need. Holiday Inn National Airport has two great convenient restaurants, O’Malley’s Pub and National Diner where the fine fair is guaranteed to please. Also, as you mentioned there are local bars nearby but we hope that you had the time to sightsee the historical monuments and museums too!
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National Airport hotel on TripAdvisor as we know your time is valuable and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn National Airport Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We selected this hotel for its location near the airport and to downtown DC, and it fulfilled every expectation in that regard. The hotel is practically within walking distance of Reagan International, and it's a $10 cab ride to the National Mall. The hotel itself is well-maintained and clean, and the adjoining 50's style diner is decent enough for breakfast or a quick lunch.

My only complaints are that the adjoining Irish pub is only open from 4-11pm (which makes me wonder why they bother opening at all), and I found the customer service a bit lacking. On a Friday and Saturday night, it seemed as though only one person was working in the lobby at any given time.

I requested a rollaway cot for our room when we checked in at 1:00pm. When I returned to the room at 11:00pm, the cot still hadn't arrived, so I called the front desk, and was told one would be on the way. We waited...and waited...and waited. After about 20 minutes, I went down to the lobby to investigate, and it seemed as though the person at the desk was surprised that such a request had been made. I went back to the room and waited again...and waited...and waited. After a second trip to the lobby, and another 20 minutes of waiting, the cot finally arrived in our room.

No compensation was offered for this inconvenience, and the front desk was not only unapologetic, but didn't seem to be in much of a hurry to accommodate my request even after my second visit. This may be an isolated incident for all I know, but it left a bad taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: Book directly (not through a third-party discount travel site), or you probably won't get the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Hello GlanderFam,

First and foremost, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Please know we pride ourselves on great customer service and making our guest feel at home. Rest assured that this issue will be addressed with our guest services to avoid future incidents.
Holiday Inn National offers two dining options; The National Diner and O’Malley’s Pub. The National Diner is open for breakfast and lunch serving fresh dishes made to order and O’Malley’s Pub is open daily for dinner, 4 p.m. to midnight, serving up pub dishes and sports programming.
Due to our convenient location to all the Nation’s Capitol attractions we hope that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to the metro and now offered to the Pentagon for your sightseeing needs.
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National Airport on TripAdvisor. We take these reviews very seriously as it is a tool in better serving our guests.
We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn National Airport Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
#32 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.