We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so / great deal on park and fly!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“So-so / great deal on park and fly!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our stay was for one night... I searched the internet and found a great deal on a 1 night stay and 2 week parking. I looked at the prices for this hotel both here on TA and on the actual Holiday Inn website... they are absolutely crazy. Way overpriced for what we got and what the hotel offered. The room was pretty small. Bed was pretty comfortable, and the little interaction we had with the staff was without issue. I am a normal Priority member and didn't need any special bells and whistles, plus, like I said, it was only for one night so that we could be super close to the airport. We were close to the elevators, but heard nothing from them or from any other rooms / guests. Located right next to a McDonald's and fairly close to a CVS (both 24 hours I believe; definitely the CVS) in case you need anything. Shuttle service was early and convenient enough for us since we had a pretty early flight. No issues with my car being parked here for a week since the garage was covered and had plenty of space. I'd stay again since it's really convenient to Reagan, but only after searching and finding myself a good deal. If you stay here, make sure you do the same!

Room Tip: Search the internet, find yourself a good deal!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear dragonOL2,

We are pleased t to hear that you were able to take advantage of our ‘Park and Fly’ package at the Holiday Inn National Airport! Our Priority Club members do earn special perks which makes it easier than ever to get what you want, when you want it. You’ll enjoy greater choices and flexibility with these benefits even if you are staying for just one night! The next time you stay with us, take the time to enjoy the fare in O’Malley’s Pub . We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about the Holiday Inn National Airport on TripAdvisor. We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    125
    71
    22
    11
See reviews for
59
58
39
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011. The hotel is older, but well maintained. Rooms were cleand and staff was very polite.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Hello Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at Holiday Inn National! We pride ourselves being your home away from home and hope that next time you are traveling through the area we can serve you again!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

As frequent travelers to DC, we decided to try this hotel. We stayed here from July 30 until August 2 and are a Priority Club Member. Upon check in, we were given the wrong room which was extremely small, however they did correct the problem when we arrived to the room and saw there was no sleeper sofa. However, having to vacate one room, to go to our new room, made us run behind and late to the baseball game. Unlike other Holiday Inn's around the city, including the ones in DC itself, parking is full price at $16, although I was told club members get a discount. Sadly, we could have stayed at Holiday Inn on Capitol Hill and parking would have been cheaper with the discount and we would have been able to stay roughly for the same price. Secondly, beware of the kids eat free, you must have tickets to get the free breakfast which can be obtained from the front desk but we did not know until they tried to charge us for a full price for the kids breakfast. The shuttle to the and from the metro was nice, and the drivers were awesome! We also received a wakeup call this morning at 6:00 a.m. although we did not request to be made to us. The room was big and we didn't hear any noise from other rooms which can be an issue at other hotels. Overall, I would rate it 2 for not having clear policies that would be automatically be honored at other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear FrequentlyTravels11,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National on TripAdvisor. We take guest feedback seriously, and use your feedback as a tool to improve our level of service. First, and foremost, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused during your stay. We pride ourselves on our guest service and are disappointed to hear that our policies were not better communicated during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our team in order to better serve all of our guests in the future. Our goal is to meet and exceed all of our guests needs, and hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molndal, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I guess that most of us have an idea of what to expect from Holiday Inn. My first was back in 1974. Always solid delivery. But this hotel stuck out in a few aspects.

The free wifi is the fastest I have encountered in any hotel. I stayed at this hotel, while attending a conference at another hotel nearby. The wifi there was like trying to breathe through a straw.

The idea of having The National Diner and O'Malleys as separate eateries is great. There seemed to be quite a bit of traffic from locals, which ensured liveliness.

The staff in the hotel and restaurant were all personal, friendly and helpful. I managed to mislay my glasses on the way from the airport. Mathias at the front desk localized them within 5 minutes of checking in. Special thanks for that!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear PaulHolm,

The Holiday Inn National team is so happy that you returned to stay with us after many years! Since your last stay, our hotel has gone through improvements and has increased amenities and service, as high speed wireless internet. We understand the necessity of this amenity to all our guests and are glad to see it was to your satisfaction.

We hope that you were able to enjoy a meal at one of our eateries. The National Diner serves up a great fresh breakfast buffet and lunch, and O’Malley’s is fantastic option for dinner and drinks.
The Holiday Inn National staff works very hard to make each guest feel at home and be as personal and helpful to make mobility easy in the Nation’s Capitol! We will be sure to extend the ‘thank you’ to Mathias.

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel, Holiday Inn National, on TripAdvisor. We take this feedback very seriously as it is used as a tool in better serving our guests.

We hope to see you again, soon!

Kindly,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
640 helpful votes 640 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have stayed here several times on business. There is free shuttle bus service between the Reagan airport and Crystal City metro, but, other than that there are other alternative hotels which are more convenient. It is about 15 minute walk to the Crystal city metro. Rooms are clean and comfortable. As a gold member I always enjoy complimentary breakfast at their restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear tonytigerjaz,

We are very excited to have you as a returning guest and a Priority Club Gold member!
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National Airport on TripAdvisor as we know your time is valuable.

We look forward to serving you again!

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

After a long day touring, getting caught in the rain and then having our flight cancelled that night, we were scrambling for a place to stay. We called them and they had the perfect room for a group of 3 at an incredible price. Since I was a Priority member they were gracious and accomodating; which we really needed at that time. Our only concern/scare was when we checked out at 4:15 AM and were told that without a parking ticket on the car it could have been towed! Since no one was at the entrance of the garage when we parked, we assumed we were OK. The room was clean, beds comfortable and was convenient to catch our early AM flight at Reagan. Trip: Don't ever rent a car in DC, especially from Hertz!

Room Tip: Be a Priority member
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear gourmet_galDallas_tx,

We work very hard in trying to accommodate all travelers and we are extremely happy that we were able to do so with your party! As you know, being a Priority member has its perks and we are excited that you partake in the program.

We apologize for the miscommunication in regards to the parking. For security measures, each guest receives a parking ticket to display on their dashboard so each guests transportation vehicle is accounted. This has been brought to the attention of guest services and we are working on better communicating parking information on Holiday Inn National Airport’s property to all future guests.

Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn National Airport on TripAdvisor. We take this feedback very seriously as it is a tool used to better our services.
We look forward to serving you again!

Kind Regards,
Holiday Inn National Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The Holiday Inn at the Ronald Reagan National Airport is, well, the Holiday Inn, just what you would expect. It has a nice lobby and a 50’s diner, and the room is modern and reasonably furnished, with couch and easy chair.
The pool was torn up, though, there was a chunk out of the bottom of the bathroom door, and the very noisy window air conditioner unit had no thermostat control. It was either on low (loud) or off. It was impossible to sleep with the AC noise, yet without it, the room quickly got too hot. This must have been because we were on the top floor, but we never experienced a room getting hot at night after being first cooled by the AC, anywhere else on our three week fly/drive of the southern states.
The price of $275 (highest by far on our whole trip) only included Priority Club gift breakfast for one person. Although the airport area is obviously an expensive strip, this price for a typical 3.5 star Holiday inn is excessive compared with the other four and five star luxury hotels we stayed at in Atlanta, Williamsburg and Annapolis, or the $186 Hampton Inn just down the street, which was better, in my opinion. (We stayed here on our return because the better-value Hampton was full.)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nipiotrowska, Manager at Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Hello Hikermeister,

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. We have addressed this issue and are working on getting it resolved but we do hope that you brought this to the attention of guest services allowing us to better accommodate you and your travelers. Our team works very hard on making your stay pleasant and comfortable, priding ourselves on making you feel at home.

Due to our location, convenience to Reagan National Airport and the Nation’s Capital, Washington, D.C. we do hope that you were able to take advantage of seeing all the attractions in the area.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on out hotel, Holiday Inn National Airport, on TripAdvisor as this is a valuable tool in improving our services. We hope that next time when in the Crystal City, VA or Washington, D.C. area you choose to stay with us! Looking forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn National Airport Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City

Address: 2650 Jefferson Davis Highway, US Route 1, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nation's Capitol and the Holiday Inn National Airport, the best hotel in Arlington Virginia! This full service Crystal City hotel is located minutes from Ronald Reagan National Airport, the Pentagon, and 23rd Street restaurant row. Take advantage of our free wireless high-speed Internet. For government, contract and military travelers, the Holiday Inn offers a unique per diem package, the best of any Arlington hotel. This includes a full hot breakfast in our restaurant and unlimited local phone calls.Our hotel is also a great business location, convenient to many Northern Virginia companies, including IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, EPA, Raytheon, USPTO and Navy Elite. We offer the amenities and meeting room services a business traveler needs for a productive visit. Our Arlington hotel offers accommodations that are great for vacations too! The monuments, museums and attractions in Washington, DC and historic Old Town Alexandria are easily accessible by Metro or car. Shop at the Pentagon City Mall and Fashion Centre Mall. Enjoy O Malley s Sports Pub and The National Diner where Kids Eat Free! We offer free high-speed Internet in our guest rooms and wireless Internet in our public areas. Our finest attribute is our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Crystal City
Holiday Inn Arlington
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn National Airport / Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.