We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Everywhere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

I travel widely and frequently and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza! The staff was attentive and friendly. The specials at the Bar are great! You can get a good meal for a good price almost every night of the week. The room service was fast and tasty as well. The location of the hotel is perfect! It is located very close to the hot spots in Arlington and Washington DC, and relatively close to Old Towne Alexandria. Its also only a block or so from the Crystal City Metro station. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Hello, InternationalOne,

Thank you so much for your informative review about the Crowne Plaza National Airport on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you were excited about your stay and shared your opinion with everyone on TripAdvisor!

Our company stands behind three steps to excellent service, our 'Big 3'. The next time you stay with us, please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. We are constantly trying to ensure that our guests receive all that they expect plus a little bit more.

Thank you, again!

Sincerely,
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    113
    64
    20
    6
See reviews for
55
47
33
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well kept up. The hotel had the consideration to include ear plugs with the room, which came in handy as the jackhammer crews outside worked day and night, making sleep difficult without being disturbed.

The internet in the rooms, which you have to pay for daily, was very slow. Barely usuable.

The bathroom was very small.

The bed was comfortable, as was the office chair for the desk.

Parking was $19 a DAY, which for guests of the hotel I thought was unreasonable.

With all the hotels in the area, you can probably do better. Look around before booking a room here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Greetings,
I would like to thank you for your review on our hotel, Crowne Plaza National Airport, on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate hearing what is on our guests' minds, as we are always trying to better our service to you, the guest. The hotel would like to take this opportunity and sincerely apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with our hotel.

We understand that a good nights rest is important to everyone and we want our guests to be as comfortable as possible. So, we offer our signature sleep amenity kits in every room, including ear plugs, lavender linen spray, curtain clips, and an eye mask. We would like to express regret for the jack hammer crews that were working on the building next door during your stay. The last day for the jack hammering right next door is November 30. We have checked into the internet use speed and can assure you that this has been addressed. Having such a wonderful location one block away from the metro and about 2 miles from downtown we offer one of the lowest parking rates in Crystal City. We strive to give you all that you expect plus a little bit more. We have developed three major steps to help guide us in getting 100% guest satisfaction, named 'The Big 3'.

Again, thank you for your reivew and in the future if you decide to stay with the Crowne Plaza National Airport again, please let us know if there is anything we can do to help make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Warm Regards,
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

On Wednesday, 10/28/09 at 9:20 p.m. I called for shuttle service from Pentagon/Crystal City Mall to return to the hotel. I was told the van driver was enroute to the airport but would arrive within 10 min. or so. At 9:40, I returned the call to the hotel inquiring about shuttle service-again being told the shuttle was enroute and should be within 10 min. At 9:55, the shuttle driver still hadn't showed up. I called the hotel operator and was placed on hold. I then called the front desk asking to speak to the manager and was told a manager was not on duty, but could she assist me. I explained the above situation and inquired what had occurred and was again placed on indefinite hold- without explanation.

The shuttle bus arrived at 10:07 and I returned back to the hotel at 10:14. Upon return to the hotel, I asked the front desk personnel who was manning the phones for the front desk and shuttle. I was given the names of Krystal and Hannah. When I again asked to speak with the manager, I was told there was not one on duty and the personnel left the lobby--went off to the side area.
10/29 I inquired what where the hours of operation for management officials and was told that someone was available until 11 p.m. I left my name and room number for management to contact me regarding the incident and no one called or attempted to contact me. I was very disappointed with the service and made it known at checkout with the manager at that time he wanted to credit me with the removal of 1 day of internet fees.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
Hello,

First off, I would like to thank you for your review on the Crowne Plaza National Airport. We take every review very seriously as we try to better our service to our guests every day.

Secondly, we would like to sincerely apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with our hotel and services. We can assure you that we have addressed this issue and we will strive to ensure that it does not happen again.

Lastly, we hope that if you are ever in the area again, you will choose to stay with us. Again, thank you for your feedback!

Sincerely,
The Crowne Plaza National Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Cosmos Bus Tour across the States. It was one of the nicest places we stayed at during our four week trip.
The hotel staff were friendly friendly and helpful. They drove us down to the local shopping area and came picked us up, all for the cost of a small tip.
The rooms were very nice and the beds so soft! Was a great sleep after a long day touring the memorials of Washington DC. The outside pool area was very nice, and open at reasonable times. We had a nice night time soak before having a drink at the bar.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Travelling with a colleague. We stayed in rooms seven floors apart. Both of us awakened in the night by skin irritation, itching, pain. Neither had any of this before trying to sleep in this hotel. Both of us independently reporting next day -- bed bug bites covering us ... face, hands, stomach. HORRIBLE. Will never stay here again.
ALSO: restaurant in the hotel is cold, dirty and the food awful. Beware: they offer a steak special with a beer INCLUDED in the set price BUTthe wait staff doesn't mention the beer but tries to charge you the same rate ... I guess they drink the beer later that you are charged for. AWFUL surly front desk staff. Will not lift a finger to help you. DO NOT GO.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Well, old furnishings, hard beds but they have a free breakfast. BTW they do not have smokings rooms so if you are smoke do not beleive their website. I have stayed in this hotel on a regular basis. It is ok for one or two nights but it is a business hotel. Don't expect to sleep past 7am as the maids will make sure you are up!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Had the poorest stay of any stay I have had at a Crowne Plaza. If driving, especially at night, beware of the narrow driveway and the inappropriately placed curbing and concrete blokc in the middle of the entrance road.

Do not expect breakfast for all in your party. Eeven if they tell you this on the phone and at check in. Desk staff was aloof - expect them to play games and make you feel like a second class citizen even if you are a Priority Platinum Club member expecting benefits. No check in benefits, no paper delivered to your room, no free breakfast even after they said you would get one.

Do not expect the staff to provide much in the way of information on attractions - especially Arlington Cemetery - I do not think they even know what it is. However, if you want to know how to get around on the subway - they can assit with that.

Expect to pay for parking $ 20 / night.

Rooms are average - small and the Suites are very small.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2009
Hello, bryanelliot –

First of all, thank you very much for your feedback in your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your visit to the hotel and for taking the time to submit a review. We take all reviews very seriously, as we look for every opportunity we can get to improve our service.

Having said that, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had at our hotel, and we regret that your stay didn’t meet all your expectations. Regarding the driveway and curbing, it was originally designed this way to best accommodate the traffic flow in and out of our hotel and the surrounding buildings. However, you’re feedback is valued and well-taken, so we will consider ways to improve in the future.

In addition, we apologize that our front desk team members were unable to accommodate any questions you may have had about our area, we will work to ensure that every team member is educated on our surrounding areas. Our company stands behind our three steps of service that we follow everyday. This is to ensure that our guests receive all that they expect plus a little bit more, this is known as the ‘Big 3’. These three steps guide us in ensuring that every guest’s expectations are exceeded.

And lastly, the next time you stay with us, please don’t hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Again, thank you very much for your posting; we will most certainly use this feedback to improve our service, and hopefully we will have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

Thank you very much,
Crowne Plaza National Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Address: 1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#21 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.