We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I never like to rent a car in big cities, and this location worked out great for our family visit to DC. The airport shuttle picked us up at DCA in a timely manner, very short distance from the airport. The Metro station is close, and you can be on the mall in less than 30 min. from leaving your room. There are too many restaurants close by to mention, we enjoyed Good Stuff Eatery. The area around the hotel is also nice to walk/run in the evening after returning from DC. There's nothing special about the hotel, but there were no problems with our stay, and it served our purpose well. Bottom line, I will use this location again when visiting DC in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    118
    65
    20
    6
See reviews for
56
47
33
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here with my partner and son for five days in early July, 2014. I picked the hotel based on its proximity to the National Airport and Crystal City Metro station, which allowed us to roam the city easily. The hotel is a short Metro ride (15-20 minutes) to the Mall and DC's favourite tourist attractions, and even closer to the Pentagon and Arlington Cemetery. The station is only a five-minute walk from the hotel, much of it underground through a below-level shopping mall accessible from the street if you chose to take that option. The room itself was of a good size, with two comfortable queen-sized beds. It did not have a room safe, which I found odd. The hotel was clean and quiet, catering mostly to business travellers and families. It has a very nice breakfast buffet of good quality, if unimaginative - the usual scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, french toast, fruit, etc., but done well The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel has a restaurant attached - the Potomac Grill - which we stayed away from as it was almost always empty. We took that as a sign. Overall, however, we paid mainly for the room and the location, and were not disappointed. We got good value for our money.

Green Features: Option to keep towels, recycles; proximity to Metro line allows for "green" travel.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is located in a great location, less then 2 miles from the airport and a short walk to the Crystal City Metro Station. The hotel staff was very nice and eager to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was very clean with plenty of space, although the bathroom was very, very small with very little room to move around. The hotel had plenty of parking at $20 per day so be sure to include that in your budgeting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My family and I stayed at this property on June 27th for one night to visit Washington DC while on a road trip to Florida. The rooms were a bit small for a family of four but we managed. The hotel is conveniently located close to a Metro for easy access to the city. One small “problem” was when we checked-in… The lady gave us the key to our room but didn’t give us the right room number and when she gave us indication to the Metro Station, she messed up so we ended up turning in circle until we realized where it was… It not the hotel’s fault but still, a bit irritating…
The grounds are nice and there’s a Starbucks located inside the hotel… So so so convenient for me ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear danyka006:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay at our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the easy access to the Metro, as well as our recently-renovated grounds and on-site Starbucks.

However, we are sorry to hear you received the wrong room number and directions to the Metro initially. We hold our staff to a high standard of service, and anything less is unacceptable. I will pass on your concerns to our front office management so such issues can be avoided in the future.

We do hope you will keep us in mind should your travels return you to the area. If you would like any assistance making a reservation in the future, please feel free to contact me at (703) 310-8979 or libby.vertz@bfsaul.com.

Sincerely,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The rooms are are more geared toward single travelers as everything is small. I would say even small on service, but there were a few people who went above and beyond on service such as Yodit, our waitress, at the Verandah (hotel restaurant) where we had breakfast.... which is not included in overnight hotel price. You even pay to park here - $21 a night and this is not disclosed when you book a room. Word of caution in booking with this place, make sure you get what you booked. I reserved a two double bed room and they put us in a room with a double bed and a sofa. They then tried to say that this was the same thing that I booked because the sofa coverts to a double bed. In my world bed does not equal sofa. After having to stand up to management we were moved to the room that was confirmed on my confirmation saying two beds. While they fixed the problem they were not happy about doing it; in fact the manager had an attitude. We did eat in the restaurant and the service there made up for the lack of service with the manager. Overall this place is fine for an overnight stay, but it does not have the appeal for a place to stay for any length of time. We picked this one because it is near the airport, still 2 miles away. There are closer ones with more amenities available that may even be included in the price. I would encourage you to do more research than we did when we picked this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Marlo A:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. While we are glad to hear you enjoyed the outstanding service of a few of our hotel staff members, we regret you did not receive top notch service throughout the entire hotel.

In particular, I will pass on your concerns regarding your reservation for two double beds to our front office management. We hold our staff members to a very high standard of service; and anything less than that is not acceptable. We will look into the matter, so such a situation will be avoided in the future.

We do hope you reconsider our hotel, should your travels return you to the Washington, DC area. If you would like any assistance setting up a reservation, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here from July 6th-10th. Our room had two full beds and was located on the 7th floor. We were on vacation to see Washington D.C/surrounding areas.

Facility: The building itself does not look like much but the lobby and general areas are nice and clean. There is a small pool w/lifeguard and a small workout room. If you forget something, they have a small store with personal items and snacks/drinks for sell.

Dining: We went to the Potomac Grill/Bar located in the hotel our first night and it was a mistake. They are very high priced for mediocre food and not many options (I had the club sandwich w/fries). However, they do have a full bar so it is nice to go have a drink. We ate at the café for breakfast that is located next to Starbucks most days. They don't have many options on the buffet ($13/person) but it was most convenient for us. There is a dunkin donuts on the way to the metro station that we went to a couple days. I would recommend finding dinner options in D.C., crystal city mall or cheaper places at the pentagon city mall if you have a choice.

Room: Clean but could use some carpet updates. Beds were moderately comfy. Bathroom was small but functional. Room included a mini fridge, coffee maker, iron/iron board, charging station for phone/iPod, phone, flat screen television, and blow dryer. Only major complaint was that our television only worked sometimes and not all the channels would come in.

Location: Very close to crystal city metro station (walking distance). There are many shops and food places in the crystal city shops (underground). However, many of the shops don't stay open too late.

Staff: I have seen complaints on here about the staff but I found every encounter I had with the staff to be pleasant and nothing but helpful. Not all of them knock you over with kindness but none of them were rude.

Parking: Cost $21/night to park in their parking garage. Not my favorite thing to spend $21 on but we didn't really have any other choice. You might be able to explore other options. However, in the city it is expected to pay they much for parking so no major complaint from us.

Overall, this was a nice place at a convenient location. We primarily used this as a place to sleep at night and it met our needs. The hotel itself is used by many business people and that's the vibe I got.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here to make sure I was conveniently placed to a mtro station on 4th July. I arrived early, and by chance my room was ready so managed to check in (This was amazingly wonderful) Caught the free shuttle bus to the metro, but didnt realise that this was about 200 yards away and i could have walked in about 3 minutes. Great shopping mall right next door. Room was on 5th floor, and quite small - but everything i needed. Reception staff were SUPERB - I was unfamiliar with the area so they helped me find just the spot i wanted to watch the fireworks (down at LongBridge Park 1 mile away tops) Both Check in and check out were really quick trouble free experiences. Parking great - under the hotel and cheap by DC standards ($21) with lifts to all floors. I liked this place, very much. Massive bed with the softest sheets you could imagine - top stars for my sleep quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Address: 1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#21 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#21 Family Hotel in Arlington
#22 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.