We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Hotel is a nice mid-tier hotel in Crystal City. The hotel is located on the quiet end of Crystal Dirve, but within walking distance to the Metro and several awesome restaurants. This area of Crystal City has high rise apartments, business offices, shopping and lots of restaurants. It is bustling during the day. Restaurants are busy at night, but you have the feeling of being in a modern village.

The hotel has all of the amenities you need for business, family or couples travel. With two restaurants/bar, fitness center, pool and a business center this is great hotel for a conference (the reason for my visit).

The rooms were a few steps up from the Holiday Inn, but didn't reach the level of the companies luxury flagship Intercontinental Hotels. The beds were very comfortable and each room was well appointed with the usual tv, iron, hair dryer, etc... Crystal City is less than a mile from Regan National Airport (the hotel has a shuttle for convenience); this hotel is near the flight paths of the runways, but I never heard any of the noise that goes along with that!

This was my second conference in this hotel in two years. The food both times was excellent, the staff more than accommodating. The large and small conference rooms are well appointed with comfortable chairs and nice tables. As part of both planning teams, I would recommend the Crown Plaza again for large and small groups.

Green Features: I didn't notice an effort to recycle or conserve.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    109
    60
    20
    5
See reviews for
55
42
31
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

There were a couple REALLY great things about this hotel. First, there's a Starbucks in the hotel. Second, the staff is very accommodating - especially with the shuttle service. I was traveling with a coworker who had to go buy a new suit and they shuttled him to a nearby mall. They also picked him up and brought him back to the hotel after he was done shopping. We had to go to an awards ceremony at a nearby hotel and they shuttled us over to the hotel with no problem whatsoever. The rooms were fine - no complaints really. Because of their flexibility I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had just settled into our well-appointed room when I turned back the bed covers and discovered blood on the sheets--just a drop, but it wasn't mine. The management immediately sent housekeeping with new sheets, which we put on for ourselves because we were already prepared for sleeping. Management called soon after, insisting that we move to an upgraded suite. That was considerate, but we did have to pack up and move to another floor. The suite was poorly arranged with a lot of wasted space and a very small counter in the bathroom--inconvenient for make-up and hair styling for my partner. The management again checked on us during our stay and check-out and were very considerate. We would probably stay here again because of their efforts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Drmrru12:

We are so sorry to hear about the housekeeping mishap you experienced while staying with us. Our staff works hard to provide guests with an enjoyable, clean, and comfortable experience; we regret that your stay was anything less. Thank you for leaving your feedback so we can avoid such an issue in the future.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the layout of our junior suite bedroom. I will pass your concerns onto our management so they are aware of the issues you faced while staying with us.

We are glad to hear you would give our hotel a second chance. We would truly appreciate the chance to impress you with not just our service, but our guestrooms and amenities as well. If you would like any assistance setting up a future reservation, please feel free to contact me. I can be reached at (703) 416-1600 or libby.vertz@bfsaulco.com.

Sincerely,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating.
Nothing we asked for was too much trouble.
Potomac Pub had great food and staff. Thank youi Lolita and Abdel.
Lots of restaurants close by and conveniently located to the metro which made it easy to get around.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jackie W:

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time at the Crowne Plaza National Airport. We hold our team members to a high standard of service; and it is wonderful to hear you appreciated their efforts.

I will pass on your compliments to Lolita and Abdel in our restaurant specifically as well. They will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with them.

We look forward to your next visit to the Crowne Plaza National Airport. Should you like any assistance setting up a future reservation feel free to let me know. I can be reached at (703) 416-1600 or libby.vertz@bfsaulco.com.

Sincerely,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Was in dc area for business and wanted to stay near airport and this place had a good deal going. Happy I booked, pretty cheap for location with all the usual business class services expected. Good wifi, comfortable beds, super clean. Lots of nice places to eat nearby and good jogging at the long bridge park. Bells and whistles not here wish they had microwave in room. Coffee in room could be better, i think they must have a deal with the starbucks on site. In all very satisfied with my experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very nice and such a friendly staff they will do anything for you with a smile. Rooms very clean. Pillows are wonderful. The bar has a very good happy hour prices very good. Stephan and monica are the best. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Even though I live in the same metro area, I stayed here one Sunday night due to a way-early Monday morning meeting nearby.

Pro: I'm a fan of the Crowne Plaza brand, and this property met my expectations for quality and price. Access to the garage was a little awkward but well marked. IHG has the best in-house coffee! My standard king room was decently sized, with a hidden fridge (behind a fake drawer front, below the TV), a good-sized work desk with a large roll-out workspace tucked underneath, and a comfy armchair with ottoman and side table. Plenty of power outlets that are easy to reach. The in-room coffee maker had 4 coffee packs, 2 teas, 2 hot cocoa packets, and 4 creamers (real half & half as well as the fake stuff). There's a Starbucks on the mezzanine level in case you need more coffee, and a little sundries store by the front desk if you need snacks or Advil. Super friendly front desk staff. In-room wifi is free and of reasonable speed. The room was spotless! Oh, and the room had the usual Crowne Plaza bed - not quite as good as Hilton's but pretty darned comfortable.

Con: Parking is $21 a day, but that's actually on the low end of what hotels near the airport charge. Only 3 elevators, so expect to wait a bit during prime time (they're reasonably fast, . A hotel at this level should have soda machines that can take credit cards. The bathroom is a little small and has no ventilation fan. The bedside table has a Sony DreamMachine but no instructions on how to use it. (I had to look up the manual online) FYI, the Starbucks has very limited hours (closes at 6pm weekdays, noon on weekends).

I'm not sure I would need to stay in the area again (unless I have another 8am meeting!), but would be happy to stay here again if I did. TripAdvisor doesn't allow half-stars or else I'd rate this place a 4.5. The overall impression I got was that of a well-managed, well-maintained property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Perrik:

Thank you for taking the time to leave such constructive feedback on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza National Airport. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff works hard to provide guests with a comfortable and enjoyable stay; and we are so pleased to hear you felt their efforts were successful.

We also want to thank you for mentioning the few areas in which we can improve. I will pass your comments on to our management team so they can make adjustments in these areas.

We do hope you will keep us in mind should you need a place to stay in our area again. We would love the chance to impress you a second time. Should you like any assistance setting up a reservation feel free to contact me. I can be reached at (703) 416-1600 or at libby.vertz@bfsaul.com.

Until next time,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Address: 1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#21 Family Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.