We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it served its purpose ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“it served its purpose ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for four nights in June - a weekend of sightseeing, and a couple of days' business in the DC area. It was ok, though there were some quirks.

I booked on Hotwire (without knowing the hotel name), about a month in advance, and got a very good price. I see other reviewers here have done the same - I wonder how many rooms the hotel is shifting that way?!

The hotel is in something of a construction zone, though it looks as if the construction nearest the hotel is nearing an end. That's good, because it did create some noise, somewhat disruptive even on the fifth floor. Approaching the hotel from DC, the roads were really rough, and it felt as if you were going off the map: the hotel itself is fairly well-placed though. It is a fairly easy walk to the Crystal City shops and Metro - though if it's raining, you either can get very wet, or go through an exceedingly long tunnel (during business hours). The place really doesn't seem to have been designed with the pedestrian in mind, at all (but may be better after the construction work is complete).

The room was fine - all that you would expect from a hotel of this standard, though there was no in-room safe, which is a shame. The main nuisance was that on running the shower, the fire alarm was triggered. Evacuating - via the stairs! - only be told in the lobby that there was no general fire alarm; it was just that room. (but no one had come to check that no one was dead from smoke inhalation). The front desk sent the maintenance guy, who said that the solution was to leave the bathroom door open when showering. He looked kind-of resigned to the problem.

The in-room wifi was free, which is excellent (and should be normal). I didn't try the hotel's catering, but the Starbucks on the mezzanine level did all the things you'd expect. There are a number of cafes in the centre opposite the hotel, and lots of cafes and restaurants near the Crystal City shops. Car parking cost $21 per day, which seemed rather steep.

The hotel's gym is a disappointment - 2 treadmills, 2 elliptical cross-trainers, and a bike machine, plus a leg extension machine, bench press, and some dumbells. The hotel web site mentions an off-site gym - but this is not included in the room rate. It is fairly nearby, but I didn't check out the casual membership rates. The hotel has a pool, but this seems like a bit of an afterthought.

Would I stay here again? It would just depend on price, I think. I've stayed elsewhere in Crystal City, and preferred that; but there's nothing particularly wrong with the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear doc_M,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Arlington.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    100
    54
    17
    5
See reviews for
53
37
28
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the shuttle pick up to the shuttle drop off, I can say there were only a couple of hitches.
We bought the package from Hotwire which included airfare and hotel for 6 days.
We traveled to Washington D.C. with my 14 year old son and met my brother and his family from Indiana. We requested 2 rooms adjoining. Libby at the front desk went out of her way to make sure this happened. It was an important part of the trip because it makes the rooms feel more spacious, a trick we learned years ago. The great part was the Starbucks on the 2nd floor. Not being big breakfast eaters, it was perfect, especially the wake up coffee. Just which that is was open longer in the evening.
The only hitch was my brother found out on the last day that they had the wrong amount of people listed in his room which caused him to call for more towels everyday. The breakfast is NOT included ind the price of all rooms, so double check what type of room package that you buy.
The flat screen is adequate, HD signal for most local channels, but SD for most of the other channels. They DID carry Foxnews, on channel 43.
The full bed was a downer when you are used to a queen bed. It was a very comfortable though.
The shops across the street at the Crystal City Shops was convenient. Especially since it was on the way to the Metro, about a block away.
Read more from me about the restaurants in the area in more reviews from me.

Overall, very nice!

Room Tip: They do have adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear RonKG:

Thank you for leaving your feedback on your stay at the Crowne Plaza National Airport. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff strives to provide guests only the best in customer service and amenities; and we are always glad to hear when a guest comes away satisfied. (And on a personal note, thank you for the mention! I was happy to help you out.)

We are also happy to hear you were able to stop by our on-site Starbucks and explore the local shops in our area. Our convenient location, just minutes from the metro, a variety of shops and restaurants, and Reagan National Airport, is one of our hotel’s greatest assets. And it always makes us happy to hear that a guest has been able to get to know Crystal City and Washington, DC while staying with us.

Still, I would like to apologize for the error in number of guests on your brother’s reservation. We always want to accommodate our guests the best we can, and I am sorry a mistake was made. I will inform our front desk staff of the issue, so such an error can be avoided in the future.

We do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future, should your travels bring you back to the Washington, DC area. If you would like any assistance in setting up a reservation, please feel free to contact me. I can be reached by phone at (703) 416-1600 or by email at libby.vertz@bfsaulco.com.
All the best,

Libby Vertz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

With the professionalism of Libby at the front desk and the friendliness of all the staff, this stay was amazing. I'm here from Cleveland for vacation and everyone is wonderful. I found out i'm a platinum member and got a free drink and breakfast which rocks!! The woman in the restaurant/bar was great! I didn't catch her name but she smiled a lot :)

I would stay here again if i'm back in DC! Thank you staff for making my stay memorable!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was visited for a Memorial Day weekend vacation. Was a little tough to find because of the area construction. Call and have them pick you up instead of taking the metro. Hotel is very close to the metro but I would suggest not doing the walk with your luggage.

Room was clean and the temperature was always comfortable. Bathroom had the previous guest's razor in the shower but otherwise no cleanliness problems.
We had an issue getting NBC to work one night (after 10 pm) and they actually sent someone up within 2 minutes to fix the problem.

On our second to last day they forgot to replace towels and glasses when they removed the dirty ones. Called when we for in at night and they sent some right up.

Service was always top notch and all problems were minor.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was there for five days, ate at the restaurant every day and had an amazing time - they sorted me a taxi, I could use the business centre and the room was clean and tidy.

I would return there is I attended the FOSE conference again though I would travel on buses and metro next time ($75 for a taxi - same price com

Thanks Mike!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for his business trip. We arrived and check in was breeze. We asked for an upgrade and they put us in a nice room on the 12th floor. We got to our and it was very clean. There was two chocolates waiting for us. I was very impressed for a hotel airport. The room has a little refrigerator with two bottled waters. The view wasn't bad either. I can't really say anything bad about the room it was very nice, clean and the pillows were very comfortable. We had a drink in the hotel bar and grill (Potomac bar and grill). I highly recommend the white chocolate martini. The service in the bar was very excellent. The food and drinks were priced very reasonable. When I got back to Arlington, Va I will definitely stay there. The Crystal shops are near by to look around, plenty of restaurants near by. The metro to DC is walking distance. All and All excellent stay. I got free airport shuttle service to the airport. The staff were all polite and nice. They offer a buffet breakfast for purchase at the mezzanine level of the hotel. I didn't get a chance to go but it looked very yummy. There is a Starbucks as well. The work out room is little but good machines. The only compliant I have is there is a lot of construction going right near the front door across from the hotel so that's the only thing that got a little loud. Our housekeeper got me a new robe when she cleaned our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendive, Montana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was my first visit to DC as an adult. I was there for a conference which was in the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted with a welcoming smile upon entering the hotel. I would have liked to have been given more information about the hotel ex;restaurant, fitness room, pool,Starbucks! However, this information is included in a notebook inside the room. I found the room with 2 double beds to be spacious and very clean. I was disappointed that although the weather was definitely "pool worthy" the pool was not "open" until Memorial Day weekend (about 5 days from my last day of stay). I did have a mishap with my door malfunctioning twice in one day. The maintainence worker was very pleasant and attempted to fix the problem by changing the batteries in the door. This appeared to solve the problem until I left the room the next time and again was unable to get in. In the end, a whole new locking mechanism was placed and I had no troubles with it afterwards. I appreciated the close (5 min walking) proximity to Crystal City and the variety of shopping and restaurants available there. The bed was outstanding in comfort and 4 pillows all to myself=heaven. The shuttle to the Reagan airport takes just minutes and is another valuable service.

Room Tip: My room was at the end of a hallway and I had no difficulty sleeping due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Address: 1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#21 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#25 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.