We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bedroom but tiniest bathroom ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice bedroom but tiniest bathroom ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday and found one of just three street parking spots. Otherwise plan on using their garage. Didn't ask the price.
My biggest complaint is the the bathroom was tiny! The sink was on the right and had just small area to put things and one skinny shelf. The commode was in the center with about a foot on either side. And then the shower was on the left. Call me a bathroom snob but I think fancier hotels should have larger bathrooms!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    106
    56
    17
    5
See reviews for
55
39
29
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

CP is a very comfortable hotel in Crystal City--actually at the far end of Crystal City. Easily accessable to the Metro and underground shopping mall. Chances are you're not going to stay at CP unless you're doing business at the Pentagon, or a government or defense contractor in the Crystal City complex. The pros are clean, friendly, location, convenience to the metro, and free WiFi. Good security--one has to put their key card into a slot in the elevator before they can go to the room floors. Starbucks on the mezzanine level. I did stay at the Marriott nearby a year ago and they had a free breakfast, which the CP did not. The fitness center is crowded.

Room Tip: Our room faced the north and there is construction in the adjacent office building but it was not no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear CHXBeachers,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and service we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Pro:
Very close to Crystal City Metro
Next to Crystal City shops
Great staff at front desk, fast check-in
Staff at breakfast in the restaurant goes out of their way to serve. Very helpful and anxious to please
Great, courteous housekeeping staff.
Timely shuttle to metro or DCA
Comfortable bed, and nice layout of rooms

Con:
Super slow internet in the evening. Other IHG hotels have upgraded to faster internet.
How do I says this.... toilet tank has been replaced with a pressurized system that doesn't work well. Defeats the purpose of using less water if you have to flush multiple times. Bleh.
As others have said, construction next door and nearby is a distraction, but not terrible.

I'll stay there again.

Room Tip: higher rooms are less prone to construction and traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close to DCA, Metro subway and the Pentagon. The rooms are spacious and it has a nice Starbucks inside as well. Being next door to a mall means you can get anything you want easily and there is a restaurant in the hotel if you don't want to go out. Common areas are fine though not as nice as other Crowne Plaza's.

But what really sets this apart is the price - without fail the best value when I compare options. I have been coming to DC over a decade and this is the hotel Is where I stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel was very nice, except the construction that is going on at the present time, it was very confusing as to how to get inside. The bed was very comfortable and I ordered room service and the food was very delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

- I stayed on-and-off over a two month period, Jan/Feb 2013; about 45 days total.
- I have traveled the U.S., Europe and Asia.
- This hotel's Staff--without exception--are proactively supportive and friendly.
- Rooms are clean and quiet with granite in bathroom, HDTVs, and very comfortable beds.
- Starbucks in building.
- Comprehensive and high quality breakfast buffet--scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, thick french toast, etc., with consistently clean plates and silverware. A great deal.
- Fitness center is sufficient but not extensive, with great cardio equipment, dumbbells and several machines. Water, clean towels provided.
- Restaurant/room service food quality is very good, with a diverse menu. I ordered room service at least five times, and the food always came within 30 minutes at the most.
- Location to Crystal City comforts and conveniences is excellent, but this can be said for many of the hotels in the area.
- Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a great value.

Room Tip: Higher floors get less outside noise; try the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Loved this hotel! Great staff who bent over backwards to accommodate my "crazy" special diet needs! Room was quiet, very comfy cozy, and CLEAN! Starbucks was actually in the hotel (a major plus in my books) and both the restaurants had delicious offerings and a wonderful staff who obviously care about customer service and the impression they leave with you. Loved the breakfast buffet. The hotel is minutes from DCA and they have a free shuttle to pickup and drop off. We were in town for business and for the Presidential Inauguration of President Obama so getting into DC was important . . . The DC Metro was less than a 10 minute walk and there is great shopping and restaurants just steps away as well. It took less than 15 mins to get to the City Center metro stop so we were able to get wherever we wanted to go in just a few mins. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear NikOfTimeTravel,

Our team members strive for excellence in performance and complete guest satisfaction. We are very happy to know that you were able to experience and enjoy our services throughout the hotel. Our staff always makes sure to pay attention to details to ensure we meet all guest expectations.

I agree with you about our location. We are just in the heart of Crystal City, Virginia and very conveniently located near the Crystal City Metro station, which gives you access to major Metro lines (Yellow and Blue). We are near shopping and lots of restaurants which you can walk to from our hotel as well.

We hope you will be back to enjoy the many upcoming events in DC such as The Cherry Blossom Festival where we celebrate the Cherry Blossoms blossoming at the end of March. We thank you for letting us know we did a great job taking care of your needs while you were our guest here at the Crowne Plaza National Airport. We look forward to your return.

Thank you,

Mario Soriano
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Address: 1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#22 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#22 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.