We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business spot in DC at the right price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great business spot in DC at the right price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close to DCA, Metro subway and the Pentagon. The rooms are spacious and it has a nice Starbucks inside as well. Being next door to a mall means you can get anything you want easily and there is a restaurant in the hotel if you don't want to go out. Common areas are fine though not as nice as other Crowne Plaza's.

But what really sets this apart is the price - without fail the best value when I compare options. I have been coming to DC over a decade and this is the hotel Is where I stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    110
    60
    20
    5
See reviews for
55
42
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel was very nice, except the construction that is going on at the present time, it was very confusing as to how to get inside. The bed was very comfortable and I ordered room service and the food was very delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

- I stayed on-and-off over a two month period, Jan/Feb 2013; about 45 days total.
- I have traveled the U.S., Europe and Asia.
- This hotel's Staff--without exception--are proactively supportive and friendly.
- Rooms are clean and quiet with granite in bathroom, HDTVs, and very comfortable beds.
- Starbucks in building.
- Comprehensive and high quality breakfast buffet--scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, thick french toast, etc., with consistently clean plates and silverware. A great deal.
- Fitness center is sufficient but not extensive, with great cardio equipment, dumbbells and several machines. Water, clean towels provided.
- Restaurant/room service food quality is very good, with a diverse menu. I ordered room service at least five times, and the food always came within 30 minutes at the most.
- Location to Crystal City comforts and conveniences is excellent, but this can be said for many of the hotels in the area.
- Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a great value.

Room Tip: Higher floors get less outside noise; try the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Loved this hotel! Great staff who bent over backwards to accommodate my "crazy" special diet needs! Room was quiet, very comfy cozy, and CLEAN! Starbucks was actually in the hotel (a major plus in my books) and both the restaurants had delicious offerings and a wonderful staff who obviously care about customer service and the impression they leave with you. Loved the breakfast buffet. The hotel is minutes from DCA and they have a free shuttle to pickup and drop off. We were in town for business and for the Presidential Inauguration of President Obama so getting into DC was important . . . The DC Metro was less than a 10 minute walk and there is great shopping and restaurants just steps away as well. It took less than 15 mins to get to the City Center metro stop so we were able to get wherever we wanted to go in just a few mins. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear NikOfTimeTravel,

Our team members strive for excellence in performance and complete guest satisfaction. We are very happy to know that you were able to experience and enjoy our services throughout the hotel. Our staff always makes sure to pay attention to details to ensure we meet all guest expectations.

I agree with you about our location. We are just in the heart of Crystal City, Virginia and very conveniently located near the Crystal City Metro station, which gives you access to major Metro lines (Yellow and Blue). We are near shopping and lots of restaurants which you can walk to from our hotel as well.

We hope you will be back to enjoy the many upcoming events in DC such as The Cherry Blossom Festival where we celebrate the Cherry Blossoms blossoming at the end of March. We thank you for letting us know we did a great job taking care of your needs while you were our guest here at the Crowne Plaza National Airport. We look forward to your return.

Thank you,

Mario Soriano
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The noise from the heater kept me awake the whole night. But can not turn off the heat since the room is so cold. The carpet is dirty. The closet door couldn't open.
The restaurant food is terrible. The water for hot tea is warm, the food is cold, table is dirty, the TV turn to highest possible, The service is slow and stone face. If the service staff was not happy, just don't work there. Anyway don't eat there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Linmom L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sincerely sorry about the issues you experienced with the noise levels and if the food served did not leave up to expectations.

Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Pro's - The hotel is close to the airport and DC.

Con's - The hotel is very dated. The rooms need a serious make over. The walls are paper thin, I could hear everything in the rooms on each side of me. Also, there is a lot of construction going on at the hotel's grounds.

There are so many better options in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear mattpheil,

Our hotel is just minutes to the airport making it very convenient to all of our guests. The Crowne Plaza is consistently getting renovated to enhance the guest experience and comfort. We currently are improving our lobby and adding a new more modern contemporary look. We will be opening a gift shop in the middle of January and we have just changed our entire linen program. Our beds now have 7 layers of linen with comfortable feather and foam pillows, aromatherapy kit which includes lavender spray, and body lotion.

We have just renovated the 7th to 12th floor with all new art and new headboards in the entire king rooms. We also added new accent walls with new headboards.

We are hoping you will have the opportunity to see the final product when finished in early January.

Mario Soriano
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Having stayed at this Crowne Plaza many times I can assure you this a great place to stay. First, the rooms are comfortable, the bed is great, the bathroom a little on the small side but everything else is adequate. The lounge is nice with plenty of seating for private conversations and large tables for group discussions. There is a Starbucks on the second level next to the small workout room. We meet as a group there each year and have always had a nice lunch served in the small conference room. The location is a+, just around the corner from Crystal City Shops. The hotel is actually in Crystal City a neighborhood of Arlington, just south of DC. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby in the Crystal City Shops, which are about a block away. The metro station is also about a block away and is an excellent way to get to the Capitol and surrounding areas. Crystal City is a clean urban area with a nice paved running path that goes by the airport and on to DC. It was fun to run along this path which goes by the river and see the planes coming in for landing. I recommend this hotel to anyone ready to explore the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNationalAirport, Manager at Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear LisaMF,

Thank you for the kind review! We at the Crowne Plaza pride ourselves on offering guests a long list of amenities, as well as an ideal location to explore the Washington, DC area. We are especially pleased when we hear a guest, such as you, has chosen to return time and time again to our hotel.

We enjoy getting to know our guests and take extra care to ensure they continue to come back. We are glad to know our staff has succeeded in making sure your many stays have been satisfactory. We would also like to thank you for your feedback. Reviews like yours make it easier for us to continue to offer superior service tailored to guests’ wants and needs.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and business. We hope to see you again soon at the Crowne Plaza National Airport!

Mario Soriano
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport

Address: 1480 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Arlington
#21 Family Hotel in Arlington
#23 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel in Arlington, Virginia is a first class, full service hotel located in the heart of Crystal City. Only moments away from the Nation s Capitol and the Pentagon, we are less than one mile from Reagan National Airport. Located within minutes of Washington, DC agencies and attractions, the Crowne Plaza has been newly upgraded offering the Sleep Advantage Program for your additional comfort. With you in mind, each guest room offers plush duvet covers with 7 pillows, upgraded linen and mattress toppers. The Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel is close to companies and agencies such as US Airways, IBM, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, National Guard , and many more. We specialize in government travelers offering per diem rates. Stay connected with our free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in our public areas and 24 Hour business center. Maintain your exercise regimen in our 24 Hour Fitness Center. The Crystal City Metro Station is one block away with Historic Old Town Alexandria only two miles. We boast five meeting rooms plus an array of business class amenities. We take pride in providing exemplary customer service and will take care of your every need. Come to the Crowne Plaza National Airport Hotel, The Place To Meet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crowne Plaza Arlington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Washington National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.