We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Great location and convenient to Metro, highway access and shopping. Staff friendly and helpful, although encountered some communication problems. Food Service was good. Room service was very good. Many fine places to eat nearby (within walking distance), from cafe's to full service "dining".

Had problems with the shower and air conditioning. Most of the water from the shower was diverted to the tub fill...water seemed to trickle out of shower head. The air conditioner was controlled by an automatic thermostat with "occupancy" sensor. Took room a long time to cool down even with the thermostat sat at the lowest temp. A/C unit was noisy. Hotel does not have wireless internet connection, but does have high speed connection, which was troublesome to navigate. Be sure to check with front desk to see how to get FREE internet connection.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    165
    55
    19
    9
See reviews for
97
38
41
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mass
Top Contributor
482 reviews 482 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
637 helpful votes 637 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I was traveling here on business but also did many recreational things with my wife and friends who tagged along. The hotel is just fine, but it is a bit overpriced for what you get. I realize it is probably the going rate in the area, but I kind of expected a little bit more from it.

Some issues include a shuttle that takes you in a mile radius is really not worthwhile, not even free coffee with the room, and $9/day to park. No real complaints that stand out, but I would have stayed elsewhere if it was on my dime.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Front desk staff was so nice and the rooms, clean and up to date. Full Cable channels as well, which is something I truly enjoy traveling all the time.

But the real deal was the beds... super soft and I slept like a baby!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We needed a reasonably priced place to stay for our recent family vacation to DC and the Holiday Inn Arlington fit the bill. The desk staff was friendly and competent and the service and food at the restaurant was tasty and a good deal (kids eat free with an adult).

Our room had two Queen sized beds and a mini refrigerator. When we checked in we noticed right away one of the two chairs was broken. I wrote a note to housekeeping and got a new chair brought in the next day.

The metro station is a very easy walk (about five minutes away).
There is a large shopping mall nearby with a food court and lots of stores. And there many nice restaurants within walking distance.

My only issue was with the swimming pool. It is tiny, outdoor and non-heated. It is staffed with a "lifeguard." But I question if she was a certified lifeguard. My two sons (6 and 8 and very good swimmers) my husband and I were the only ones swimming in the pool. My husband went back to the room and I was sitting on a chair pool side. When my husband returned to our room the lifeguard informed me that the children would now have to restrict themselves to the shallow end.
I was actively watching them (not reading a magazine or talking on the phone) and had been in the water with them. Plus they are fine swimmers. I couldn't figure out why my husband's departure triggered this warning. The same thing happened the next day. (It hadn't been an issue earlier in our stay with a different guard.) There may have been a language barrier. She sounded as if she was from Eastern Europe.
So if you are there with your young children be prepared to have limits placed on your swimming.

  • Liked — Easy access to everywhere we wanted to go.
  • Disliked — The swimming pool.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

My wife was at a conference in Ballston last month, and I came up to stay with her one night. My wife liked this place better than the Hilton, which she stayed at a few months earlier. The beds were nice and comfortable, and they gave a USA Today paper during the week. A little confusion with the hotel staff about room keys, but it all worked out in the end. It's about a 3 block walk to the Metro stop at Ballston which will get you anywhere in DC pretty quick. It's also right at the I-66 exit for Fairfax Dr, so that adds to the convenience. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

I stayed here while on a business trip recently and was very disappointed particularly since I had stayed in a HI the night before in Charlotte, NC and had a great experience.

This hotel needs a lot of work and is quite expensive, certainly not worth the rate charged. The elevators are very old and you feel like you might get stuck. The rooms are old and worn and the towels are truly threadbare. The room was not clean and the heat was intermittent. I tried to buy some candy at the candy machine on my floor and it did not work. The clerk that checked me in seemed to be drunk as she had difficulty standing up and kept holding on to the desk and slurred her words. People always tell you to complain if you are dissatisfied when you first check into a hotel but in this case the only person at the desk was incoherent.

The breakfast at the restaurant was of good quality and the service was great. The morning desk clerk was polite and called a taxi for me.

In my opinion this is the type of facility that brings down the HI brand and makes you question if you want take a chance on them again.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Service & Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

This HI is way overpriced for what you get. It was clean, and the room was spacious. The shuttle driver was great. The location was convenient for my needs. That's the good stuff. However, as a Platinum Priority Club member, I was given a room facing the intersection of the main highway (N. Fairfax) and Rt. 66 - the traffic noise was significant. One of the "perks" of this level of loyality is being given the best room available - I can't imagine this was their best. However, the traffic noise was nothing compared to the one-speed-only fan in the heating/cooling unit that ran at a clip that would blow you over, and with a comparable noise level to go along with that. After my first night, I needed to buy earplugs. The fan worked great though, to dry, in minutes, a jacket that had gotten soaked in the rain. I did discover by night 2, that even on a cold night, the room did not get uncomfortably cool when I just turned the unit off for the evening.

Even with the hotel's written committment to save water by asking guests to re-use towels and sheets (which is fine and commendable), the facuet in the bathtub was leaking - not dripping, but leaking water that filled the ice bucket in about an hour - I needed some context to explain to them how badly it was leaking! I called the front desk my first night there and asked that it be fixed the next day. It took two days and two more requests. And, they use those stupid water saver shower heads that spray water all over, forcing me to take a longer shower than normal because I never feel like I got rinsed off properly, defeating the whole purpose of water saving.
Finally, each of my three days started with a lukewarm shower. I consider myself lucky, though, as on my last day there, the front desk was deluged by other lodgers complaining of either no hot water or no water at all. Although the front desk staff apologized, it would have been a nice customer service touch to offer free drink/appetizer/cup of coffee/something coupons to those inconvenienced. Having no hot water or no water at all is actually a bit more than an inconvenience, isn't it? For $275, I'd expect water, and hot water too, wouldn't you?
The bad news for those of us on a moderate expense account is that the other 2 hotels in the immediate vicinity are even more expensive, but I'm sure the new Westin is nicer.

  • Liked — Convenient to my business meeting
  • Disliked — Infrastructure issues, loud traffic noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Address: 4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#19 Family Hotel in Arlington
#22 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.