We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tremendous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Tremendous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I was extremely impressed with this hotel. This was my 3rd major adventure this year. I've been to Santa Fe, Orlando, and just recently DC. The good people at the Holiday Inn Arlington at Ballston helped make this trip memorable.

After a long flight from Denver to Reagan National Airport, it was easy navigating the metro to the Ballston station which is about. 10 minute walk from station to hotel. It was a safe walk and there are plenty of places to eat along the way.

The people who work at the hotel are amazing. The front desk ladies and gentlemen will do anything to accommodate you. My girlfriend sliced her finger while unpacking luggage and we deserpately needed a band aide. The lady at the front desk worked hard to find a is a few band aides.

The rooms are very nice. A little dated with the design but we spent very little time in our room. House keeping did a fantastic job. I deeply appreciated their hard work and their friendliness.

All and all, I rate this hotel a 10 out of 10. I would recommend to anyone who is site seeing DC like we did over Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    155
    51
    18
    9
See reviews for
90
37
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ATLANTA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We needed a hotel close to where our children live. The Holiday Inn had the best prices with good reviews so we booked it. Very pleasant staff, nice lobby, clean spacious rooms. Did not use the restaurant, although it did look nice. Workout room is good. Pool for dipping not for swimming. would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I do not normally write reviews of hotels. However my recent stay at they Holiday Inn at Ballston was exceptional. The check-in attendant was so friendly and attentive. The level of service for the breakfast was outstanding. The room was spacious clean, and quiet. I could easily control the temperature to my needs. Great stay for a tired business traveler. Thanks to the entire staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn while on business in the area and the week started off very badly, during my stay there were some difficulties encountered at the hotel that made what was already a bad weekend even worse. I brought this attention to the hotel manager Janet Youngstrom and her staff member Felix, and within a matter of minutes everything was completely turned around.

They both made a very possible bad situation turn into a great one. I was treated very professionally, and everything was handled promptly. If you are ever looking at staying in the area I would recommend the Holiday Inn, it is not as upscale as the hotels I am accustomed to for a business, but the facilities are clean and the hotel staff are unmatched in the industry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I wanted a hotel close to Reagan airport (because taxi fares add up!) and close to the Metro. This hotel is 3 blocks from Ballston station, and that is 8 stops to the Smithsonian and the Mall.
There are a lot of restaurants and shops that you can walk to on the way to Ballston.

The hotel is outdated, including the rooms. They were repairing the elevator when we were there. The room was pretty roomy though, a king size bed with a chair and a table. The bathroom was big too. The room had a small fridge and we kept our snacks and water there. No microwave though. The room and bathroom were very clean.

There was a pool on the second floor. I went to see it and it was small but clean. I would have use it if I had more time.

There is no free breakfast. We ate there a couple of times, it was OK, but I thought it was pricey for what it was. You can either pick hot buffet, cold buffet or a la carte. The food was eggs, fruit, yogurt and pancakes.

I would stay here again, we were out all day and just needed a place to sleep.

Room Tip: Even though we stayed in a room facing the street, it was quiet. I'm not sure if that is true du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was a very clean, slightly dated hotel that was in a great location for DC sightseeing.
Bed was very comfortable, good shower, Keurig coffee maker in the room. Would definitely stay here again. Parking fee of $14 for our 24 hour stay.

Room Tip: 2nd floor had a gym and access to a pool, so too much foot traffic We stayed on the 3rd floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I travel to Arlington for business frequently and usually stay at this hotel. The staff are friendly and the rooms are always clean. On my last visit the power was out for the first night. They were kind enough to explain the problem to me and set me up in a suite at a hotel down the street. Provided transportation as well. Be sure to stop by the bar during happy hour. The bartender is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Address: 4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#24 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.