We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 47 hotels in Arlington
tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Misleading”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The photo looks like the building is modern steel and class...that's the building behind the Holiday Inn. The photo of the exercise room makes it look like more than it is...four aging machines. The internet is scandalous. Free, but no bandwidth. I had a family emergency overseas and couldn't use skype because the internet is so puny. The windows "open"...but only four inches and you need to apply a lot of force. The rooms are worn out. I sent email a week ahead and said I'd need a quiet room with a good chair because I'd be working for a couple of days in the hotel: I got a room next to the elevator, on Glebe, where the traffic and construction are nonstop, and the chair was painful. I wouldn't mind if the proprietors were straightforward and said, look, we're an older hotel and we'll charge less because of it, and if you want all the modern amenities go elsewhere; but instead they make it look better than it is, and that's misleading.

All that said, the hotel is clean and the staff is pleasant.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us to improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. We have been trying to increase our bandwidth for several months, but have run into considerable resistance from our provider because of lack of infrastructure on their part. The good news is we now have a solution and in the very near future should have considerable complimentary bandwidth available for our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    137
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
81
35
41
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Center, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family stayed at the Holiday Inn at Ballston, Arlington VA in June of 2013. Property was clean and well maintained. Room was clean, and there were no odors. Front desk staff friendly & courteous. Liked security feature, that no one could use the elevators up to guest floors without a room key. Motel was also just three blocks from the metro station. We used the Metro instead of trying to drive in Washington traffic, and then try and find parking. Now- the not so good things. The airconditioning did not work in our room. The thermostat was broken. Maintenance bypassed the thermostat, which meant that the blower ran constantly in the room, and seemed to also be set at a very cold setting. If we had not complained again, they would not have put a new airconditioner unit in the room, that at least had a dial to change temperature in room. Breakfast was also not included with the room. A lot of motels now offer free breakfast. We ended up going down the street to Subway or IHOP, as the breakfast buffet was $16.00 a person. We also had to go down to the front desk almost everyday to get towels, as the maid never left the right amount of towels for the number of people staying in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A three night business stay.
The positive: service is very good. Room request was accommodated (not facing Fairfax), shuttle to NSF and Metro station etc. Small store with decent prices. Lobby bar is nice.
Needs improvement: the rooms are old, small bathroom and tired wallpaper and carpet. Like many Holiday Inn properties. The pool was ice cold, no way you could swim after work to relax.
The worst: the AC was very old and loud. I didn't sleep well at all, even with ear plugs.
I wouldn't stay here again.
The chain should invest some dollars in updates, the staff is top notch and with decent AC this could be a great place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear ocean35,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wonderful experience at this quiet, clean and well maintained Holiday Inn. Very friendly staff. Excellent location. Purchased through Priceline and hope that we are lucky enough to get next time we bid in this area! Only complaint was the irons, but if we had taken the time to ask I am sure the pleasant staff would have replaced our iron with one that had the steam function working.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The reception staff were wonderful and very helpful. The rooms were clean and modern. Breakfast Buffett was good and reasonably priced. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Ballston metro station. There's a few good restaurants and bars in the area as well. I felt parking was a little pricey at $14/day for being so far away from the heart of D.C. Overall a great hotel for a reasonable price (comparatively).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is my favorite hotel when I have to attend meetings at the National Science Foundation. The price is reasonable and includes free internet and a good desk workspace (with a comfortable desk chair). The room is clean and comfortable and includes a mini-fridge and a Keurig coffee maker with a nice assortment of coffee and tea. It's not fancy -- just your basic Holiday Inn. But the last time I stayed there, I was paying about $80 less per night than my colleagues. So, if you are looking for a good value this might be a good choice for you.

The hotel is a quick walk (about 5-7 minutes) from NSF and the metro. There are plenty of local restaurants. I haven't eaten at the one in the Holiday Inn (since I usually eat out with colleagues).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times for business and find it comfortable. The rooms are a bit dated but I can see they are in the process of updating the public areas. I hope the rooms will follow. The staff are always helpful. I have used the shuttle service a lot and the drivers (Mohamed and his colleagues) are very helpful. I never had to wait long for service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel so you are not facing the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Address: 4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Arlington
#12 Family Hotel in Arlington
#22 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.