We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to metro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to metro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The reception staff were wonderful and very helpful. The rooms were clean and modern. Breakfast Buffett was good and reasonably priced. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Ballston metro station. There's a few good restaurants and bars in the area as well. I felt parking was a little pricey at $14/day for being so far away from the heart of D.C. Overall a great hotel for a reasonable price (comparatively).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    158
    53
    18
    9
See reviews for
92
38
41
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is my favorite hotel when I have to attend meetings at the National Science Foundation. The price is reasonable and includes free internet and a good desk workspace (with a comfortable desk chair). The room is clean and comfortable and includes a mini-fridge and a Keurig coffee maker with a nice assortment of coffee and tea. It's not fancy -- just your basic Holiday Inn. But the last time I stayed there, I was paying about $80 less per night than my colleagues. So, if you are looking for a good value this might be a good choice for you.

The hotel is a quick walk (about 5-7 minutes) from NSF and the metro. There are plenty of local restaurants. I haven't eaten at the one in the Holiday Inn (since I usually eat out with colleagues).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times for business and find it comfortable. The rooms are a bit dated but I can see they are in the process of updating the public areas. I hope the rooms will follow. The staff are always helpful. I have used the shuttle service a lot and the drivers (Mohamed and his colleagues) are very helpful. I never had to wait long for service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel so you are not facing the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel because it was close to a professional training course I was taking. All hotels in the DC area are high so I won't comment on the rate even though for DC this one was reasonable. The staff was great but the hotel is dated. Water pressure was weak and lost hot water for a few moments. Water damage could be seen on the bathroom door. TV reception in the room was awful. With all new HD LCD's there obviously wasn't enough bandwidth to support them and I lost picture numerous times. Food was good but expensive. Evpect to pay around $18 pp for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear dwright5199,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the compliments on the staff. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the room and bathroom conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into as your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My experience at this Holiday Inn was made exemplary by the services of Ahmed at the front desk and Charlie in the hotel restaurant. Ahmed was pleasant, polite, professional, knowledgeable and helpful. The Holiday Inn has a true asset in this employee. Charlie was also extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Great friendly staff. Clean neat rooms. Newly remodeled. . I didnot eat there. But the restaurant seem very nice.
I liked the fact that they offered a free shuttle to take us to the office and back.

Room Tip: I stayed on 4th floor. Rooms were quite and i slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ms. Kori, Ms. Janet, Mr. Chris, Ms. Vera, Ms. sanda the rcetioninst and Mr. Muhammad the van guy were just so very professional and an excellent help during my stay. I have stayed at this hotel a number of times & it is by far one is one of my favorites.The Ballston metro stop is only 3 blocks from this hotel. I felt safe in this location and that is important to me! Even though this is not a 5 star hotel the staff's professional yet caring and friendly attitude far exceeds many top hotels I've had the opportunity to visit. Hale the shuttle driver and concierge should be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Address: 4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#22 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.