We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent remodeling of an older hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Ellijay, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Recent remodeling of an older hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

. . . very well done . . . until you get to the bathroom. Everything looked freshly very well done but they chose just put white caulk over the old moldy caulk. Ruined the whole effort. Other than that a great room at a great price at a great location. And they had free under ground parking which was unusual for the surrounding hotels. Within walking distance of Georgetown, the Marine Corp monument and even the Lincoln monument and the Mall if you had good walking shoes. Short order cafe on 1st floor and upscale restaurant on the top floor. McDonalds a block and a half away. We needed to stay in this immediate area and this was the best choice that we found and we would stay there again.

We missed not having the in-room coffee the first night but then found the pot and all the supplies put away in a cabinet. That was a little strange.

Don't let my comments on the bathroom turn you away. I am in the building/remodeling business and was just critical of what could have been a very well executed rehabilitation of an older property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    155
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
90
37
41
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was at the Holiday Inn for a business meeting. Rooms were clean, food was great and the hotel staff was very nice. Sade & Jay at the front desk and bell hop were very helpful and nice! The pillows in the room were heavenly!!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I reside and work in Miami, But I had an important meeting I had to attend to in the DC area. I booked my reservation with the front desk agent (I believe his name was Ahmed or Ahmad) anyways, He went above and beyond to make my stay a pleasant one. He spoke very professionally over the phone, which is usually unexpected with other hotels that I have booked with. He was even familiar with the area and gave me directions to the bank (because I lost my debit card in the plane, so had to get a temporary one). The room was big, clean, and extremely comfortable. So many restaurants and hookah bars within walking distance. Overall it was a very good experience for me. I will be back in the area in June, so I defiantly will be back here! Be sure to ask for the front desk agent ahmed/ahmad, he will make your life so much easier!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The stay at the Holiday Inn Ballston was ok. I liked the room, bed was comfortable, the coffee machine was great and everything worked well, including the wifi. The one thing I really didn't like were the pillows, they have two types and both were very high and I woke up many times during the night with a stiff neck. The other thing is that my room had a humming noise that other customers had also reported. I turned the air con and the mini-fridge off to lower the noise but it was definitely from outside the room and I could do nothing about it. By the third night I got used to it, but the first two nights it disturbed my sleep. I didn't experience any of the great staff experience that other customers reported. I thought they were friendly but just as it is expected, nothing more. People at reception didn't even told me about the free transfer and I didn't even knew existed!
The breakfast arrangement was odd. You can opt for the buffet or order cooked breakfast from the menu. The buffet price includes only one drink (coffee, tea, milk or a small glass of Tropicana juice from concentrate). I have never seen something like this - charging extra even for milk?). So usually I had juice (wish it was NOT from concentrate) and went to the room for a coffee from the machine as it tasted better than the one at breakfast (and included in the price of the room). In the second day, I was told that if I had only cold food from the buffet it was cheaper (they didn't tell me this in the first day). However, if you used the coupons the hotel gives you for breakfast, they alter the price and either cold or hot buffet they will charge you the same amount. So even if you eat only the cold food, you are still not able to have more than one drink! Totally strange. Anyway, the cooked food from the buffet was just edible.
The hotel overall was not bad, but I am sure there are better ones around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Ludalua,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I am happy to read you found or beds comfortable. However, I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the condition of the pillows, level of noise encountered and breakfast options. We have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is newly renovated and medium priced. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, rooms large and clean. Has a good restaurant and bar on site. We did the breakfast package...great breakfast, not only the buffet, but off the menu was not outrageously priced like most hotels. Would definitely stay here again. Easy access to Rt 66. Has parking lot (they all charge).

Room Tip: Make sure it has been renovated. They are still working on the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Property is in an idea location. It's just 3 blocks to a metro stop, several blocks to the Arlington Economic Development office, and offers many choice of restaurants close by.

I would like to thank the general manager for being personal receptive and responsive to my inquiries and needs. It's rare today to receive such a quick response to personal requests. Leadership starts at the top, and with a general manager like Don leading the way, you know your stay at this property is good to be a good one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Good hotel in a prime Arlington location. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Ballston Metro station and is immediately off of I-66. The hotel has an adequate breakfast buffet and a small bar in the evening. There is a Buffalo Wild Wings literally next door and the hotel is within a 5 to 10 minute walk from great dining and a mall.

There are a few hotels a bit closer to the metro station, but overall this is definitely a good stay within reasonable metro travel distance to DC and Arlington. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Address: 4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#25 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.