We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if you can get in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 48 hotels in Arlington
New Jersey
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice if you can get in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Our conference supposedly reserved a block of rooms here, but they were all gone for the first night by the time I tried. Stayed the first night in another hotel.

I have not stayed in a Holiday Inn for some time, and the level of this hotel was much higher than I expected. It was clean and well appointed with large rooms and all the things you expect in a nice hotel, plus free internet that worked well. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was expensive at over $200 per night with tax, but unfortunately this is Washington and it is hard to do better.

The location is a somewhat generic area of office blocks, but it's a reasonably short walk to the Ballston Metro stop. There are some decent restaurants in the area, mostly mid-upscale chains.

I was not around long enough to try the hotel's own restaurant, pool, or gym.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    146
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
87
36
41
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed one night at the beginning of April and was pleasantly surprised. I needed to come to Arlington for an interview and this hotel was close to my interview location. I am very picky about places to stay and was wary of this location because I didn't know what to expect. The location is great. I was traveling alone and felt safe enough to walk to the mall that was close by. There are a lot of restaurants nearby also. I didn't want to rent a car and I didn't miss it because of the metro stop nearby and the shuttle. The shuttle was great, I was able to take it to my interview, which was close by, and back from the mall when I didn't feel like walking back. The driver was very pleasant. It was very easy to get to the hotel by metro. The room did have some cosmetic issues, it seemed half renovated but it was not something that was a major problem since I was only staying one night. The only problem that I had was at the bar. I asked if the bartender could make a specific drink and he said yes but what he made was terrible, I also ordered dessert while at the bar and was served some cake that was dried out and hard. I felt that when I complained nothing came of it. When I checked out I was given a complimentary breakfast so I guess it did even out. The front desk staff was very friendly and if I need to come back to Arlington I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed at this property for a 2 day meeting. It is an older hotel right off the interstate in Ballston. There are several places to eat and the Metro stop is about 2 blocks away. This property has no airport shuttle.. but you can catch the Metro (Blue line from DCA to Orange line at Rosslyn). The restaurant was OK for breakfast. Nothing really remarkable about this place. Bed was average...pillows were less than OK...AC was non-existant but the window opened a tad and made it bearable.
The place is under some kind of construction and the parking lot was a mess...and only valet parking was available.
Trying to find something good to say.... it was clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This place will never want for business because of its proximity to the National Science Foundation, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, etc., and its easy access to the sights of Washington DC.

The rooms and beds are comfortable. (I'm not fond of the belts Holiday Inn puts around its pillows to label their softness, though.)

They've torn up their parking lot, so all parking is valet, which is annoying. Plan ahead when you want your car.

I've stayed at this hotel >15 times, and the desk clerks always treat me as if it's my first time. That is, they have no memory and apparently no computer record showing my previous visits. This is a bit shabby.

Overall, though, I'll come back because it's decent and near the offices I visit in Arlington.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My family and I enjoyed staying at the Arlington Holiday Inn Hotel. The employees at the Valet parking and front desk gave us a warm welcome. Especially Janet, with her smile and helped make us feel like we were at home. Since Janet has known us for a long time, we are part of her family. Our room was pleasant, clean and comfortable. Also employees at the restaurant were nice and we enjoyed the food. I recommend this hotel for everyone who travels to Washington DC.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Peiman B
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. I have shared you kind comments to our staff and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Janet provides great leadership at the desk and the type of employee we strive to have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is an older property, but well kept. The rooms are clean and comfortable. What makes this a do again for me is the staff. They take care of you, from front side of the house to the back, they work to make your stay better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dadbo95
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. We appreciate all our guest who provide feedback on their stay with use. As a frequent traveler we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide the best in both service and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stay here often for business.

The Upsides of this property:

Rooms are EXCELLENT! When I enter the room, I always feel that I am in a much higher class of hotel. Cleanliness is TOPS in the main rooms and bathrooms. Mini-Fridges and in-room safes are appreciated!

Location is excellent. Close to running and biking trails. A Harris Teeter Grocery Store and the Mall is just down the street. Plenty of restaurants, too.

Staff: The majority of staff is excellent. From Valet and bell staff to front desk personnel and room attendants. All exhibit great customer service and friendly faces of people who enjoy their jobs. Just one particular situation warrants notice (See Downsides below).

Special Recognition to Mohamed from the Bell Staff who has been instrumental in going above and beyond to take care of my needs. From giving directions and providing advice about the area, to handling and storing of luggage, hailing taxi-cabs and running the shuttle for short trips. Give this guy a raise! he is worth every penny of it.

Downsides:

Hallways and common areas - I noticed wallpaper peeling and heavily worn carpeting throughout.

The workout facility - While I'm thankful that there is one here, it's just abit too small and limited.

Shuttle Service - This is limited and only goes 1 mile from the property. While I wouldn't expect this shuttle to travel for airport pick-ups; it would be nice if the range were extended to say "up to 3 miles" so guests could take advantage of some of the other Arlington attractions and restaurants.

Staffing: Whether the night auditor or other front office staff; in the later hours (usually 10:30 p.m. to 1:30 a.m.), I often have a hard time reaching someone to register for a wake up call. This is an added convenience that I really appreciate. Yet, I'm often left disappointed as no one seems to be answering the phones at these later hours.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne B, Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Tony F
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. I have shared you kind comments to our staff and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I have addressed the staffing issues noted in your review and we are scheduled to renovate our hallway this year. We had to reduce the amount of equipment in our fitness center to meet federal requirement but do offer a $12 pass to a local gym. We limit our shuttle distance to avoid guest experiencing long wait times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Address: 4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Arlington
#16 Family Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.