We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, wonderful service, staff is committed to service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Homosassa, Florida
1 review
“Great Hotel, wonderful service, staff is committed to service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I commend the Holiday Inn Ballston for the hiring and the retention of your front desk personnel: Jacob and Sade. Both of these employees made me and my husband feel very welcome and went out of their way to make our stay in Washington very pleasant. Their friendly attitude and their help with the shuttle and making sure we were comfortable in our room went a long way to making our stay very enjoyable. We also want to commend the gal that is in charge of the restaurant, Martha. It was such a pleasure to be greeted by such a friendly person when ever we visited the dining room. When she found out that we were Priority Club members, she had our bill corrected to reflect no charge for our coffee each morning. Her attention to detail was very appreciated. Thanks to all your staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    165
    55
    19
    9
See reviews for
95
38
41
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I know places in Washington are expensive, but why would anyone pay $250 a night for this place? Normal rooms, normal bar and restaurant, and convenient to the highway. The service was actually pretty good, but there's nothing special to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Room was not clean.. Hair on bathroom floors and in sink. Smudges all over night stand. Beds are worn out. Called at 11 pm for wake up call and front desk did not answer. Called back twice... no answer. Shuttle Driver ignored us and drove off. Our business group.was not happy. They would throw breakfast in for another $20 on the room rate but when you get there it only costs $12.99??? O yes, shower dripped all night. I shouldn't have to inspect their rooms for them. They should be in good shape before I stay. Too many disappointments not to mean something bad is happening at this hotel. Other Holiday Inns are not like this.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarHub, Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. Please let me assure you that we strive to make every stay a great stay. We do appreciate guest like you telling us about any problems that occurred during your stay so that we can take action to ensure that it will not happen again. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you how great we can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

My room was next to the work-out gym. At 5am the treadmill and a loud radio woke me up. I called the front-desk and someone came up and yelled to turn down the radio, but the methodic work-out continued for more than an hour.
They are expensive and they nickel-and-dime you. They charge to park. They charge for breakfast. The concierge is snooty. The bar closed early. Restaurant prices are too expensive because they know there is little competition nearby.
The metro is only 1/2 mile away.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarHub, Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Dear Sir,
First, allow me to express my sincere regret that your stay was not all that you expected. We do strive to ensure that all of our guests are 100% satisfied with our service. Based on your comments, we are considering changing the opening hours of our fitness center.
Yes, we do charge for parking on weekdays. Parking on weekends is free. Our hotel is located in a business district where parking is at a premium. Compared to other parking options in the area, our rates are most reasonable.
Ballston is a busy place with many restaurant choices within walking distance. For our guests' convenience, we have a concierge computer in our lobby that even prints out coupons for your choices. We hope that you give us another chance so that we can point out some of our favorites to you and maybe even take you there in our complimentary shuttle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

hello, my name is fedlin and i have been staying in this hotel since the beginning of february and i enjoyed every moment of it. They staffs are so nice from the front desk to the restaurant, they always welcome you like its your first day in.
John, cherell, and ja they make me fill like familly, they all are good peoples, i stay there twice a week and i look for it to stay there every time, i will recommend anybody else to stay there, i will continue to stay there for many months to come.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

My experience was very nice and I was treated well at the check in and any time I dealt with the staff. They were quite willing to provide a shuttle ride to the Metro when it was raining. There are restaurants in the area and the Ballston Metro stop is relatively short walk away.

The rooms are certainly clean but have seen better days. I recommend the hotel but there are likely other nicer options in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

What you come to know and expect from a Holiday Inn (regular).
Solid customer service upon arrival. Checkin was smooth and quick.
Room was very nice. Clean and well appt. Wireless and wired access available
at no fee for Priority club members. Nice little restaurant in the lobby. Open specific hours for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I used for dinner only - nice menu a little more than bar food, but enough choices for the business traveller.

There are lots of restaurants in walking distance 1-3 blocks, Metro Ballston stop is 3 blocks away and there is a large mall across the road. Good location for government business travellers working in the area. All walking distance from hotel.

Nice, well equipped fitness ctr - perfect for business traveller.

Part of lobby under construction - remodeling but it didn't impact flow or operations of hotel or the noise levels. I think its almost finished.

TVs, were a little screwy. One set got all designated channels, but they were all fuzzy (checked chords and plug - both appeared fine). Other tv got clear receiption on 10 or so channels and the others were just snow. (oh, well.)

My own other comment: 10.00 a day for parking in a hotel with very large open, uncovered, unsecure parking lot - really ? They charge 10.00 because they can, not because they need to. Its Ballston.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Address: 4610 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Family Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.