We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an upgrade” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Arlington to your Saves list
Hilton Arlington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 North Stafford Street, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Online and Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Stayed at the Hilton in Arlington for three nights in October. It is well located for business, if u have business in Arlington and very close to the metro. The hotel only had one elevator working, and we were a rather large group, upwards of 100 people at times. The halls are dark, the rooms ok, but not great. The price was right, but they certainly do need an overhaul.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonArlingtonVA, Manager at Hilton Arlington, responded to this review, November 13, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We do agree that our location is ideal for our business travelers, as we are located among many Corporations, Associations, and Government offices. With the Metro access just at our front doors, it is easy to reach your destination.
In regards to the elevators, all of us know too well that remodeling never seems to fall on schedule. It is never our intent to inconvenience our guest and in this case the problem was out of our control. We sincerely apologize. The work has been completed and we think you will be very happy with the finished product. In respect to the hallways, they will be part of a focused renovation in 2010. We think you love that finished product as well. We hope to show you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    204
    106
    35
    16
See reviews for
104
80
55
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I will admit that my value rating is based on the fact that I used Priceline and therefore got a very good rate. But that wasn't the main reason that I was so happy with my stay at the Hilton. We ended up arriving very late, and my call to confirm my late arrival was met with a very hospitable and warm welcome. When we finally got to the hotel and was shown to our room, it became clear that we were in the middle of a "wedding party" that was intent on partying until throughout the night. We placed a quick call to the front desk and explained the situation and got an empathetic and very accommodating response -- a new room key delivered to us within minutes, and we slept very soundly on their amazingly soft bedding. Everything was as good as you could expect (except for the elevator service... I think one of them wasn't working) from the parking convenience to the staff accommodations. We didn't get to try breakfast or anything else (we didn't have the time) but for a night's sleep it was the best choice we could have made. And the location is perfect!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonArlingtonVA, Manager at Hilton Arlington, responded to this review, November 13, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We do have very dedicated Front Desk Agents, who all take pride in providing quick and efficient service to each guest. I am glad that they exceeded your expectations so that you were able to get a great night’s rest.

In regards to the elevators, all of us know too well that remodeling never seems to fall on schedule. It is never our intent to inconvenience our guest and in this case the problem was out of our control. We sincerely apologize. The work has been completed and we think you will be very happy with the finished product. In respect to the hallways, they will be part of a focused renovation in 2010. We think you love that finished product as well. We hope to show you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

I have never had such a terrible experience with a hotel. I reserved a King Bed Suite on the Club Level 3 weeks before my family was coming to Arlington. When my family arrived to check in, the hotel staff informed them that we did not reserve a king size suite, but since we had 2 small children, they would give us a handicapped room for some additional space. When I called to tell them that I had a copy of the email confirmation stating we had a king suite, they said I must be mistaken, and put me on hold for 15 minutes. Long story short, it took 30 minutes on the phone, tons of attitude from the front desk, and threatening to stay somewhere else before they finally moved my family to the room we originally reserved. There were other problems with the front desk, as well, but it's not even worth going into detail. All I can say is that I would never recommend staying here, and I can't imagine ever dealing with another Hilton again.

If you are coming to the Arlington area and want to stay in the Ballston-Virginia Square area, do yourself a favor - either stay at the Westin a couple blocks down, or just rent a car and stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonArlingtonVA, Hilton Arlington, General Manager at Hilton Arlington, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
While we are happy that you eventually got the accommodations that you wanted there is no excuse for attitude and lack of service or any delay in getting what was promised. Our General Manager is taking names over this experience and would like to personally invite you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We visited the D.C. area 3 times this year, and this place was my favorite for a couple of reasons. I liked the proximity to the metro. It was so easy just walk out of the hotel and walk right into the terminal. The hotel is also connected via skywalks to a mall, which was awesome. The rooms were a little larger than rooms in D.C. They were pretty basic, but fine. It was what I expected from a Hilton. For the price I paid, I felt it was a good value. I didn't have any complaints.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed there because he had a training class adjacent to the hotel. The price was expensive, and the hotel is old and not in good shape. The room above us had an A/C leak, and water was leaking into our room. The engineer told my husband the "problem was resolved". They "resolved" it by putting a towel up in the window. The water still dripped into our room. The only other room we were offered had no A/C at all. The staff was not helpful in the situation, and everyone in the lobby was complaining about this hotel. They were also trying to charge us for the whole week, even after we checked ourselves out early and went to a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I stayed at this hotel at the end of May, when it was quite humid in the DC area. The A/C was not very good in both the rooms or the hallways. I had to keep adjusting the temperature because the A/C would always stop. And every time it started up again, it was noisy and annyoing. There are two elevators and one broke down while we were there. Even though it is not a big hotel, I had to wait a long time for the functioning elevator to get to my floor (I was on the 7th floor). And then, it would be a long ride down because it would stop on every other floor, picking up guests. The gym is small and not very well ventilated. Also, this hotel does not have a proper business centre. There are some computers located in the lobby for public use. However, it is merely for checking email or surfing the net. You can't print a document. Luckily, one of the staff at the front desk agreed to print my document for me because it wasn't too long.

On the positive side, the location is pretty good. I had to go to a business meeting, located in a building nearby. The hotel is very close to the Ballston Metro station - this was very convenient. In general, I found hotel staff to be very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

During my last stay, the air conditioner broke (which happened 6 weeks previously on another trip), and DC in JUL is very hot so staying in room (where the window did not open) was not an option. I had to be moved SEVEN miles to another hotel. While discussing this with the front desk, 3 more people had the same problem. I asked the hotel to help me find another hotel for the next night, and they said they would, and I specifically told them to call me with their proposed plan as I was not going to spend another night 7 miles outside the city. They never called me about another room, so I had to find one on my own. Then I get a credit charge notification that my card had been charged by yet a third hotel for the same night - one that I did not stay in , nor ever knew about. The hotel essentially broke the law and gave my credit card # to a third party hotel, without my knowledge or consent. The manager never returned my calls, nor made any attempts to rectify this problem. Nor did Hilton Honors. Shame on Hilton for both bad customer service as well as fraudulent credit card use. I will never stay at another Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Arlington

Address: 950 North Stafford Street, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#23 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Arlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upscale Ballston community, the Hilton Arlington Virginia is adjacent to the Metro and minutes from downtown Washington DC. Walking distance to shopping, nightlife and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Arlington Hotel Arlington
Hilton Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.