We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to NSF, metro, and shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Arlington to your Saves list
Hilton Arlington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 North Stafford Street, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Online and Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
North Salt Lake, Utah
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Convenient to NSF, metro, and shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Hilton Arlington is just a skybridge away from the National Science Foundation, a perfect place to stay if you have business there. It's also just two blocks away from the shopping mall and steps away from the metro.

The staff was incredibly helpful at my recent stay. The room was clean with all the desired amenities, including a nice robe on the Honors floor.

I had just two complaints. One was that the cable tv was slow to "load" and several channels seemed not to be working. This mattered little to me as I don't really watch much tv, but could be annoying to some. The other complaint was that a tourist group of teenagers arrived at the hotel about 10:00 each night and ran amock through the halls. This wasn't really the fault of the hotel, but the noise was annoying to a business traveller.

The fitness center is located in a corner of the first story and has the usual machines. Dan & Brad's serves a nice breakfast and the staff there is outstanding.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    204
    106
    35
    16
See reviews for
104
80
55
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Hotel location is good as it is just above the Ballston Metro station. From here to downtown (e.g. Smithsonian museums) is about 20 mins. A taxi from airport is around 30 mins (non-peak hours). There is an escalator just outside of hotel which leads to a bridge walk connected to the Ballston Common Mall (shopping mall with Macy, cinema, shops, restaurants and cafes) by a short 5 mins walk. There is a 7-eleven store opposite the hotel, together with IHOP and a couple of other resturants. Just outside of the hotel lobby, there is a Starbucks and 2 cafes. We liked the Prima Deli cafe which offered affordable breakfast sets with coffee.

The hotel itself is average but falls a little short of our expectation. We stayed in a double room with king bed which is comfortable. Room size is reasonable and clean. A little noisy because of air-con/heater countinously turning on/off. No free internet in room (only available at lobby), no fridge and no laundry facilities. The towels looked a bit old. The conceige was a little pushy and kept sticking around until we gave a tip. No breakfast included.

We paid a special rate for the stay (less than USD150 per day), so the hotel is considered value for money. Would consider to stay there again as long as the special rate is around.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

The highlight of this hotel is clearly the location. You can leave hotel and enter the subway without ever being exposed to rain (it's located on the Orange Line. It also borders against the Ballston mall.
The rooms are not quite traditional Hilton size and quality; they are more similar to a Hampton Inn. However, the service and cleanliness are fantastic. This hotel has one of the best staff that I've experienced in a long time. The deli in the lobby is also wonderfully convenient.
I highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

There were a couple good things about the hotel - number one was being right at the Ballston Metro stop. The people who work there are friendly, but sometimes they were a little overly pushy which I do not care for.

Major complaints about this hotel -
1) Internet service is Crappy if you even get it. And its only free if you are a Gold or higher Member. I never once was able to get my computer to work with this internet service. Finally gave up after placing a service call and trying for several hours. So not once was I able to use my computer while there. I had my computer checked when I got back to my office in Greenville SC and my IT guy said there is nothing wrong with your computer.

2) The restaurant hotel is expensive and doesn't really have that much on the menu. It was supposed to be a steakhouse but they only have like two steaks on the menu. And I ordered the Ribeye. It was cooked under the first time sent back then it was overdone. I ate it anyway but geez. They never even offered to take it off my bill.

3) The breakfast in the executive lounge was nice. But they need to change it from day to day. We had basically the same thing every single day.

4) Executive Lounge - closes early - to me 8 PM is very early. Most Marriotts stay open until 10 oclock.

5) Bathroom was teeny tiny and you could barely close the door. Plus the bathroom door was about to fall off the hinges.

6) One of the electrical outlets that the coffee pot was hooked up to didn't work.

7) Parking is 17 dollars a day extra.

On average, most other Hilton Hotels that I've stayed at are way better than this. I don't know if I will stay here again next time when I'm in the DC area it just didn't make the cut.

Room Tip: I heard end rooms are bigger, but never got to see those. Suites are bigger but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

this hotel is located right next to the ballston metro stop. it is close to the national science foundation and and connected a shopping mall. lots of places to eat nearby. plan to stay again next year, when i visit the area.

i am a hilton gold member and this is one of the few hiltons that actually put me on the executive floor. much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We were with a group, so the basic room rate was reasonable. Hotel personnel went out their way to speak to us and some also went above and beyond to be helpful, which is what kept the hotel in the very good category for us. Room had a few minuses -- noisy A/C; low water pressure in shower; some wallpaper starting to peel; bed throw just starting to show its age, some small spills and dings on furniture. But the bed was very comfortable and the room appeared clean. Would have really liked ta mini-fridge since we were there several days. Prefer a coffee pot to the individual cup arrangement, but understand why they do it. The parking lot was expensive, cramped and maze-like, but it beats not having onsite parking. There was an outdoor seating area in the entrance circle which we discovered was intended for smokers, but it worked as a place to hunker a bit and people watch. Great IHOP across the street. Brad & Dean's Restaurant onsite a bit pricey but convenient. With all the apartments in the area, there is a good safe feel to the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

Cockroach on the wall, no hot water from 20 min running water. Eventually half price stay after talking to manager....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Arlington

Address: 950 North Stafford Street, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#23 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Arlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upscale Ballston community, the Hilton Arlington Virginia is adjacent to the Metro and minutes from downtown Washington DC. Walking distance to shopping, nightlife and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Arlington Hotel Arlington
Hilton Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.