We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awful experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Arlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Arlington to your Saves list
Hilton Arlington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 North Stafford Street, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Online and Save 20%
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
seattle, wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What an awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

The staff was awful. the bellboy/ concierge had a questionable work ethic and was mostly bothered by approaching customers. the front desk staff was all but accomodating and helpful, and actually avoided in any way trying to assist myself and another customer beyond the strictly required procedure: when asked where to dine, find places, or do something the answer was alwas a lazy and quite disrespectful and careless "well, you have to ask someone else". they also refused in anyway.
The quality of the facilities was terrible. the elevator was shaky and noisy. the rooms were absolutely noisy!! we could here people next door closing the door and even flushing!!
Note: we were on the 7th floor - the so called executive floor!
Lastly, I stayed 3 nights at an average $379/ night, much, much more than the published averages everywhere, and surely much more than what the hotel offers. The only reason I stayed is beacuse many government agencies such as AFOSR/ NSF are located next door, but I swear I will try anything I can to find somewhere else to go next time.

  • Liked — location necessarily close to the meeting places I needed to visit
  • Disliked — the room noise, the front desk and concierge staff behavior and attitude
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    190
    99
    35
    16
See reviews for
100
74
55
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

Travelers to Arlington - and to this Hilton - need to know that this particular Hilton is unlike others. It will meet some specific needs, but my impression is that for most people, it's going to be a disappointment. First off: if you're coming by taxi, make sure you refer to this as this "Ballston Hilton" as there are other Hiltons in the are and the drivers know it by this nick-name. The hotel sits on top of the Ballston Metro station and as such, it's really a hotel situated inside of an office building/condominium complex. The garage attached to the hotel has nothing to do with the hotel: it's run by the office building. So I think it's unfair to find such extreme fault with the hotel based on their parking situation. It's a lot like staying in a smallish Manhattan hotel: the lobby is small, the rooms are only on floors 3-7 (the condo is above floor 7) there's only one small bar and restaurant (2nd floor) and no pool, spa, workout center, or business center. Otherwise, I thought the hotel very clean, security tight, hallways well lit and clean, and the room exactly what I was expecting. It may have been a tad bit smaller that usual, but I thought it was fine. This is a hotel to sleep in, and really nothing else. If you're spending your days at an office, and all you're looking for is a place to lay your head (and get your Hilton points), then this is it. I thought the bar was excellent (John mixes great drinks) and the appetizers we had from the restaurant were good, too. The service in the bar was great, and friendly. And I have no complaints with the front desk, either. They accommodated and early check-in and late check-out with ease. So in general, choose wisely if you are choosing this Hilton: for some, it will be just fine. For others - you may find yourself very unhappy.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

We stayed at this hotel to be with the rest of our family attending a wedding nearby in Arlington, VA. We will not come back to this hotel. To begin, the handicapped parking spots were not very large, but they were near a ramp with railings. However, the ramp led to extremely heavy, non-automatic glass doors with a center bar in the middle so that the actual openings were so narrow, even a sporty wheelchair would not make it through! This is the only entrance from the parking lot to the elevators! Therefore, people in wheelchairs or people too weak to open the doors have to go up the dangerously steep and narrow parking entrance while cars drive in.
Also, this is the type of hotel where the handicapped rooms are the oldest, least desirable, corner rooms with odd floor plans. Other than that, I don't see how it was any different than a regular room. I can't remember exactly, there may have been a seat in the shower. Entering the room was difficult at best, and entry into the bathroom was nothing short of acrobatics. Then the room was extremely humid, the window would not open and the air conditioning was broken and never fixed, even though we called the technician twice. The hotel staff was generally condesending. Although we did have a nice quiet lunch with good service in the restaurant, and a good time one evening in the bar. I will not fault the dining staff, they were friendly.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The staff attitudes, the lack of accessibility, the poor quality of the facilities.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

i often stay here when i'm on business in arlington. this time i am less pleased with my room at the hilton. it is facing the bus lane so there is more noise. also the room is too hot. i put on the ac but the unit makes me cough when it is on, so i don't keep it on. it's freezing outside so i'm surprised the room is hot, must be that the hotel keeps the temp too high on the property..
they have started spraying with a cherry room deoderizer.
I asked for no spreay but the room sttill smells like the stuff. Must be covering up something. For close to $300/night I can do better somewhere else I think. There is a new Westin down the street and I may try that one the next time I am in Arlington.
Staff here is still friendly and helpful but the property itself could be better. They have a captive audience with all the businesses in the area.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

For a Hilton this was a slightly disappointing experience. Now, don't get me wrong, this place was perfectly adequate for visiting our nation's capitol as a tourist. But our room was shockingly small. The corridors were not air conditioned, and in June, it was miserable to make the short walk from the elevator to our room at the end of the hall. Maybe the AC was just broken during our visit.

Our room was clean and comfortable, and pretty quiet. The great advantage of this hotel is is proximity to the Metro stop and the adjacent mall.

The restaurant was weak at best. Our stay included free breakfast each morning, and we wished we had gone across the parking lot to the IHOP next door. Next time we will. The air conditioning was also out in the restaurant, but they brought in some noisy portable AC units.

It wasn't a bad experience at all. I guess I just expected a warmer, more upscale experience from this hotel. Would we stay here again? Maybe, because of the incredible convenience of the Metro, nearby dining, and the mall. But more likely, we will probably just stay in DC as close to the mall as we can get.

  • Liked — Location next to Metro stop
  • Disliked — Just not as nice as I expected from a Hilton
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Stayed at the Hilton Arlington for business meetings two blocks away and stayed on for a little sightseeing. The location (literally on top of a Metro station) is very convenient. It is 20 minutes from the Capitol and about the same from Arlington Cemetery - easy to get to most anywhere in the area.

The room was generous sized and decently furnished. But the view was of a cluttered roof and the offices across the street. The TV stations are limited. There was no list in the room of hotel amenities - because there really aren't any. No pool, no gym, very limited meeting rooms, and the internet connection and cell phone reception (Verizon for me) are spotty and inconsistent.

The staff is accommodating. The restaurant is OK, but not very populated (at least during the week.) I ate in the bar so as not to be served in solitary splendor in the dining room.

If you take a cab to this Hilton, be sure you know that cabbies refer to it as the Ballston Hilton (for the Metro station and the neigborhood) because there is another one nearby.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Just bland, nothing special
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

This is a great location - very easy to get around with the metro. Lots of bars and restaurants to choose from within walking distance. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Arlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Arlington

Address: 950 North Stafford Street, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Arlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the upscale Ballston community, the Hilton Arlington Virginia is adjacent to the Metro and minutes from downtown Washington DC. Walking distance to shopping, nightlife and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Arlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Arlington Hotel Arlington
Hilton Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Arlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.