We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break in DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
From $119 with Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spring Break in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed Friday-Sunday over Easter weekend. Checking in was simple. We were able to get keys to the underground parking before we actually checked in which was nice since we arrived so early. We got back to the hotel around 5:30 and was able to walk right up to the counter and check in. The hotel pool is very small! Only 23 at a time are allowed in and they hit capacity several times during our stay. There is a 30 minute limit when they are full which was fine with me. Breakfast was good but like others have stated, they were constantly running out of bowels and silverware. Table also need to be cleared quicker. We usually cleared them ourself. Evening reception was a nice time to unwind and relax but very busy. We always grabbed the couches that are behind the drink area. I would have loved to have stayed longer. The suite was very roomy and nice large flat screen tv's in them. The coffee pots in the room are single or double cup. I would have liked to have had one of those pull out clothes lines for our suites since hanging them on the curved shower rod really just got the floor wet. All in all it was a great stay and the staff was always nice. Front desk was exceptional I just wished some parents didn't let there children run around and do whatever they wanted. i.e. make a huge mess at evening reception and expect others to clean up after them (they were at least 13!) Can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    332
    131
    49
    22
See reviews for
400
117
42
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

The shuttle leaves DCA twice an hour from gate 5 or 9. The lobby staff were always friendly and knowledgeable. The food in the restaurant was surprisingly good (for a cookie cutter hotel!) as was the value.
The room was a standard suite- very accepatble. The slight problem was the noise- every time the water or flush was used in the adjoining room you heard it!! At 3 am it sounded like a shrill alarm clock!
Breakfast was the usual Embassy suites fare- a good variety of pancakes, various eggs, meats, melon and cereal, one of the reasons it is a great family orientated hotel.
Now you can start the tour of washington DC or mount vernon (both great places). Take a right from the hotelnnad walk to the first set of lights and turn right down the rocky pathway and walk down for about 5 minutes to Pentagon city metro station and the mall (blue/yellow line).
The evening reception is the usual embassy suite stuff- nuts, cheese, vegetables, chips, popcorn and a number of drinks.
All in all a reasonable hotel for a trip to mouint vernon or washington dc!
if you are a Gold hilton member you get some popcorn and chocolate and free internet access.

Room Tip: Be a hilton member
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for the review. You are correct about the shuttle to Reagan Airport, but also we offer a shuttle to the Metro station. While it is only a 7 - 10 min walk, the shuttle is an option provided for those that choose not to walk.
This is the first time I have heard of the water causing a noise challenge and have let the engineering team know. Mt. Vernon is such a great place to visit -- between that area & DC, there is so much history in the area, but so much fun to learn all about it. Please come back soon. As always, anyone can contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

First room we had smelled really bad. Second room was okay. Great 42inch tv's, no HD, what a waste. $25 per day to park is too high. Elevator from parking was broken. Lots of people smoking at the front door. $30 for a roll away was too much. Staff was not very friendly. We will be looking for another hotel tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed at the Embassy Suites for a few days before Easter, and the employees seemed to under-staffed to handle the crowds at breakfast and at the manager's special. The breakfast staff didn't clean off tables in a timely manner so others could use them. The cocktail hour had long lines. From Easter Sunday through Wednesday, things ran much more smoothly as there were fewer guests. A couple of times we missed the shuttle because it was already full when it pulled up to the Embassy Suites. Our room was very clean; the housekeeping staff is very conscientious and pleasant.
All in all...we enjoyed our stay....especially when the crowds (and rude children, which is the parent's responsibility, not the Embassy Suites) cleared out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for your review. My apologies you had to wait for a table to be cleaned. Our staff does their best to keep up with the high turnover. I always recommend to all guests that during busy times you come to breakfast between 7-8am. A lot of the crowd tries to sleep as late as possible then jam the breakfast area in the final hour. We will continue to do our best to keep up and ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience. We hope you return soon!

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This was our second stay and though there were some minor issues we still believe this hotel is a good value for the money. The hotel was booked on our first night so the cocktail hour was overcrowded with a long line for cocktails and they ran out of snacks long before we got there. The next morning it was more of the same at breakfast -- they had trouble keeping up with clean silverware and dishes and ran out of lots of food selections. The next 2 days were less crowded and the breakfast and cocktails hours were good. Pool is really small so not really designed for families.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for your review and for returning to the Embassy Suites Crystal City. My apologies that the snacks ran out at the Manager's Reception and the food ran out at breakfast. That is highly unusual. Without knowing the specifics of your stay my guess would be there was an unexpected last minute group or demand as typically the hotel is well prepared for the large crowds. I am glad you had positive things to say about the value and good service. We hope you will return for a 3rd visit! Please contact me anytime.

Happy travels -

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Very nice hotel. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed the manager's nightly snacks & drinks. The only thing I see needs improvement is the cleaning service.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for the review. I am glad you found the staff to be pleasant & helpful. The employees are all empowered to do whatever it takes to make the guests happy. I wish you were more specific as to part of the cleaning you'd like to see improved. We take guest comments very seriously as we use them to improve. The cleanliness of the Embassy Suites is typically a strength and often mentioned positively in reviews & guest surveys. We will continue to try & improve and please contact me directly if you'd like to expand on your thoughts.
I also invite any reader of my response to contact me anytime.

Happy travels

Kevin B. Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We were very pleased. The staff was all very nice and it appears that all the rooms have been redone (pictures on site are the rooms prior). Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. When we booked we had wanted a hotel that was closer to the "mall" area of DC but as it ended up this hotel is only 3 minutes by taxi to the mall area. Very Nicley located the hotel will shuttle you to the metro and such. we were there for 9 days and we never waited more then 5 minutes for a taxi and each day were in DC with-in 10 minutes from the time we hit the lobby. The free breakfast was great but we only used it a few times because I was never able to get my kids off of California time (free breakfast durning week only till 9:30).
The larger rooms are a huge plus. The staff is really great and helpful. Ask for Bryan. great guy and went out of his way to make sure we were happy with our stay.
Plain and simple a really nice place to stay with a family that is hitting the sites of dc.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same so really its not a proble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeCrystal, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for the review. You are correct, the hotel was just earlier this year and the rooms look fantastic. It is such a quick ride into the mall area or a quick shuttle ride to the Metro that I am unsure why anyone would want to put up with the higher prices and hassle of being in DC. Crystal City is the place to be! I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast on some of the days. The breakfast hours are extended until 10:30 on Sat & Sun to accommodate the late sleepers. The staff works hard to ensure every guest is happy and I will be sure to share your comments with Rayan.

Please come back soon and I invite anyone to contact me anytime.

Happy Travels -

Kevin B, Feldman
703-416-3846
kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport

Address: 1300 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Arlington
#12 Business Hotel in Arlington
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Atrium hotel, located in the Crystal City area of Arlington, VA and one mile from the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) and two miles from the heart of Washington D.C. Complimentary shuttle service is provided to DCA and the Pentagon City Mall metro stop and The Pentagon and the Fashion Centre at Pentagon City Shopping Mall are both within walking distance. Just minutes to Washington DC. All of our guests can enjoy complimentary full breakfast buffet and the evening reception. This offers a fantastic value to our guests as these amenities would add approximately $30++ per person at other area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Arlington
Arlington Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Crystal City-National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.