We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Metro to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Metro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Plantsville, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Econo Lodge in Arlington is a no frills hotel. No pool, no bar, just a place to get a free, basic breakfast, free internet, free parking, and a good place to sleep. We planned a 4 day vacation to explore Washington DC and found this hotel to be a great place to lay your head down at night.

The metro station is close by and you can get there via the walking/jogging/biking trail or by walking down the street through a nice little neighborhood. The metro ride was 25 minutes to the National Mall, which is the Smithsonian stop. If you plan on using the metro, buy the metro card that you can reload at the station. The round trip cost to the Smithsonian stop was a little more than $7.00 per person, which is a lot cheaper than parking in the city, if you can even find a spot to park. Using the metro card also saves you a dollar per trip each time you use the metro.

The room was basic with a little refrigerator. The beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were small but adequate. The breakfast was basic toast, waffles, bagels, fruit, cereal. The coffee was Starbucks! The internet worked fine and was free as was the parking! There were good restaurants, a 7-11, and banks right up the street as well

If your looking for a reasonable place to stay if your visiting DC, this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I really appreciate that you took the time to write such a nice a review about your stay.Please accept my personal gratitude for expressing such a realistic opinion that we are a no frill facility, but we never ignore complimentary amenities such as our breakfast, Internet service, 24 hours coffee, tea and parking etc.I am delighted that you are planning to comeback. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    78
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
36
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The location was very close to the Metro station (3 blocks on a lighted bike/pedestrian path). We returned to our room late at night and felt very safe. We enjoyed the nearby sandwich shop and Cajun seafood restaurant. The free parking and free breakfast were nice too.

Room Tip: No elevator. If you have a lot of luggage you might ask for a room on the main floor (actually the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for selecting Econo Lodge Metro for your recent stay and taking the time to share your experience with us and tripadvisor readers. We truly appreciate your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.Please come back to see us for your next trip. We'd love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Rented a hotel room for 3 nights when visiting Washington DC. You can walk to the metro station from this hotel via a jogging trak and it was safe to do so even late in the night. The area feels pretty safe.

Usual breakfast fare and it was good. Friendly staff/clean hotel. plenty of parking and free wifi as well.

overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: The hotel has its 1st floor in the basement and 2nd floor at the ground floor and they don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
I am really grateful that you took the time to write a review about your stay for TripAdvisor. The guest rooms at the Econo Lodge Metro are clean, comfortable and fresh and we are proud to be an alternate of expensive lodging in this area. Our convenient location close to metro subway and the friendly service from our staff helps make the stay even more enjoyable. We'll be here to welcome you back the next time you're in town. Thank you again for such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

In July my wife and I stayed at the Econo Lodge Metro for our third and fourth times. Clearly, we think it is a very good value with an excellent location. Each time the front desk staff has been welcoming and helpful. It is an excellent choice for its value and location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words . It sounds like you had another good stay with us .Certainly key to our success is continued patronage of our valuable repeat guests like you . Our staff is so greatful for your encouraging words.Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashmere
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel was perfect with free parking, breakfast and only a 5-7min walk to the metro! The breakfast was okay, but definitely cheap. We would stay again, due to clean rooms, location with quick access to metro and 495, free parking and a great price for the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and , I am so gald you liked our clean rooms and convenient location. We are proud of our housekeeping staff as they always have provided outstanding service.I do understand your frustration about breakfast area and we are considering some steps to improve it . Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A legal conference in Baltimore had brought me from the Midwest to the area. Although the others returned home, I wanted to tack on a couple days of sightseeing in the nation's capital. I would have stayed anywhere in metro Washington which had access to the Metro. For this purpose, Econo Lodge in Arlington was an excellent choice.
The room and property was exactly what one might expect. Not great, not terrible. Breakfast nothing to write home about, but not terrible either. Of note: the coffee was Starbucks brand. I generally took an extra cup for the road.
Most important thing to know: entrance to the Metro is a seven minute walk. Desk clerk was v helpful in sending me there, and handed me a Metro Card with small amount of funds still on it. On departure in spirit of paying it forward, I turned my own back in, charged with a small amount of cash remaining.

Room Tip: Keep in mind a Laundromat is in basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
I'm so glad you selected Econo Lodge Metro for your recent stay.Our pledge is to provide , clean comfortable and safe accommodations to our guests. We are glad that you found us on the right track .Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing and please come back to see us for your next trip. We'd love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munhall, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is a great place for the price, especially considering the location and how expensive every where else is around it. Very clean, brightly lit, friendly staff, and the Metro is a 10 minute walk away. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Its always great to serve esteem guests like you, who acknowledges and recognize the efforts that our team makes to ensure that all of our guests have the best experience possible. You are so correct our location which is minuets away from Washington dc and clean and comfortable rooms garnish with friendly service makes it a perfect place to stay.Thank you for your kind words and and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#26 Family Hotel in Arlington
#26 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.