We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Metro to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Metro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The only available room was a 2 double-bed one. It was huge with two king size beds. Overall it is clean and quiet. The only issues we found were very small breakfast area. Some people even took their food to the room. Also, there is no lift if you are placed in the lower floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and writting a great review about our hotel . I am glad that our two bedroom room provided the space and comfort that you needed. They are ideally suited for families and our hard working staff try their best to keep it clean and fresh. I do agree with you that we have limited space for the breakfas areat, however we are working to redsign it in order to make it more accomodating. You are correct lack of elvator is trouble some, but two of our floors have access from the ground level and if you let us know we can easily accomodate you at the floor of your choice. Thank you again for letting us know about your stay and we hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    88
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
55
43
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I'm sure that many travelers will enjoy being refused an email confirmation when making a reservation. Others will be delighted by the space that our group (college students on a tour) dubbed the "Crevice," a breakfast area so cramped, badly organized, and disorienting (the walls are mirrors) that it somehow evoked M. C. Escher, Dr. Seuss, and Stanley Kubrick. Yet others will trill with glee when relishing their breakfast of frozen hard-boiled eggs and pastries that evoke nothing in particular. But as for I and my group, we will never darken the door of the "Crevice" again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your review . I apologize that our breakfast did not meet your needs, I do understand your frustration but being a small hotel we have very limited public area and are forced to use this area. Mirrors are added by our decorators to look this area little bigger but I am sorry these caused inconvenience for you. I would be discussing this with my superiors and designers to make necessary changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hope, Missouri, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel is very basic and not new but is super clean! Front desk staff is friendly and cheerful. It is an easy walk to the Metro along the bike trail. We were worried that our room was located across from the laundry room/storage but we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the staff was the next morning we never heard them coming or going across the hall and were greeted with a pleasant "good morning" as we passed them in the hall. Breakfast was nice but again nothing fancy and coffee available all day would be a really nice addition. Great room for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that we met your lodging needs and our pleasant staff, clean rooms and location hit the spot! I have shared your views with my hardworking team and we are all grateful .
Thank you again for writing such a nice review and for letting everyone know about your positive experience. You are welcome back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York pa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

During a recent necessity to visit the "Virginia Hospital Center" we needed a place to stay for an evening prior to our visit to the hospital. Checked "Tripadvisor" and found this hotel. The closeness to the hospital ( about 1.5 miles) made this hotel a good choice. Looking over several reviews from other travelers, felt it too was a positive location. But no elevator,. No problem, a call to the hotel a week before our reservations allowed us a 1st. floor room. The parking lot is small and a little difficult to enter. Mainly because of the Traffic. A/C was not the greatest but passable. Building showing it's age. Many previous visitors indicated a decent breakfast and coffee. Could not find any during our stay. Not a big deal. but missed. Getting to this location was very difficult, even our GPS unit did little help in finding it. TRAFFIC is, with out a doubt, terrible. all in all was a positive stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We know you initially selected us after reading reviews about our hotel and close proximity to Virginia Hospital , but now that you've had the Econo Lodge Metro experience, we hope you'lll come back for the warm and friendly staff and this time will not miss our complimentary breakfsat and Starbuck coffee that are included in your stay.

Thank you again and we are waiting for your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Neches, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Selected this motel after reading many reviews and was very pleased. Very clean with many updates, comfortable bed, lovely décor, nice bathroom (except the vanity space was small). Another reviewer described perfectly and put up accurate photos. Easy 2 1/2 block walk to the Metro on a bicycle trail or cutting off to the street behind. Stayed on first floor with easy access to the laundry room (which has a microwave) and the breakfast room (another microwave). Refrigerator in the room and easy access to the ice machine. Very practical for our 6 night stay in DC. Highly recommend unless you want to spend a lot of money on a hotel in DC. No charge for parking or internet. Chaissin Tails Restaurant located very near on the corner on street behind motel and highly recommend it also.

Room Tip: Loved the downstairs room with two double beds but other rooms should be just as nice. So easy to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you, Thank you and thank you, We here at Econo Lodge Metro are not only pleased but thrilled for giving us such a nice review. Your honest and candid opinion would be certainly helpful to other potential guests . We assure you that we will continue our hard work to serve great guests like you .Thank you again and we are looking forward to serve you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elderslie .scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife, kids and I spent a couple of nights here last week while visiting the city. It's perfectly positioned for city trips, whether it be via Metro or using the car. Good sized rooms, decent breakfast, free coffee, free parking, good rates and it's in a really nice area.
I would definitely he's it again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.I agree its agreat
location right at the i-66 exit and a short walk to metro. Its convient location makes it an ideal place for a leisure or buisness travellers.

Thank you again for sharing your reviews and I am glad you will be back ...... We are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My grandson and I recently stayed for 3 days. The room was clean and quite adequate. The area appeared safe. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was in close proximity to the Metro. In addition their continental breakfast was good. Furthermore, they allowed us to leave our luggage for the remainder of the day after checking out. For the price and location I would give it a high rating.

Room Tip: We had a room with a microwave and refrigerator. Hot chocolate and coffee were readily available 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
econometro, General Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
What a wonderful review! I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide a comfortable stay. You are so right .... that its a great location and proximity to metro makes it A plus. I am glad you liked our breakfast and 24 hours coffee,tea and hot choclate.

Thank you again for staying with us and recommending us to other travellers. Our entire staff is gratful to you and is looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.