We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Metro to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Metro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If your looking for a good value this is the place. It doesn't look all that appealing but service was good and so was the room. The great thing was that it was in walking distance to the metro. Close to the highway which can be a little noisy but it wasn't really that bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    88
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
55
43
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Check in was smooth & quick. Room # 211. Furnishings are one firm queen bed, with three pillows. Four drawer chest. Flat screen television with 19 channels. Wall rack with 8 wooden hangers. Fridge, no micro., Micros are available in larger rooms with two beds. Overall room size is medium. A/C was on when I arrived & runs on the quiet side. Sound is a low hum.

Bathroom is a shower/tub combo. A mat for a non-skid surface. Safely handle on the side wall. Tub's side is a bit high, use the handle stepping in & out. Being July, temperature in the low/mid 90's, only needed cool water for shower. Not much space around the sink area. A combination of body lotion, shampoo & conditioner. Hair dryer. Plenty of towels. The bathroom, sink & overall room very clean. Daily maid service starts around 8:00. If sleeping in, use DO NOT DISTURB sign.

This is a three floor facility. The lower or basement is where the breakfast & laundry areas are located. Check in would be the first/main floor. A staircase leads to the top level or third floor. NO elevator. A guest computer is on the main floor. A micro & ice machine are located in the laundry room.

Breakfast is 6:00-9:00. A choice of two or three dry cereals. Toast, bagels, & muffins. Three coffees. Small 4 oz. orange juice. There soda, vending & other juice machine machines in the breakfast area. Only THREE tables. A guest needs to arrive early if wanting a table. There are trays which allows a a guest to take their breakfast to their room.

This facility's biggest drawback is the parking and getting in & out of the lot. Parking can be tight, the best vehicle for parking would be a small or mid-size vehicle. I found that backing into a space gave better visibly getting out. Traffic on Lee Highway is heaviest from 7:00 A.M. to &:00 P.M. If driving south on Lee Highway at this time period, turning into the parking lot can be difficult. A counted two handicapped spaces a short distance from the main entrance. The nearest restaurant is Chasin' Tails, a Cajun restaurant. Ate here twice.

I found all members very helpful. 'Anne' helped me with the Metro train subway system. The Metro is no more than av12-14 minute walk.

The chief reason for staying at Econo is the location to I-66 and the Metro. The A/C was a plus. The minus are the tight parking, traffic on Lee Highway, small sink & breakfast areas. Also there are NO stores of any kind to shop at. As long as I don't drive much during peak hours, I probably would stay again.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on tripadvisor, wasn't sure what to expect but have to say it's not as bad as I thought. If you are looking for a clean basic room then this will suit you. The rooms are a little bigger than some other motels we have stayed in on our trip we are traveling from Australia. This hotel is located about a 10min walk from East Falls Creek metro station which is about a 20min train trip to the city. We made an advance booking so we got a cheaper rate. The only down fall with this hotel is the dinning room were you get your free breakfast is way to small for a hotel of this size,there is only 3 small tables and can get a little crowded. Other than that I would recommend staying here

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the main road it can get a little noisy at night not sure if it is quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked this hotel because of it's proximity to the Metro and the price. It is an older hotel, but well maintained and clean. The walk to the metro is nice and well lit. Continental breakfast is ok, but minimal.

I probably would not book this hotel again based on the musty odor. I was on the lower level and the room felt very damp, even though we kept the A/C running.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor as well as the convenience to the metro line. No regrets at all. I was visiting DC with some teenagers to attend a concert and we felt safe the entire time (even walking back and forth to the metro station at night since the surrounding area is upscale and residents were friendly). As others have noted, the rooms are small but we really didn't spend much time in them anyway. There are restaurants in the general area (a few right behind the hotel that we didn't notice until leaving but otherwise all are a drive away). The breakfast is very basic and a bit below the usual standards (generic cereal and cold rolls and frozen waffles with a toaster) but the service was friendly. The hotel also seemed to be very quiet, and the wireless accommodated all of us easily at the same time. I would absolutely stay here again if I was visiting DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just had a 3 day trip to DC that was made more enjoyable by this nice accommodation and friendly FD staff. The concrete block construction makes the rooms very quiet despite being right off I 66. Parking is free and it is a short walk to the orange line metro. Rooms were a bit small, old style bathroom with the sink outside of the tub & toilet. Exceptionally clean and it has a row of "Gold Awards" dating back to 2000 in the lobby. Definitely a good value if you want to spend time in DC without the huge hotel costs. Not a hotel for you if you want to hang around your room but great as a place to return back to after a busy day in the City. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is not new; yet it was sparkling clean. The rooms are very small; but fine if you are not planning to stay in your room all day. There is good wireless internet, a nice continental breakfast to start your day, and other good restaurants within walking distance. We did not have a car, but the Metro station is also within walking distance and the Orange line will take you right to the heart of D.C.. The hotel is on a busy road so there is traffic noise if you have your windows open (and windows that open are a feature I really like), but if you choose to use the air conditioning it is quiet. My only minor complaint was no coffee pot in the room; but there is a machine in the lobby where you can get coffee or tea at any time. The price was right and the location good I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are multiple floors and no elevator if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.