We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three "G's" - Great location; Great value; Great facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Metro to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Metro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Woodstock, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Three "G's" - Great location; Great value; Great facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just had a 3 day trip to DC that was made more enjoyable by this nice accommodation and friendly FD staff. The concrete block construction makes the rooms very quiet despite being right off I 66. Parking is free and it is a short walk to the orange line metro. Rooms were a bit small, old style bathroom with the sink outside of the tub & toilet. Exceptionally clean and it has a row of "Gold Awards" dating back to 2000 in the lobby. Definitely a good value if you want to spend time in DC without the huge hotel costs. Not a hotel for you if you want to hang around your room but great as a place to return back to after a busy day in the City. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    89
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
55
43
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is not new; yet it was sparkling clean. The rooms are very small; but fine if you are not planning to stay in your room all day. There is good wireless internet, a nice continental breakfast to start your day, and other good restaurants within walking distance. We did not have a car, but the Metro station is also within walking distance and the Orange line will take you right to the heart of D.C.. The hotel is on a busy road so there is traffic noise if you have your windows open (and windows that open are a feature I really like), but if you choose to use the air conditioning it is quiet. My only minor complaint was no coffee pot in the room; but there is a machine in the lobby where you can get coffee or tea at any time. The price was right and the location good I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are multiple floors and no elevator if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

At just a few stops out of D.C. on the Orange Line, this Econo Lodge is and older hotel that is clean, convenient and affordable. We have used them for two different trips, and will use them again. The King room is moderately small, but has everything you need. We felt safe in this area and used the train line for quick trips into D.C.. This hotel is "Luxury - No", but "Comfortable - YES"!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here in spite of our worries about the small size of the room & hotel in general. That was more than compensated for by the convenient layout, the helpful staff, the good breakfast and , very importantly to us, the ease of getting to DC each day via the train. The station was a short walk way---about 7 minutes, and the trip to town was about 15 mins. Much better than driving in DC! The stay was quiet and relaxing, out of the hubbub of the city. I think what struck us as well was the immaculate cleanliness of the hotel and the obvious pride that the staff has in keeping it well-maintained. We will definitely use this as our go-to hotel for DC!

Room Tip: There is no elevator--there are 2 stories. If you travel light, not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Econolodge Metro while visiting Washington D.C. The location is excellent- a very easy walk to the Metro. You just follow the bike path for a little way and you're there. The staff was nice and helpful. The room we stayed was very simple, but adequate. My husband thought the bathroom was a little tight, but it was clean. The sink is separated from the toilet and tub/shower, and there isn't a ton of room, but there is a hair dryer on the wall as well as a tissue box holder. The TV didn't get many channels, but there was a fridge and a microwave which was nice. Overall the room was clean and served its purpose.

The breakfast was just so-so. There are only a few tables in the breakfast, so we took the food to our room and ate it at the table there. There was a small selection of pastries, donuts, muffins, and/or croissant rolls depending on the day. There were three canisters of different types of cereal. I think there was also packaged oatmeal. There were three different things you could toast in the toaster. It seemed to be three of the following on any given day: bagels, waffles, bread, english muffins. There were also packets of jelly, bananas, apples, yogurts and cartons of milk. There was also coffee and tea to drink, but no fruit juice although you could buy juice at the vending machines. There's also a little nook (not in the breakfast area) where you can get coffee and tea anytime.

The motel is also near quite a few restaurants which are a short drive if you have a car with you. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently returned for a second stay at the Econo Lodge Metro. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the property is clean, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again when in the Washington, DC area. Being close to the metro station is a huge plus, and we enjoyed the free parking, as well. Although we didn't have breakfast each day, we did see that there was a nice variety of items, and the coffee was hot and fresh each morning.
This property is nicely kept, and a great hotel to stay at when visiting DC.
Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great value. Clean, quiet, and comfortable with an accommodating & friendly staff. They cheerfully made changes in our room, so we could be close to others in our party who had made plans separately.
There was ample breakfast with something to please everyone.
We actually did walk from the Metro - pulling our suitcases behind.
The only drawback was that there was no elevator going to the second floor.
Free WiFi worked great.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#25 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.