We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Metro to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Metro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Peru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great value. Clean, quiet, and comfortable with an accommodating & friendly staff. They cheerfully made changes in our room, so we could be close to others in our party who had made plans separately.
There was ample breakfast with something to please everyone.
We actually did walk from the Metro - pulling our suitcases behind.
The only drawback was that there was no elevator going to the second floor.
Free WiFi worked great.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    107
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
73
51
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Like everyone has said previously, this hotel is a really good value and in a very nice neighborhood. The short walk to the Metro was pleasant and easy.

The reason I must give it only an average rating, however, is due to the check in and handling of my items in the safe deposit box.

When checking in, the attendant informed me that I had made an error when I booked online and she had corrected it. She noted that I had presented her with a different credit card than the one I used to book and wanted to know which one she should proceed with. She then went on to help the next person, and quickly asked for me to give me the papers/key back. Some changes were made and I was then given my key/papers again. It became quite obvious that she had somehow mistaken my check-in with the lady beside me. I figured this as her description of my "error" was exactly what the lady after me wanted in the room. And when I checked my email, there had been no mistake on my part.

The reason the above situation concerns me, is that had I said go ahead and use the credit card I booked with, I am fairly certain the credit card of the other lady would have been used, or attempted to have been used.

The following morning I realized there was no safe deposit box in the room, so I inquired at the front desk. The same attendant was there and she pulled out a box from behind the counter and asked me what time I would be back. As she would no longer be there, she said to make sure I told them my items were in box #1. That evening when I returned and told the new attendant this, she asked where my key was. I had not been given a key and was told the procedure is for them to have one half and me to have the other half. Together it will open the box. With some concern, I explained that my passport was in that box and I was never given a key. The new attendant did some searching and indeed, there was the key that was to have been given to me.

This situation really was a huge breach of trust in them for securing my items. The lesson I learned is that in the future I will outright question the procedure if it doesn't make any sense to me.

So again - I really want to give this hotel a better rating, but these issues sent red flags up for me.

Room Tip: My room was right beside the breakfast lounge but was still quiet enough for a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbert, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for three days during a business conference and found the hotel very pleasing. Everything worked just fine, quite comfortable, and the front desk lady, in particular, was very helpful for me with explaining and assisting me with using the Metro, which is a convenient walk nearby. The sink area was small and no coffee one morning, but it was a bit early....otherwise, I had a very enjoyable stay and I'd be very likely to return when the occasion arises!

Room Tip: Quite convenient to the Metro and very reasonable for the location....seemed very safe area also....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great value. Clean, close to metro, felt safe, Internet worked good and fast, great beds, and breakfast was good. I thought the staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay here again if I'm back in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Arkansas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I travel to Capitol Hill often and need an affordable hotel in a safe location that will not eat up my per diem. I usually stay on the hill but have found that I spend so much money on the hotel that I end up losing money on by trips. So, I decided to find a hotel in safe location, close to the metro, that would allow me to get to Union Station quickly. This hotel fit the bill. Although it is bare-bones, it is inexpensive, in a very safe location, and is clean. It is also within walking distance of the metro. The metro ride is about 30 minutes to Union Station. I suggest this hotel to the person with business on the hill who is looking to save money. Finally, it is within walking distance to a good Cajun restaurant and a French restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is very convenient to I-66 and a short walking distance to the East Falls Church Metro station. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. My only complaint is that the in-room TV reception was atrocious, only a few of the channels were showing properly. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We appreciate your business and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please be assured we will look into the televison reception you described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groom, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great place to stay when visiting the sights in D.C. Ten minute easy walk from Metro, very clean, and a convenience store just over the highway :>) Owner is especially friendly to his quests. Beds absolutely awesome !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
6.2 mi away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#18 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 953 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#24 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport
4.7 mi away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#11 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
4.6 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#40 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#26 Family Hotel in Arlington
#29 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Choice Hotels and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.