We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for convenience alone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Metro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Cary, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good deal for convenience alone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

This hotel is not much to look at. It's small and relatively old. The room air conditioner worked, but it sounded like it was near the end of its life. The continental breakfasts (served in the small lobby) were poorly organized the days we were there - they ran out of food and the milk was warm. However, the convenience factor makes up for the shortcomings! The hotel is right off of I-66 and just a 5 to 10 minute walk to/from the Falls Church Metro Station. If all you want is a place to sleep while you tour DC on foot, this is a good deal! The staff is friendly and our room was clean.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    75
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
33
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

We stayed at the Econo Lodge after a tiring day in Washington, DC. I called the hotel first before checking in because we booked 2 rooms and we wanted the rooms to be beside or across each other and we were not disappointed. The receptionist was very nice and acknowledged our request. The rooms were ready when we got there, very nice and clean. It wasn't noisy even if it was close to the highway, we had a really good night sleep. Good breakfast in the next morning, bananas, muffins, bread, coffee, juice, cereal, milk etc. Parking is right in front of the hotel. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

Our family experience agrees with other recent reviews. As long as you know what to expect from Econo Lodge (clean room, small bathroom, no closet, etc) you will be pleasantly surprised. As stated in other reviews, the hotel is right off Route 66 (like RIGHT off Route 66, it was a little tough to find the entrance to the parking lot because it came on us so quickly). Once we parked the car we never used it again during our stay. There is a nice French bistro next door and across the street is a Bear Rock Cafe for breakfast, lunch, and light dinners. The metro accessibility is the best part, located on the orange line and about 9 stops from Metro Center.

The desk staff was very helpful, there as a flat screen TV in the room, and round the clock coffee available. We can easily recommend this hotel to others who plan to spend their time visiting the sites in DC and not sitting in a hotel room.

  • Liked — Clean, location, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was as good as or better than expected.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernal, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Easy access to Washington DC, by using the metro system, which is about three fourths of a mile down the road. It looked like the hotel had just been remodeled with new carpet and paint. The bathrooms were clean but we had some trouble getting the shower knob to turn far enough to get any hot water. The beds were clean and comfortable and really needed after a day in Washington. Breakfast consisted of cereal, muffins and juice. We used the microwave available on the bottom floor to reheat dinner leftovers. The staff was great in answering our many questions and provided typed directions to area sites, but didn’t give any help on how to get back to the hotel. We had to run into a hotel and use Mapquest to get us home. We would recommend Econo Lodge to our friends.

  • Liked — Rooms were newly remodeled
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

Our family stayed here on a trip to DC. The Hotel was clean. The staff was friendly. We would stay here again. Very pleased with entire experience.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, clean rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

We stayed here two different times during our visit to DC and surrounding areas. We found the motel as advertised, comfortable and fairly quiet (a little road noise if on end of building). Do not recommend a king bed because mattress covers are not king sized. Just get a Queen. They also have a continental breakfast. The best point is being close to the METRO about a ten minute walk. The METRO is the best way to get to DC and takes about 30 minutes. If you plan on driving keep in mind traffic, limited parking and if you find a place to park it will cost you about $8.00 per hour. If you are a senior you can purchase a senior ticket at 'METRO Center' and ride for about $1.20 each way otherwise rate is $2.25 or so. Metro runs from 6am until midnight.

  • Liked — Rates, close to public transportation
  • Disliked — king sized room has wrong mattress covers - just get a queen
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

While it's hard to beat the nightly rate, I was unimpressed by this hotel and won't stay here again. The room was clean enough, but small and the walls were thin. Clearly a hotel meant for those with cars. Unfortunately, I'd taken a cab from downtown, so my mobility was limited. Food options were extremely limited as well (unless you count the vending machine) and there's nothing really within walking distance.

Guess I got what I paid for!

  • Stayed March 2004, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#29 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.