We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Metro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Second Night 50% off
Ranked #22 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Saint Peters, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great value. Clean, close to metro, felt safe, Internet worked good and fast, great beds, and breakfast was good. I thought the staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay here again if I'm back in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    65
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
44
26
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Arkansas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I travel to Capitol Hill often and need an affordable hotel in a safe location that will not eat up my per diem. I usually stay on the hill but have found that I spend so much money on the hotel that I end up losing money on by trips. So, I decided to find a hotel in safe location, close to the metro, that would allow me to get to Union Station quickly. This hotel fit the bill. Although it is bare-bones, it is inexpensive, in a very safe location, and is clean. It is also within walking distance of the metro. The metro ride is about 30 minutes to Union Station. I suggest this hotel to the person with business on the hill who is looking to save money. Finally, it is within walking distance to a good Cajun restaurant and a French restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is very convenient to I-66 and a short walking distance to the East Falls Church Metro station. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. My only complaint is that the in-room TV reception was atrocious, only a few of the channels were showing properly. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We appreciate your business and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please be assured we will look into the televison reception you described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groom, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great place to stay when visiting the sights in D.C. Ten minute easy walk from Metro, very clean, and a convenience store just over the highway :>) Owner is especially friendly to his quests. Beds absolutely awesome !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Read many reviews of locations and chose this one, glad I did. Stayed 4 nights, 2 dbl room was good size and very clean. Continental breakfast was more than most breakfasts, very pleased with food,small area with only 3 tables. Easy access to highway/DC area. Walked to metro one day, 7 min walk during day was fine, could have been lit better at night. Staff was helpful and could not hear other rooms/hallway noise. Network connection was very slow, would not recommend if you need to be using computer for a long period. Would definitely book this again, very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to see that you would stay with us again! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a modest motel but with the convenience to the metro it may be one of the best bargains in the DC area! The entire facility was very clean and well lit. The room was small (we stayed in a king room) and my only real complaint was the tininess of the bathroom and the bathroom sink area. However, since we were visiting my son and his apartment building was literally next to the motel, this made it a perfect place to stay for our visit. The breakfast is certainly not fancy, but was more than adequate and started out our day on the right foot. The metro is a long couple city blocks, but not overly far and considering how much walking one must do when visiting DC I would call it close. Definitely better than fighting automobile traffic into the district!
If you are just looking for a clean, safe and close to the metro place to stay to sleep for your visit to DC, I would definitely recommend this motel. While there isn't a lot in the way of entertainment close by, it is a great choice if you are on a budget (our room was $85). One thing to be aware of is that this motel has three floors and no elevator, so if you have mobility issues be sure to request a room on the main floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We got two rooms for two nights. One on the ground floor (good for my mother who is not a fan of stairs at her age AND after walking around DC all day). And a second one on the second floor for my wife, myself and our two teenagers. Rooms were surprisingly clean and decent sized considering. The continental breakfast is sparse but a good way to start the day. It's all downstairs with very limited seating (you won't linger). Our upstairs room had a fridge which was really handy for all our backpack snacks and drinks we bought prior to getting into the area. The hotel is a short half mile from the East Hills Church Metro.

Not the hotel's fault but exiting is a challenge if you do it...well whenever you do it. It's nearly a blind exit for oncoming traffic. There's a cute indie bookstore and two restaurants around the block. (non-kid friendly eats we assumed - white table clothes in one and touristy decor in the other). Eating is a rub in and around DC. You'll either pay over odds for hotdogs or be subjected to half as good franchise eats. Nothing special, nothing local and not accessible.

Oh, yeah, the hotel is a good deal. Cheers.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms a premium. you'll be walking all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge
Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.