We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, happy with my choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Metro to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Metro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, happy with my choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Read many reviews of locations and chose this one, glad I did. Stayed 4 nights, 2 dbl room was good size and very clean. Continental breakfast was more than most breakfasts, very pleased with food,small area with only 3 tables. Easy access to highway/DC area. Walked to metro one day, 7 min walk during day was fine, could have been lit better at night. Staff was helpful and could not hear other rooms/hallway noise. Network connection was very slow, would not recommend if you need to be using computer for a long period. Would definitely book this again, very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to see that you would stay with us again! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    82
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
40
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a modest motel but with the convenience to the metro it may be one of the best bargains in the DC area! The entire facility was very clean and well lit. The room was small (we stayed in a king room) and my only real complaint was the tininess of the bathroom and the bathroom sink area. However, since we were visiting my son and his apartment building was literally next to the motel, this made it a perfect place to stay for our visit. The breakfast is certainly not fancy, but was more than adequate and started out our day on the right foot. The metro is a long couple city blocks, but not overly far and considering how much walking one must do when visiting DC I would call it close. Definitely better than fighting automobile traffic into the district!
If you are just looking for a clean, safe and close to the metro place to stay to sleep for your visit to DC, I would definitely recommend this motel. While there isn't a lot in the way of entertainment close by, it is a great choice if you are on a budget (our room was $85). One thing to be aware of is that this motel has three floors and no elevator, so if you have mobility issues be sure to request a room on the main floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We got two rooms for two nights. One on the ground floor (good for my mother who is not a fan of stairs at her age AND after walking around DC all day). And a second one on the second floor for my wife, myself and our two teenagers. Rooms were surprisingly clean and decent sized considering. The continental breakfast is sparse but a good way to start the day. It's all downstairs with very limited seating (you won't linger). Our upstairs room had a fridge which was really handy for all our backpack snacks and drinks we bought prior to getting into the area. The hotel is a short half mile from the East Hills Church Metro.

Not the hotel's fault but exiting is a challenge if you do it...well whenever you do it. It's nearly a blind exit for oncoming traffic. There's a cute indie bookstore and two restaurants around the block. (non-kid friendly eats we assumed - white table clothes in one and touristy decor in the other). Eating is a rub in and around DC. You'll either pay over odds for hotdogs or be subjected to half as good franchise eats. Nothing special, nothing local and not accessible.

Oh, yeah, the hotel is a good deal. Cheers.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms a premium. you'll be walking all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the DC area. The location was very close to the metro, within waking distance. The rooms were very clean, perhaps a little small, but clean and comfortable for the price. The front desk people were very nice and accommodating. We had never visited DC before and they explained how to best get around in a large city. Breakfast was continental style, not huge, but enough to get your day started. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is not a spectacular hotel, but the lobby, public areas and rooms were clean and well lit. Rooms were comfortable for four adults, but not overly roomy... Bathroom was newer and had both a tub and shower. Continental breakfast OK, but only three tables in the mela area, so it was good to have a table and two chairs back in the room.

Parking lot was mostly full, but we always found a spot. Didn't need a car while we were there, as the Metro is just three bolcks away. $14.00 buys a one day pass that lets you hop on and off the subway all day - very convenient, especially when your feet are tired at the end of the day. (see tip below)

This hotel does not have a restaurant, though there is a French cuisine restuarant and a Lobster cafe just down the street on the same side as the hotel. There is also a book store down one block and behind the lobster cafe. We were comfortable here - felt both safe and east access to see the sites!

Room Tip: Washington Metro (subway) is just three easy blocks away. A bike trail that passes besides the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, well maintained, everything looks nice and works well. Parking is free and there's a path to the East Falls Church Metro (7-8 min walk) that's fairly well lit and everything is in a neighborhood that feels safe. No micro in the roon but a larger hotel fridge and a diverse breakfast (nothing hot unless you heat up oatmeal). They've even got coin-op laundry. The only thing we ran into was the bathroom fan didn't do a great job, so we just cracked the door. Also, the sink is outside the toilet/shower, which is a bonus. Would definitely stay here again. I wish I could always find a budget hotel this nice--you never know what you'll get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Price was fair, & room was clean. We weren't aware of "No Elevator", & the '3 blocks' to Metro trains were like long country roads. People at the desk were friendly, but not very good at giving directions. Not sure if we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#24 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#26 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.