We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenieint and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Metro

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Metro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Metro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenieint and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is not a spectacular hotel, but the lobby, public areas and rooms were clean and well lit. Rooms were comfortable for four adults, but not overly roomy... Bathroom was newer and had both a tub and shower. Continental breakfast OK, but only three tables in the mela area, so it was good to have a table and two chairs back in the room.

Parking lot was mostly full, but we always found a spot. Didn't need a car while we were there, as the Metro is just three bolcks away. $14.00 buys a one day pass that lets you hop on and off the subway all day - very convenient, especially when your feet are tired at the end of the day. (see tip below)

This hotel does not have a restaurant, though there is a French cuisine restuarant and a Lobster cafe just down the street on the same side as the hotel. There is also a book store down one block and behind the lobster cafe. We were comfortable here - felt both safe and east access to see the sites!

Room Tip: Washington Metro (subway) is just three easy blocks away. A bike trail that passes besides the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    75
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
33
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, well maintained, everything looks nice and works well. Parking is free and there's a path to the East Falls Church Metro (7-8 min walk) that's fairly well lit and everything is in a neighborhood that feels safe. No micro in the roon but a larger hotel fridge and a diverse breakfast (nothing hot unless you heat up oatmeal). They've even got coin-op laundry. The only thing we ran into was the bathroom fan didn't do a great job, so we just cracked the door. Also, the sink is outside the toilet/shower, which is a bonus. Would definitely stay here again. I wish I could always find a budget hotel this nice--you never know what you'll get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Price was fair, & room was clean. We weren't aware of "No Elevator", & the '3 blocks' to Metro trains were like long country roads. People at the desk were friendly, but not very good at giving directions. Not sure if we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My arrival was a couple of days after the big storm which wiped out power to a million people in the area. The hotel power was restored that afternoon, except for internet access. Upon arrival, check-in was polite but not helpful. I was sent to my reserved in advance, king-sized bed, non-smoking room. The access card would not work. I tried the second card. Then someone started knocking on the door from the inside of that room. I lugged my bags back to the front desk and told them somebody is already in that room. The desk clerk was confused stating her paperwork clearly says this is supposed to be MY room. She had no idea who was in there or why. Because the internet was down, she had no way to figure this out. She made a call to someone with no answer. She then checked paperwork and gave me another room with queen-sized bed only, for the same price. Ther was no internet access for my three-night stay. This was no fault of Econo Lodge, but still frustrating since the motel was chosen partly for that reason. The room was clean but basic and maintained well by the housekeepers each day. The television only had about five channels working out of twenty. Upon check-in, the desk clerk advised continental breakfast is available from 7 to 10 a.m. I arrived at 9:30 a.m. one morning to find them in the process of taking away the last of supplies. The employee clearing the food said it ends at 9:30 a.m.
The subway station is easy to find but is definitely a 10-15 minute walk, with a bit of a hill (both ways). Nothing much, but something to consider if you are lugging baggage, with children, or elderly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is generally clean. Location to visit DC area is convenient. I recommend everybody if you are looking for a good hotel in reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maschrack
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Old hotel in need of updating. Clean but very dated furnishings. Staff was excellent! Location near the metro was a plus. If you are on a budget this hotel is adequate for most.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Like always - this review is based on Our stay - everyone else's will be different.

Our son has lived within walking distance of this hotel for two years, we have stayed at alot of hotels in the D.C. area - I never knew this hotel was there, If I had we would have always stayed there.

The room (316) was just would we needed, thick brick, not block walls, Flat screen t.v. excellent location to some nice places to eat - within walking distance, Hotel is older - but our room was nicely done.

The breakfast was normal - I read posts about small lobby to eat in - there is a nice sitting area right done the stairs.

Only thing that maybe negative - I needed a Iron to press some clothes, most hotels have it hanging in closet. But there was none in the room - so I went to desk clerk and asked if there was one I colud borrow - She snapped at me and said obviously you did'nt check good enough its in the chest drawer. I thought she was a little rude - maybe she was just having a bad day.

Overall I think this is an excellent hotel. We will stay there again..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Metro, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. We're glad you found out hotel and we hope to see you again. We offer an apology for the incident at front desk and we will make sure this does not happen again. Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Metro

Address: 6800 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#29 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Metro 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Metro Hotel Arlington
Metro Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Arlington
Arlington Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Metro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.